We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Exceeded all expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceeded all expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Absolutely loved our recent stay at Tango Mar. Warm, friendly staff go above and beyond. Prices for activities are very reasonable ~$65 pp or less. We loved our canopy tour, horseback riding trip, and snorkeling at Isla Tortuga. The view from our room was incredible as was the water temperature in the ocean and pool! Not to mention the best pina coladas we've ever had anywhere in the world :) Lastly, we even saw a range of wildlife including iguanas, deer, howler monkeys, and a sea turtle! Thanks for everything. We will definitely come back :)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    125
    59
    16
    11
See reviews for
152
392
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Санкт-Петербург, Россия
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Our guide advised us to choose this hotel when he knew we would like to make our personal elopment wedding! And Tango Mar is the perfect place for those who adore beautiful nature, wild beach, ocean, silence and really good service. Hilda (owner of the hotel) and Hannia (hotel manager) help us a lot in organization wedding ceremony! Our tiki suite in that day was decorated twice, good treatment and make up of the bride was excellent. The photographer made a lot of nice and romantic photos. There were 2 places for wedding ceremony to choose: at the beach and in balcony on the rock with the amazing ocean view. Anna (lawyer) held a really nice ceremony, made this event significant and the union of 2 beloved hearts. We chose the second and then moved to beach for extra photos. We have a nice dinner after all also with the ocean vew at a separate table and services. The wedding and the help of personnel was really great!
We also spent several days after our wedding there. We enjoyed restaurant meal in the morning breakfasts, the variety was wide. And in the evenings we ordered very tasty dises of seafood, meat and salads, beautiful desserts with the fire ceremony.
I advise this hotel for relaxation after living in a big cities to feel there the taste of life and make a several days stop to see the world around you, and that green and fantastic country as Costa Rica.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank floidy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I stayed at Tango Mar for 4 nights with my family, it was the perfect end of our roadtrip! Hilde, the owner of the hotel was very attentive. The rooms were beautiful and fully equipped. The service was excellent, and the food was very good. The atmosphere in the resort was very intimite. Beautiful beach. I wood really like to go back there!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zottegem, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Tango Mar was the perfect end of our roadtrip/ honeymoon in Costa Rica. We stayed for 4 days in Tango Mar and had an amazing time. The beach front rooms are in perfect condition equipped with airco, safe and mini-bar. The spectacular ocean view, the personal approach of the staff and the great facilities (golf, horseback riding, lookout point, waterfall, lots of cute animals to spot, swimming pools, massages and many more) are the perfect combination for a pleasant holiday.
We really enjoyed our stay and Hilde, the Belgian lady owner, was the perfect host!!

Room Tip: There are different types of rooms bug all of them are located directly on the beach. The tiki suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Island, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I stayed at Tango Mar for 2 nights with my 16 year old grandson. There were activities to keep both of us happy. He loved the clear water of the ocean and swam for hours while jumping waves and body surfing. I enjoyed watching him as I strolled the beautiful beach. We walked up to the observation point and had a wonderful view of the area. The meals were top notch and you have to try the Kahlua Colada!
This is a wonderful destination to see the western side of Costa Rica from. The 1.5 hour ferry ride over to the peninsula was not only beautiful but also very relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Very nice resort. Hilde, the lady owner is very attentionate and helpful. The resort has aged a little bit but still remain very clean. The view is great, the restaurant is very good. An excursion to the waterfalls is a must. We were with 6 young childrens, they truly enjoyed the three pools.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the superior floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K33155032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This was by far my favorite place in Costa Rica to Stay. The service and the people were so wonderful. The food was amazing and the place itself was gorgeous! I would definitely go back to stay again. If you go make sure you visit the waterfall on the property!!

Room Tip: free parking and free breakfast that was yummy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tambor
24.2 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#1 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,102 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tambor Tropical Beach Resort
24.5 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.2 mi away
Vista Hermosa Boutique Bed & Breakfast
5.3 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
11.8 mi away
Vista Las Islas Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas

Property: Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Address: Quizales Beach, Tambor 76773, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The well-hidden secret of Tango Mar is located on the beautiful, deserted Quizales beach at the Nicoya Peninsula on Costa Rica's Pacific Coast. It is a 150-acre (60Ha) exclusive private beachfront reserve with ample of added attractions. The blend of fine accommodations with exuberant jungle vegetation, exotic birds and wildlife makes Tango Mar the ideal hideaway for anyone who wants to enjoy refinement in a natural setting. With only 45 rooms, the philosophy of Tango Mar is to provide a personal, friendly, relaxed and attentive service Tango Mar has a 9-hole Executive Golf Course (par 3 and par 4), two lightened tennis courts, a soccer field, four swimming pools, stables with horses, 2 restaurants and bars, meeting room, Spa, an organic garden and natural trails. It offers different types of lodgings; Beahfront rooms that mainly cater to families, Tropical Suites and Deluxe Beachfront Rooms for couples and Tiki suites for the most demanding. All rooms have been recently renovated, have a private bath and are equipped with a/c, phone, satellite TV, a safety deposit box, WIFI, minibar upon request and a coffee maker with complementary coffee. We also have private beachfront Villas for families or small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Hotel Tambor
Tango Mar Beach, Spa And Golf Resort
Tango Mar Beach Hotel
Tango Mar Beach Tambor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing