We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Kickback and enjoy this beautiful resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Kickback and enjoy this beautiful resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Beautiful, cozy, remote resort. Tucked way back in off dirt roads. It's not very big, but you can be alone or socialize with other quests. Only a few young kids were there for the holidays. Mostly couples and and small. adult groups. Different types of very nice rooms all with a view. Beach is nice but brown sand if looking for those pure white beaches. Surf is really too rough except for experienced swimmers. Several pools are all great and have wonderful views of the gulf. This is a kick back and relax place. Fun drinks, good food for any diet, and a great staff. All have very good English, but it's nice to use a few native greetings and salutations to show your appreciation. Andres, Junior, Eduardo, Javier et al are all fantastic. They will make your stay all the more enjoyable. They live on site during the season and are around to serve you all day, and even help you find the waterfall off property. The massage service was terrific. I'm not a big breakfast eater, but that was my best meal of the day. Melons, pineapple, breads, pastries, meats, fried plantains, eggs anyway plus omelettes and waffles, juices and good coffee. It's in the main dining area which is open to the ocean. Lunches are just OK and dinners are very nice, but I wouldn't consider them gourmet. There's an executive golf course of property (par 3's & 4's) with chance to see some wildlife. Zip Lining or a trip to Montezuma for shopping are both about 30 minutes away. Otherwise there's nothing else close by. No other restaurents or night life. Good place for a destination (small) wedding or surprise engagement or to just get rid of work day stress. By 10 pm be prepared to go for a walk on the beach of read a good book. Our adult daughters were a little bored in the late eveings. We met people who have been there several times and come to relax and go coastal or deep sea fishing. A big plus would be some sort of evening entertainment and to enjoy a few late night cocktails. Suggest you stop at a small grocery on the way in for some snacks and drinks to keep in the room.

Room Tip: Not sure what they are called but there are octagon shaped cottages with parking underneath that hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NCTIGER61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    129
    61
    16
    12
See reviews for
162
406
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Larkspur, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

My family of 4 spent 4 nights over Christmas at the Tango Mar. I had already booked my flight into San Jose so we rented a car and drove to Puntarenas and boarded the car ferry across the Gulf of Nicoya to Paquera with the locals, then drove 45 minutes on the most pothole ridden road past Tambor to the Tango Mar. Flying into Liberia might be the way to go. We were exhausted after our journey, but relaxed almost immediately once we turned onto the road into the property. It is a beautifully landscaped and well maintained bit of paradise. We immediately all agreed to just stay put for the next 4 days. We were greeted so graciously by the front desk staff (Javier and Hilde the owner), left our car parked out front, and joined the other guests for a Christmas Day supper in the beautiful oceanfront open air restaurant. Our room was spacious and well appointed with good a/c and had a lovely balcony looking out on the charming palm fringed beach. We particularly enjoyed the multitude of hammocks strung between all the palms. We lay in the shade for hours reading our books, listening to the surf, and looking at the ocean. We enjoyed the oceanside pool with the swim up bar. (I wish the bartender could have taken a break from the incessant Latin music that blared a little too loudly for my taste). We enjoyed lunch at the poolside restaurant; the fresh fish and the roasted chicken with guacamole, pico de gallo, and tortillas were particularly yummy. The ocean was challenging; I had to carefully pick which waves to boogie board or else I would get slammed. My daughter and I were more successful bobbing over the waves without any boards. The beach was a lovely sandy beach with rock outcroppings at either end, making for a lovely walk. We were so lazy we never made it to the waterfall or the lookout viewpoint at either end of the beach! The breakfast was included and was a revelation of fresh tropical fruit, local cuisine like rice and beans, cassava croquettes, and fried plantains, and made to order omelets and Belgian waffles (Hilde the owner is Belgian). Dinner was ordinary except for the exceptional Caesar salad that was made at your table. (I ordered one every night and added grilled shrimp on the last night and made it my meal). But we did not come to eat; we came to relax and get away from it all in balmy weather on a perfect beach. Hilde has a great local staff and a beautiful property. If you don't need a late night scene to have a good vacation, you will be happy here. Tango Mar was a wonderful way to decompress from work and school before we headed off on an adventure travel cruise down the Pacific coast of Costa Rica through the Panama Canal.

Room Tip: All of the hotel rooms are right on the beach. No worries on getting the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonLarkspur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Tango Mar is a beautiful resort - clean, well managed, and well staffed. My husband, daughter (3 and a half), and I visited during the week of Dec 22, 2012. Every single individual on staff always greeted us with a smile. Junior at the swim up bar was amazing! He kept us laughing all the time and our daughter loved him. He made amazing drinks! I also want to make special mention fo the chef, Eliuth Chiaves, who made us special vegetarian meals each night that we were there. The food he made was absolutely delicious and he made something new for us each day. Thank you, Eliuth! We also loved Dorrial and all the waiters at the restaurant. They took such great care of our daughter. I highly, highly recommend this resort. It is a stunning piece of property and the perfect place to go to relax, re-energize, and rejuvenate. Thank you to all at the resort for making our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms are RIGHT in front of the ocean. You can see, smell, and hear the ocean! Defin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keenjal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Jessy (reception), Dori, Royland, Jesus, Eduardo (restaurant) and Andres (bartender) made our stay outstanding! The owner also is always concerned by making everyones stay perfect! The food is marvelous, everything except the desserts. The only one we liked was the creme brulee. The rooms are fine, i expected more. We stayed at the Tropical Suites which were very far from the pool, restaurant and lobby so once we left in the morning we took everything to avoid coming back during the day. The beach is amazing, though I think they should provide more chairs and maybe food and beverage service. The hammocks zone is amazing to spend the afternoon and enjoy the sunset!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cbenatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I spent 5 nights at Tango Mar over Christmas. The grounds are beautiful and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. We had a beach front room which is a pretty standard hotel room, but with an amazing view. It’s a little overpriced during high-season, but most nice places in Costa Rica are that way. The location is pretty well secluded and unlike other beach resorts in places like Cancun where you’re surrounded by a million other tourists. The pool is small, but nice and comes with a great view of the ocean. The water is pretty rough here, so most people stuck to the pool. Other than a day trip to Mal Pais and Santa Teresa, we spent each day lounging by the pool, on the beach, and at the bar. It was extremely relaxing and definitely what we were looking for.

While the food is better than the average beach resort, it definitely isn’t great. We had the lobster and a filet mignon on Christmas eve and couldn’t have been more disappointed. For $25, we got a little bit of tail meat cooked and placed into a lobster shell and no claws. It was an odd presentation and we learned from then on to keep it simple here. Stick to the cheaper basic stuff and you’ll be fine. The breakfast was complementary and was pretty good. It included lots of fresh fruit and typical Costa Rican food as well as an omelet station.

The owner, Hilde, is very friendly and is always around chatting up the guests and making sure everyone is having a good time. A lot of the beach resort style hotels have a corporate feel so this is a nice touch. A lot of the staff is there all day everyday and they are very friendly. The two bartenders, Junior and Javier, are fantastic. They make great drinks and are a lot of fun.

We were feeling adventurous on our way to Tango Mar so we decided to skip the ferry and drive around the Gulf of Nicoya. The trip overall wasn’t too bad, but there is a long stretch (about 30km) between Playa Naranja and Paquera that is an unpaved mess of rocky dirt roads that twist through the mountains. Without a GPS, we would’ve gotten lost for sure. The drive is fun, but be prepared for the dirt roads and definitely use a GPS! On the way out we took the ferry which was really easy and actually pretty cheap ($25 for two passengers and the car).

Room Tip: Beach front rooms have a great view and are close to the beach but the ocean is rough and pretty lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ae_110312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Junior and Javier were more than outstanding. They truly made our vacation on this trip. All of the staff were more than willing to go out of their way to make your vacation amazing. Most all employees can speak English.

Pros:beautiful, great staff, swim up bar ,great dinner, spa is wonderful

Cons: away from any real towns so there is nowhere to go shopping and to get to tours it's a long drive. Everything shuts down at 10pm so there is no nightlife on the resort. It would be nice to have a bar to hang out and drink at after dinner or some sort of entertainment. Lunch menu was nothing special and there is really nowhere else to eat anywhere around the resort so yu really have to. Eat at the hotel. The beach is not calm and the water is kind of dangerous to get in.

Overall. This would be a great resort for honeymooners or for celebrating an anniversary... Stop at the store on the way in for some bottles of wine for the room after the bars close! Beautiful clean resort. Would return!

Room Tip: We stayed in abnormal normal room there suites look beautiful and romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband & I spent 4 nights at Tango Mar in November and I would highly recommend it! Tango Mar is pretty remote, so it was a bit of a trek to get there and there aren't a ton of activities, but it was soooo relaxing. We did visit the Curu Wildlife Refuge (see more info. below) and went snorkeling while we were there. The best thing about Tango Mar is the staff -- especially Eduardo, Andres & Junior. They took great care of us and were just fun people to be around. They learned our names the first day we were there (and vice versa) and always greeted us, whether they were working at breakfast, the pool bar or dinner.

There are lots of reviews on here that cover basic information about the hotel, but here are some things I wish I would have known in advance:

1.) Tango Mar is very remote, although there are some different options to get there (including a small airstrip nearby). We opted to drive to Puntarenas and then take the fairy to Paquera. We then drove from Paquera to Tango Mar (about 45 mins). The roads were terrible, but manageable, even at night. Just be prepared for lots of huge pot holes, as well as people and animals in the road. :) Also, be sure to take cash for the ferry, as we didn't and about missed the last ferry of the day (the nearest ATM is about a 10 min. drive)! The ferry only takes US$ up to $20, so be sure to have small bills or use colons. You can find the ferry schedule at http://www.nicoyapeninsula.com/general/boat.php.
2.) The room rate includes a buffet breakfast at the hotel (at least ours did). This was really nice, as the hotel is very remote, so there aren't other options nearby.
3.) We had dinner at the hotel a couple of nights (only one of the restaurants was open during our visit). The food was good, although pretty expensive (about $15-25 for entrees). However, if you don't have a car, it's about your only option.
4.) They don't offer room service, although there is a mini bar with drinks and snacks.
5.) We drove to Montezuma for dinner one night. It was further than we thought (maybe 30-45 mins) and included about 5 miles on a gravel road. However, it was fun to visit and get outside of the hotel for the evening. If you go, stop by Chico's bar after dinner. The people watching was fun and included a mix of ex-pats and locals.
6.) The "exercise room" was all but non-existent. There was a treadmill and bike, but there weren't any weights. It wasn't a big deal, just not what I was expecting. I also never found the yoga, mentioned on the website.
7.) If you'd like to save a little money, I would recommend looking for tours outside of what's offered through the hotel (especially if you have your own car). We booked a guided hike and snorkeling trip to Tortuga Island through Curu (http://www.curutourism.com/en/packages) for about half the price as the tour offered through Tango Mar. We did have to provide our own transportation to Curu (about a 30 min. drive).
8.) We stayed at Tango Mar is November, which is the end of rainy season. It was prefect weather everyday, with temps in the low-mid 80s and perfectly blue skies. There was nothing rainy about it and the rates were still low and it wasn't crowded.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jinxj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tambor
24.5 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
24.2 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tambor Tropical Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Vista Hermosa Boutique Bed & Breakfast
23.9 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
11.8 mi away
Vista Las Islas Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas

Property: Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Address: Quizales Beach, Tambor 76773, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The well-hidden secret of Tango Mar is located on the beautiful, deserted Quizales beach at the Nicoya Peninsula on Costa Rica's Pacific Coast. It is a 150-acre (60Ha) exclusive private beachfront reserve with ample of added attractions. The blend of fine accommodations with exuberant jungle vegetation, exotic birds and wildlife makes Tango Mar the ideal hideaway for anyone who wants to enjoy refinement in a natural setting. With only 45 rooms, the philosophy of Tango Mar is to provide a personal, friendly, relaxed and attentive service Tango Mar has a 9-hole Executive Golf Course (par 3 and par 4), two lightened tennis courts, a soccer field, four swimming pools, stables with horses, 2 restaurants and bars, meeting room, Spa, an organic garden and natural trails. It offers different types of lodgings; Beahfront rooms that mainly cater to families, Tropical Suites and Deluxe Beachfront Rooms for couples and Tiki suites for the most demanding. All rooms have been recently renovated, have a private bath and are equipped with a/c, phone, satellite TV, a safety deposit box, WIFI, minibar upon request and a coffee maker with complementary coffee. We also have private beachfront Villas for families or small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tango Mar Beach, Spa And Golf Resort
Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Hotel Tambor
Tango Mar Beach Hotel
Tango Mar Beach Tambor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing