We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beatiful, freindly, convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beatiful, freindly, convenient”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

My wife and I just spent 3 days of our honeymoon here. Beautiful hotel. Every detail was attended to. Great for just hanging around. We never left the property, even though they offer quite a few tours. Some things we did:
Hiking, exploring the beach, collecting seashells.
Boogie boarding (to borrow at the front desk for no cost)
Horseback riding along the beach and through the rainforest. Just my wife and I and a guide. Probably the highlight of our whole trip!
Lots of chilling on the beach in hammocks.
Great drinks at the bar.
Pool table near the bar.

There wasn't a single moment where I said "I wish they had this" or anything like that. They had it all taken care of for us.

Room Tip: Tiki suites are gorgeous and romantic. Thouroughly enjoyed just chilling in the rooms listening watc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    146
    61
    18
    13
See reviews for
184
439
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Honeymoon part 2 at the beach. Our trusty GPS decided to take us on the adventurous route to the hotel - no by the ferry but by the unpaved mountain roads. Warning to all - don't do this. Our nerves were going crazy but we finally made it. A final dirt road took us to the property, past the green golf course and horse stables and then to the reception area. No lights on, no clear signage and scaffolding up around the bar area, we weren't sure if were were in the right place. However, within moments drinks were in our hand and a friendly staff member began showing us around. Our private tiki hut was adorable and spacious. In general everything was very clean and updated, though there were definitely a few details that could have been improved (dorm style mini bar, rusty toilet paper holders, peeling drywall tape). The comfort of the room, the generous drinks, tasting food options and inviting servers made up for the flaws. Coming from the Tabacon Spa, this place definitely did not feel as high-end, however, it was perfectly fun and relaxing (and food was much more reasonably priced!). I would recommend Tango Mar to those who might be watching their budget a bit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our honeymoon at Tango Mar. The view of the coastline from our beachfront room was amazing, the beach on the property was gorgeous, the room was quietly luxurious, clean, and relaxing, and the owner and staff were friendly and very welcoming. We were glad we had rented a car (4WD – the roads are bumpy) for our week-long stay and enjoyed drives to Curu Reserve, Montezuma, Malpais/Santa Teresa, and exploration of the countryside. Lunches by the pool or at the lunch cabana, and dinners under the stars at the on-site restaurant were delightful. Snorkeling at Isla Tortuga was a highlight, as our guide got us there early so we could snorkel before the crowds arrived. We were also pleased to be close enough to Curu to get there early (the best time to see animals). We would highly recommend Tango Mar to anyone looking for a boutique resort in a quiet, beach setting.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

This resort is off the beaten path. It is very nice and the rooms are very big with high vaulted wood ceilings. Jacuzzi and king size bed in the room with a nice large shower. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast area was large and over looked the ocean. The beach behind the resort was very nice as well! All around a nice place to stay for a few days!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trading2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

bed for a king and a queen, spacious bathroom and a Jacuzzi clean. just lovely!
Blue Flag beach, you fall in love

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ailynne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel is amazing. My husband, 7 year old daughter and I loved it! The staff and owner are so friendly and helpful. The grounds are breathtaking. We had an oceanfront room and the view was amazing. The ocean was a little rough so we stayed at the pool and it was so relaxing. The bartender made my daughter a chocolate sundae everyday we were there and she was able to eat it at the swim up bar. He also taught me how to make a perfect caipirinha! The food was really good. This place was awesome!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickie171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a great resort on all fronts. The rooms are spacious, clean and well air conditioned. The staff are very friendly and helpful - Eduardo is a super cool barman. And the location is perfect: really relaxing and peaceful. We actually moved to Tango Mar after a bad experience at another hotel in Santa Teresa, so we were fortunate that this turned out so well for a literally last minute switch. Right on a golden sands this is a dream setting. The surf is strong here though so swimming is probably better left to the waters of Tambor Beach.

We had a car that enabled us to go out and about and we flew in and out of Liberia Airport. Be warned the roads are somewhat under developed along the coast - particularly as you get further south - but it makes for a good adventure! The peninsula is very remote and there isn't a lot to do other on land other than soak it up and relax which is exactly what we wanted. The water provided plenty of adventure.

We did two trips - the Tango Mar Super Tour with Jessie and Chema and it was worth every penny. We had a great time at the Reserve and the snorkeling is awesome! We then went on the fishing trip which was brilliant too. Fishing can be hit and miss and even the best fishermen have bad days but we were not disappointed. we caught 10 fish in total and even saw dolphins! Again big thanks to our captain Chema!

There aren't many places that I would consider returning to on holiday as the world is too big not to keep exploring, but we have talked about popping back for a quick stay when we just need to get away to paradise for a few days. We would do this by flying to San Jose and then on to Tambor where I believe you can get a pick up from the hotel (is a tiny airport just a few miles away). Thank you Tango Mar!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tambor
2.3 mi away
Tambor Tropical Beach Resort
24.4 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
1.1 mi away
Vista Hermosa Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 42 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
12.4 mi away
Vista Las Islas Hotel & Spa
10.3 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas

Property: Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Address: Quizales Beach, Tambor 76773, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The well-hidden secret of Tango Mar is located on the beautiful, deserted Quizales beach at the Nicoya Peninsula on Costa Rica's Pacific Coast. It is a 150-acre (60Ha) exclusive private beachfront reserve with ample of added attractions. The blend of fine accommodations with exuberant jungle vegetation, exotic birds and wildlife makes Tango Mar the ideal hideaway for anyone who wants to enjoy refinement in a natural setting. With only 45 rooms, the philosophy of Tango Mar is to provide a personal, friendly, relaxed and attentive service Tango Mar has a 9-hole Executive Golf Course (par 3 and par 4), two lightened tennis courts, a soccer field, four swimming pools, stables with horses, 2 restaurants and bars, meeting room, Spa, an organic garden and natural trails. It offers different types of lodgings; Beahfront rooms that mainly cater to families, Tropical Suites and Deluxe Beachfront Rooms for couples and Tiki suites for the most demanding. All rooms have been recently renovated, have a private bath and are equipped with a/c, phone, satellite TV, a safety deposit box, WIFI, minibar upon request and a coffee maker with complementary coffee. We also have private beachfront Villas for families or small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tango Mar Beach, Spa And Golf Resort
Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Hotel Tambor
Tango Mar Beach Hotel
Tango Mar Beach Tambor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing