We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“PARADISE VACATION!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
“PARADISE VACATION!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We could not have chosen a better place for our first vacation together!!! We loved it so much, we did not want to come back home! We spent a long time searching for a good place, and we based our decision on all the wonderful reviews here, So thank you all who wrote a review on Tango Mar. And we are just returning the favor now. We have nothing but great things to say!! EVERYONE NEEDS TO VACATION HERE at least once in their life. We will definitely go there again. I really believe everyone needs to get away and escape to this wonderful paradise. We felt so refreshed after coming back home. This is totally a stress reliever and the perfect opportunity to rekindle your relationship with you spouse and spend quality time together. The excursions are absolutely stunning as well and very affordable too.
I compared excursion prices with my siblings who have traveled to other places, and Tango Mars excursions beat them all!! We went snorkeling, swam with whales, saw dolphins, monkeys, beautiful birds, went zip lining, jumped off water falls, horseback riding and saw beautiful sceneries. I'm telling you, YOU HAVE GOT TO GO HERE. Tango Mars will set up all the excursions and necessary travel for you. All you have to do is open a tab and choose what you want to do!!! They make your whole stay easy, warm, enjoyable, and unforgettable!!!
Some things to keep in mind -
1. Wear lots and lots of sun block; apply several time throughout the day. THe last thing you want to do is be sun burned while you're there.
2. Tango Mar will have shuttle available, so just call them in advance to have the shuttle pick you up from the airport- Also if you're staying at other hotels, call to check on that too, that way you won't have to spend unnecessary expenses to taxis.
3. It's easiest to open a tab and just charge everything to your name/room and pay all at once when you check out.
4. Bring a camera! and take lots and lots of photos!
5. You'll be sleeping near the ocean, so you'll be hearing the ocean waves, so if you're a very light sleeper, bring ear plugs.
6. Take advantage of everything that's available for you.
7. You're some what isolated from the city, so plan on enjoying your time on the resort or on excursions! There's bar areas, pool table, swimming pool and more for your leisure.
8. If you go during off-season, you'll feel like you have the resort to yourself.
9. Leave some extra tip for the servers!!! The owner and staff are all so wonderful and kind!!. We'll miss them the most!!! We were especially teary-eyed when we had to say goodbye to Eduardo!!
10. Go Zip lining and all the excursions you can possibly do. Don't forget to Bring swimming trunks when you go zip lining-
11. Understand the type of season you go, we went during the rainy season, so we got isolated showers on one or two days that lasted like an 30 minutes to an hour. It was actually nice rain, so we still enjoyed it!
12. LASTLY, HAVE A BLAST AND MAKE LOTS OF MEMORIES!!!!!!!
THANK YOU TANGO MAR FOR THE WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE!!!

Room Tip: ALL tips are above!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    125
    59
    16
    11
See reviews for
152
392
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Gorgeous place, well-kept, love the pool table by the bar. The swimming pool is so well thought out with an area for kids and adults and a vista of the ocean. The beach is sooo nice, hammocks, little places to sit with the kids. We stayed in one of the villas - they upgraded us at no cost during the low season from a 2 room rental. It was so big, I lost a kid one day! The beach was right down the steps and across the path, there was a little soaking hot tub at the end of the porch, and again, the view was tremendous. I highly recommend getting up at the crack of dawn. I would give it 5 stars save 2 things - and perhaps nothing they can do about the first - the ants. The first night and day we had them in every room, walls, floors, it was almost gross. BIG ants. I got the feeling that since they upgraded us at checkin, the house was not ready, perhaps it had been closed up for a while. NOt a big problem, The room came with its own spray and I just went crazy with it and the problem was gone within 24 hours. The other thing was the deck - there was just a simple wrap around handle rail and the deck was not enclosed. I have a 2 year old who, well, acts like a 2 year old and we could not spend any time on that beautiful deck since I kept thinking he was going to run to the edge and plummet 15 feet into the gravel driveway. My 10 year old daughter, however, finished almost all her HW in the hammocks swaying in the breeze. Ahhhh. And the owner is gracious and sweet and will stump you by speaking just about any language you can come up with! Don't miss this place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimrubensquiros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Wow amazing paradise is what Tango Mar is! Everything from the place to the staff was perfect. We chose a tropical suite and when we got there, we were upgraded to a tiki suite, thank you thank you!! It was a lovely suite with spectacular views. Breakfast, lunch, and dinner was delicious. Beach was breathtakingly beautiful :) We felt like we had the whole island to ourselves. I can't say enough about the friendly staff here (Edcuardo, Roland, Rosa, Andres) and the owner is a wonderful and gracious woman. Always made herself available and came around to socialized with her guests to make sure everything was well, and even offered to take photos of us. Everyone was so friendly and helpful in every way possible. There's plenty to do, we went snorkeling, zip-lining, horseback riding, hiking, exploring, or you can just relax by the awesome pools with perfect water temp!! Spotted whales, dolphins, monkeys, birds, lizards, etc. They make everything so easy, just choose what you want to do, and the receptionist will arrange it for you. This is a great escape for anyone needing time to just get away. Will definitely come back to visit! I miss all the wonderful staff already! Pura Vida!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yang V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Tango Mar is a great place set in the Jungle of Costa Rica, Great restaurant and really nice staff. The rooms are exceptional and the view is to die for. The trip to get to the hotel is an adventure in its self but worth the reward.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rgodley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We spent 5 nights in Tango mar a real relaxing sea side resort, the management is competent, always present and worm hearted, First 2 nights we had an un-renovated villa witch didn’t correspond to our expectation, once this impression is delivered, immediate alternative had been proposed and we were very satisfied with all, service, food, nature, my son had a lot of fun playing with the waves.
One of our best stay during our round trip in Costa Rica

Room Tip: Robin Villa is idea for family
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aladin20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Lovely room shared with cockroach for 3 days. Good dining room, terrible lunchtime service, fantastic laundry service. Extremely friendly and gracious owner. I felt it was a shame she was let down some aspects of her hotel.
Not good for children as the sea can be very rough, although there is a swimming pool and a pool table, nothing else for children.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katieNelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
130 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotel is beautifully situated right at a nice beach. You can also take a walk (ca 30 minutes) to a waterfall through jungle, cross the waterfall, and on the other side will be a beach with NO hotels, NO houses etc, totally secluded! You can also walk to a view point with great views. We stayed at the tropical suites, I would only recommend it for younger people, each time you go down to the beach, pool, restaurant, you need to walk down 90 steps. The breakfast was good, dinner OK, not a lot of options to chose from. One night I ate mussels and got food poisoning (since I had it before, I know what it was; my husband usually ate all the same food as I did, just that night he decided not to have the mussels). I was very sick for 24 hours. I talked to the owner, who is a nice lady. At first, it seemed as if she did not believe me, tried to justify everything (I might be pregnant, mussels were "fresh" vacuum sealed from New Zealand etc), but finally she understood (I was very nice about it and di not want to argue at all, after all we are on vacation!) They refunded that nights dinner (I only had soup that night after my illness) and the dinner the night before that made me sick which was nice. Staff was overall really nice, could be just a bit faster with service. But overall, we really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danella23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tambor
24.2 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#1 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,102 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tambor Tropical Beach Resort
24.5 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.2 mi away
Vista Hermosa Boutique Bed & Breakfast
5.3 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
11.8 mi away
Vista Las Islas Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas

Property: Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Address: Quizales Beach, Tambor 76773, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The well-hidden secret of Tango Mar is located on the beautiful, deserted Quizales beach at the Nicoya Peninsula on Costa Rica's Pacific Coast. It is a 150-acre (60Ha) exclusive private beachfront reserve with ample of added attractions. The blend of fine accommodations with exuberant jungle vegetation, exotic birds and wildlife makes Tango Mar the ideal hideaway for anyone who wants to enjoy refinement in a natural setting. With only 45 rooms, the philosophy of Tango Mar is to provide a personal, friendly, relaxed and attentive service Tango Mar has a 9-hole Executive Golf Course (par 3 and par 4), two lightened tennis courts, a soccer field, four swimming pools, stables with horses, 2 restaurants and bars, meeting room, Spa, an organic garden and natural trails. It offers different types of lodgings; Beahfront rooms that mainly cater to families, Tropical Suites and Deluxe Beachfront Rooms for couples and Tiki suites for the most demanding. All rooms have been recently renovated, have a private bath and are equipped with a/c, phone, satellite TV, a safety deposit box, WIFI, minibar upon request and a coffee maker with complementary coffee. We also have private beachfront Villas for families or small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Hotel Tambor
Tango Mar Beach, Spa And Golf Resort
Tango Mar Beach Hotel
Tango Mar Beach Tambor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing