We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alkamar(Paquera)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Tambor(Tambor)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (881)
Filter reviews
881 results
Traveler rating
630
157
62
18
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
630
157
62
18
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstiki suitethe ownerour honeymoonbeach fronttropical suitescosta ricagolf courseswim up barlovely beachlookout pointsound of the wavesprivate beachoverlooking the oceanrainy seasonsan josetennis courtsmain restaurant
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
343 - 348 of 881 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Upon arrival it was extremely quiet, and a little daunting coming in on the long unpaved road. Once we arrived at the property everyone was more than happy to help us. The resort was pretty much empty, but the staff still made each person feel welcomed. We had a beachfront room and the view was worth it. The bathroom could use a little updating, but the crashing of the waves as you fell asleep really makes you feel as though you are in paradise. On our first morning we went hiking up to the waterfall and saw monkeys in the forest. During lunch as we laid at the pool Andres, the bartender, was more than willing to help with our every need. We fed iguanas at the pool and had some amazing drinks. On our last morning we saw whales jumping from our balcony. Overall the stay was very quiet, but every person on staff was very welcoming and helpful. The food at the resort was a little high, but there are local places you can go to. This was a truly relaxing and beautiful beach paradise.

Room Tip: The tropical suites are up lots of stairs, stay down on the beach with a beachfront room or tiki hut.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for the second half of our 7 day Costa Rica trip and it is a very beautiful hotel. The owner is so very nice and definitely makes the experience personal. The only complaints I have are that we did not feel very welcome from the staff when we first arrived. We spent a good 15 minutes in distress while trying to check in because they completely overlooked our reservation when preparing for the day. We were supposed to have a taxi pick us up from the air port that morning and nobody was there so we spent a good 10 minutes trying to figure out what to do (in a foreign country for the first time) and trying to communicate with the other taxi drivers. Once all of that was figured out, we were taken to our room in the Tropical Suites which seemed like nobody had paid attention to it in a long time (again because they did not prepare for our arrival that day) and then settled in to have some breakfast. The food is very pricey for the quality, they labeled regular hot dogs that you would expect from a family barbeque as Chorizo (spanish sausage) for breakfast and I just did not have a good "oh my gosh, this is great" meal while there. I would have loved to see some authentic Costa Rican dishes on the menu or some suggestions to restaurants in the area. We ended up finding a way to Montezuma (20 minutes away) with a very expensive taxi ride and eating some delicious food there. Overall I just felt like I paid way too much for the services and food we were given. Also, the wifi in the rooms is horrible. Aside from all of that, the resort is very beautiful, peaceful and secluded and I have absolutely no complaints about the owner, I just feel as though her staff needs a little bit of training with making guests feel welcome and personalizing a little more with them (but that may have just been my experience).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is one of the most quiet and peaceful vacations I've ever had. We stayed in the Tiki huts which are about 50-60 ft. from the ocean, so the view was spectacular. The food here was excellent, but it's the staff that makes you feel so spoiled and special. They cater to your every need and always add a personal touch. I really can't say enough about this property! They have a 9 hole golf course and a stable for riding. They will book tours for you to do off property excursions for fishing etc.. There was only one child at the resort which I believe was because this is such a romantic, relaxing resort. Several older teen were there who were happy to just chill and sunbathe. We loved it and hope to return again! It was absolutely amazing!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slinowsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have just returned from a week of pure joy at Tango Mar Resort 7/21/13-7/27/13. This resort is a pure gem in a unspoiled setting. We stayed in a Tiki Hut #704 and the panoramic views were amazing. We had the beautiful relaxing sound of the waves steps away as well as palm trees as a backdrop just feet away. It is a safe and romantic setting. About the rooms, the beachfront rooms are right on the beach with a balcony. TheTiki Huts are set back a little farther maybe 60 feet from the ocean and the tropical suites are on a hilltop with fantastic views but you had a alot of steps to get to the rooms. The service was over the top with staff attending to your every needs with a smile. The owner a beautiful woman was hands on and available at any time. She was at ever breakfast,lunch and dinner and mingled with all the guests.A special shout out to Edwardo. Gerardo and Andres, they were fantastic. The food was good and substitutions were no problem. The grounds were clean and beautiful. the pools were clean all the time. The ocean and surrounding area was amazing. A word of caution the water does at times get very rough so be careful. wildlife is everywhere monkey`s , bats crabs black and orange, iguanas lizards and so much more. The waterfall walk about 30 min. was cool as well as the short walk to the over look. This resort is perfect for couples and for families with younger children as teens may have a problem appreciating the calm quiet beauty.
Thank you all for a wonderful time and experience!! Also Thanks to a great couple Tori and Zeke good luck with married life. See you again soon Tango Mar - Kim and Joe

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joe g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time I come with my family to this hotel and, to be honest, is one if the best beach hotels in Costa Rica.
The food is great, the service couldn't be better, the rooms are beach front, so you can sleep to the soothing sound of the waves. Like others say, it is in the middle of nowhere, but that is one of its beauties. Hilda, the owner, is very nice and always attentive to the guests. No complaints whatsoever!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricardo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews