We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! Clean! Attentive Staff!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tambor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2009

My wife and I just spent 3 days/nights at Tango Mar at Playa Tambor for our honeymoon (Nov 2009) and we cannot believe how wonderfully luxurious and romantic our stay there was. It is amazing how a reasonably priced resort as Tango Mar is could make a regular couple, like us, feel like we were rock stars. True, Tango Mar is a bit secluded, but as great as the staff were treating us, we had no reason to go anywhere else. The trip started with a free upgrade to a Tiki Room, which was located about 10 yards from the beach, and things only got better. The service was impeccable. They were friendly, funny and were extremely proficient in English. They brought drinks to you at the pool or to your room. The cleaning staff was methodical and left cute towel animals and fresh flowers on our bed every day (which my wife loved). The owner, Hilde, was a most gracious host. She greeted us every time our paths crossed and she spent time every evening at dinner getting to know us and regularly asked us if there was anything we needed to make our stay better. The resort has a computer in the lobby for guests to use as long as they like, but they also offered wireless internet for $5 a day, which isn’t very much. They do offer Golf, Horse Riding, Spa Treatments, amongst other things, but we didn’t partake in any of those, after spending months planning a wedding, we were happy to spend our days lounging by the pool, walking on the beach and eating and drinking. The menu is limited, but every item we ordered was absolutely delicious. I had the lasagna twice it was so good. I’d go back there in a second, in fact, I better start saving for that ASAP!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gus_Ceballos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (844)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

537 - 543 of 844 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2009

A tropical paradise, and at a very, very resonable price. Nestled in the Costa Rican jungle abutting the sea lies Tango Mar just west of Tambor on the Nicoya Peninsula. It takes a ferry ride from Punteranas across the Golfo de Nicoya if your coming in from San Jose, and its about a two to four hour drive to get there, depending on how much of the country is on the road at that time. A fair amount of people and commerce, not a lot of roads. So traffic can be excruciatingly slow, so it's a good idea to figure in extra drive time if your renting a car. Renting tip: Get a small SUV. A lot of the roads aren't paved, other than the main ones, and it's not exactly what you'd refer to as a "flat" countryside. Semi trucks also drive on these not flat dirt roads. It can lend it self to exciting driving. Trust me, 4 wheel drive is a good idea anywhere in Costa Rica. Especially if its raining.

Tango mar is a small resort with suites on the cliff over looking the sea through the jungle flora, a 3 story building on the beach with about 18 units as I recall, and some individual thatched roofed suites that are situated right on the beach. There is a resturant on the beach, and one by the pool, with hammocks and palm trees galore. Tennis courts, a golf course, a large ecological reserve with some great hiking trails and their own private waterfall, horseback riding on the reserve or the beach. Great beach, but way too many rocks to attempt any serious surfing. Throw in a couple of bars and it turned out to be one terrific place.

One thing I should mention is that the place has a fair amount of howler monkeys roaming the premises, and as with all of Costa Rica, a lions share of Igaunas. By the way, if you have issues with Igaunas, you'll have issues with Costa Rica. The howler monkeys had a path they would follow through the jungle trees, which seemed to be every evening, which lead right over our pool. It was way cool. Lots of birds and butterflys too.

The hotel is about 8 miles of dirt road from Montezuma, a mecca for the backpacker and surfer population from around the world. It's a town that has to be experienced. Kinda like out of an old Clint Eastwood spagetti western. It has bars on the beach, surf shops, resturants, some hotels that lend themselves to new age type conferences, dirt roads (of course), and Iguanas.

The good surfing is another 16 miles from Montezuma on a dirt road to Malpais. Good waves, no rocks. The whole of the Nicoya Penisula is really quite a nice place to hang, but to this point, Tango Mar is my favorite.

Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
Thank steve9631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2009

This was much better than I thought it would be. True the location is secluded and not much happens around - but if you need a break away from it all (or a honeymoon) then this is as good as it gets.

I was there in July - the rainy season in C.R. but the weather was hot and we had thunderstorms with amazing lightening for one whole evening and night - the manager a lady from Belgium mixed with the guests and talked with everyone. The chef allowed a taste prior to cooking on anything I was unsure of. The staff were incredible with attention to detail. There was a choice of rooms and villas as there was construction work going on - they upgraded us to the villa for no extra cost to keep us away from hearing the construction gang doing their work.

The grounds are extensive and good for walking around and watching the wildlife. Although the sight of buzzards or vultures in a field and on top of trees watching a new born foal (horse) was upsetting. The mirador view was excellent as was the waterfall in the opposite direction. As for bugs etc - well this is C.R, it was rainy or green season and the place was alive with them. Saw no snakes but we were advised to watch out while walking. The beach was nice the hotel was located right on the beach! We took the bus from San Jose to Tambour 5 hours, but got the plane back for return trip in just 25 minutes.

Food was excellent, from breakfast to dinner. Staff very friendly but respectful too. I enjoyed it and my spouse was raving about it - the villa was extraordinary with all the comforts you could need in the middle of a balmy, humid, hot, lush-green and beach location.

Mind you this is not for everyone. Without your own transport (we had none) its hard to explore outside (although it can be arranged) There are no shops only the hotel. The hotel in a way has a captive audience - but if you know that in advance and it doesn't bother you then this is a great place to just get away from it all - and enjoy a bit of luxury, the price reflects that too.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPCD11RF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2009

Hotel rooms were very nice, we stayed in the rooms on the beach. The sand on the beach is soo hot to walk on mid day!! Pools were great! Location was great as we had a rental vehicle.
We would stay there again.

Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
1  Thank ajetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2009

Tango mar is a beautiful resort tucked away near the town of Tambor. The property is large, the beach, and jungle is beautiful, and there are many opportunities for tours.

We stayed in the beach hotel which was a large room with a gorgeous beach front view. When we arrived there were beautiful flowers placed around the room and bathroom. The room has a stocked minibar and 2 beach towels. It is airconditioned. The sounds of the ocean are very soothing.

There are 3 pools that are the perfect temperature and also are the "infinity" style.

Food was very good, but almost too large portions. The service staff in the restaurant was very good. They were attentive to our requests but sometimes it took a long time to get our food.

The service staff at the rest of the resort were fabulous. Hilda, who owns the place, it very aware of your needs and makes an effort to visit you and ask how you are doing at each meal time. The desk staff were helpful when it came to questions and tour assistance.
When we booked our tours, we made a few special requests concerning times, and alterations to the tour schedule and the front desk was very willing to accomodate us. We ended up getting private tours at the same rate. Also keep in mind though that we went during the rainy season which is often a slower time of year.

We requested a king bed but didn't get one, so make sure you get what you have asked for. Also, the corner suites have corner balconies!

There is one computer that has free internet which is sometimes intermittent.

Make sure you walk around the resort to see the look-out point, fancy houses, and waterfall. As a warning though, the waterfall is quite far away and is a trek through uneven ground in the jungle. We got lost trying to find it. But when we did, it was very nice.

I wanted to enjoy the expertise of the resident yoga instructor, but unfortunately, she was away for the entire month.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scrumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

We stayed 2 nights at Tango Mar. The beach is beatiful, as was our tiki suite, but overall, we won't be recommending it to our friends. The resort is very secluded and private, which sounds fabulous, but left us wondering what to do. Our tiki suite had a large sand crab one night scuttling across the hard wood floor, which we saw, but couldn't catch to re-home. We also had a 3 inch cockroach in our toilet garbage. We came home with a TON of bug bites, which was not a problem at either of the other hotels we stayed at.

The waterfall and look out point were beautiful, but that's the extent of the activities, aside from the pool and ocean. There is no town close by, and no store at Tango Mar, so we felt very limited. The food was mediocre at best, and not very authentic.

Our second night we taxied to Bahia Ballena, in Tambor, where we found FABULOUS, authentic food, at half the price.

The resort was 10% occupied during our stay, so very quiet, to say the least. The staff was friendly, but not as helpful as we found elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRShartman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

We stayed for one week and the day we left we reserved a villa for 2 weeks next year. My husband and I have traveled extensively thru Europe, Mexico, Jamaica, The Caymans etc etc and this was without a doubt the best vacation we have ever had! The resort is in a breathtakingly beautiful location. The employees are exceptional! Friendly, knowledgeable, helpful and most speak fluent English (which is a major plus) If you have ever traveled to a foreign country and do not know the language you understand how important this is. The food is first class. What stands out above everything though is the first class treatment we recieved from every single employee we came in contact with. They are obviusly treated well by the resort owner as they are all very happy.
The only downside? if you can call it that is there is no nightlife to speak of. After dinner and drinks a walk on the beach or a good book are pretty much your only options.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tambor
2.3 mi away
Tambor Tropical Beach Resort
24.4 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
10.3 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Vista Hermosa Boutique Bed & Breakfast
24.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Caletas
Hotel Villa Caletas
#2 of 48 in Jaco District
1,365 reviews
12.3 mi away
Vista Las Islas Hotel
Vista Las Islas Hotel
#1 of 2 in Paquera
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas

Address: Quizales Beach, Tambor 76773, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tambor
Price Range: $165 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The well-hidden secret of Tango Mar is located on the beautiful, deserted Quizales beach at the Nicoya Peninsula on Costa Rica's Pacific Coast. It is a 150-acre (60Ha) exclusive private beachfront reserve with ample of added attractions. The blend of fine accommodations with exuberant jungle vegetation, exotic birds and wildlife makes Tango Mar the ideal hideaway for anyone who wants to enjoy refinement in a natural setting. With only 45 rooms, the philosophy of Tango Mar is to provide a personal, friendly, relaxed and attentive service Tango Mar has a 9-hole Executive Golf Course (par 3 and par 4), two lightened tennis courts, a soccer field, four swimming pools, stables with horses, 2 restaurants and bars, meeting room, Spa, an organic garden and natural trails. It offers different types of lodgings; Beahfront rooms that mainly cater to families, Tropical Suites and Deluxe Beachfront Rooms for couples and Tiki suites for the most demanding. All rooms have been recently renovated, have a private bath and are equipped with a/c, phone, satellite TV, a safety deposit box, WIFI, minibar upon request and a coffee maker with complementary coffee. We also have private beachfront Villas for families or small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Hotel Tambor
Tango Mar Beach, Spa And Golf Resort
Tango Mar Beach Hotel
Tango Mar Beach Tambor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing