We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely beach, but average resort although it has a lot of potential” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely beach, but average resort although it has a lot of potential”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

We expected this place to be a lot better after friends recommended that we stay here. However, I guess they didn't stay anywhere else in Costa Rica and had nothing to compare to as this was certainly not better than average. The food was HORRIBLE. I don't say that based on one entree, but having tried several as there aren't any restaurants nearby. Even the spaghetti was bad...and that is pretty hard to mess up if you ask me. The location of the place was beautiful, but our cabana didn't have much privacy at all and despite my request to have housekeeping clean the jetted hot tub, it was still dirty. We also had a problem with ants that kept coming into the shower. The pool area was beautiful as was the private beach and the staff was very accommodating, but overall, we were not impressed and won't be back.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wishfulthinknsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    126
    61
    16
    11
See reviews for
154
395
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

a perfect holiday...elegant--like The Four Seasons was 10 years ago. Great service and food. quiet. great beach for running and walking. hotel-style rooms are more than adequate with great views!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janethejogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

My wife and I chose Tango Mar for our honeymoon and could not been happier about it.

We are Costa Ricans, and generally happen to go to hotels that are not peaceful enough for a vacation. This beach resort was right out there overlooking the ocean, in a secluded beach near Tambor. We loved the personalized attention, the food, the pool, the educated European client-base, the lovely silence, the surroundings of the hotel, how close it was via airplane from San Jose (20 minutes).

We were scheduled to come back via airplane but it was going to be delayed for hours (bad weather), but the hotel owner, Ms. Hilde Cloet, was traveling that morning to San Jose as well, and she was kind enough to bring us back with her on transportation she paid back to San Jose. We highly recommend this hotel, and do not hesitate to say we will be going back every year.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FAR1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

My husband and I vacationed at Tango Mar for our honeymoon. We were pleasantly surprised with the beautiful grounds upon arrival (after the interesting flight and cab in from San Jose!). As others have suggested this is a true slice of paradise. The resort is on a private beach, is well maintained, and every room has an amazing view. The staff is top notch. (Shocked to read reviews about poor service.) Specifically Junior and Eduardo made our stay extra special but the entire staff works around the clock with a smile on their face every time you see them. The more leisurly life style did take some getting used to (it did sometimes take a while to get our check or a refill) but we'd remind ourselves that we're on vacation and we have no where else to be and nothing else to do! :)
The resort had 85 guests our first night there but we felt like we had the place to ourselves. Many nights we were the only people in the pool up at the Tropical suites which was incredible! The grounds are amazing too. We took a hike to the waterfall and one to the look out point where we saw a family of monkeys! Also recommend the snorkel and zip line trips!
There were a few things that prevented us from giving the resort 5 stars:
- Food: The first few nights we were ecstatic about the food (*Must try the seafood platter and ceasar salad*) however we stayed for 7 days and ate every meal at the resort, so by day 7 we were a little tired of the dinner selections. They would benefit from changing the menu every few days or even offering some of the lunch selections at dinner. (Sometimes you just want a burger!)
- Cleanliness: The rooms were cleaned each day however we did have a problem with ants in our bathroom and a terrible smell in the bathroom. We didn't complain about the ants (because we recognized that we were in the jungle and that goes with the territory) however I would have hoped that the cleaning lady would have noticed the very obvious issue and offered to do something.
-Location: No question this is a beautiful spot and there are tours available for day trips however people are not kidding when they say there is no nightlife. The bar closes around ten each night and there is nothing to do. I recommend buying wine in town if you take a day trip to bring back to your room.

The only other general comment I have is to book direct if you want a tiki suite. We booked through a travel site, hoping to upgrade from the Tropical Suite to the Tiki Suite. We sent an email right after booking but never received a reply. I did not persist because a lot of people commented that they were upgraded upon arrival, however the tiki suites were booked the week we were there and we were not able to upgrade. The tropical suites are very nice too however not recommended for anyone that does not dowell with stairs. It is 93 very steep steps up to the suites! (Great work out after drinking by the pool all day!)

All in all the trip was amazing and we would absolutley recommend Tango Mar and would love to come back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cleeskat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

Just returned from traveling to Tango Mar with Tauck Culturious tours. This hotel is fabulous, with a beach and natural setting close to paradise. The beach is steps from your door, the lobby and restaurant are open air, the rooms well appointed with breathtaking views of the ocean, rocks, etc. The pool was refreshing, and right-sized. The staff was friendly and helpful. Even the owner went out of her way to ensure our stay was great. Very relaxing, serene and beautiful. I didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enjoylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

As part of our honeymoon adventure in Costa Rica, we spent one night at Tango Mar on our way from Santa Teresa to Arenal. Without a doubt, the view from our waterfront room and the grounds were absolutely gorgeous. Everywhere you turned, there was true beauty. We were able to enjoy the path to the lookout point, where we watched the sunrise and we walked to the waterfall (which falls into the ocean) nearby, which were both beautiful. We were pretty disappointed in the service at dinner though and the food wasn't all that great. I had to wait much longer than I should have for simple things (a glass of wine when we sat down and butter for my lobster). I would say stay there and eat someone else, but there really isn't anywhere else you could eat nearby.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathrynE22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostend, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

It was my 4th time in Tango Mar ...and every time I love it more and more. The atmosphere, the location, the food and service is impeccable. Hilde is the perfect "mama'ger"
Can't wait to get back....
Gwendoline

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwendo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tambor
24.2 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,122 reviews
24.5 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
2.5 mi away
Tambor Tropical Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Vista Hermosa Boutique Bed & Breakfast
11.8 mi away
Vista Las Islas Hotel & Spa
23.9 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas

Property: Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Address: Quizales Beach, Tambor 76773, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The well-hidden secret of Tango Mar is located on the beautiful, deserted Quizales beach at the Nicoya Peninsula on Costa Rica's Pacific Coast. It is a 150-acre (60Ha) exclusive private beachfront reserve with ample of added attractions. The blend of fine accommodations with exuberant jungle vegetation, exotic birds and wildlife makes Tango Mar the ideal hideaway for anyone who wants to enjoy refinement in a natural setting. With only 45 rooms, the philosophy of Tango Mar is to provide a personal, friendly, relaxed and attentive service Tango Mar has a 9-hole Executive Golf Course (par 3 and par 4), two lightened tennis courts, a soccer field, four swimming pools, stables with horses, 2 restaurants and bars, meeting room, Spa, an organic garden and natural trails. It offers different types of lodgings; Beahfront rooms that mainly cater to families, Tropical Suites and Deluxe Beachfront Rooms for couples and Tiki suites for the most demanding. All rooms have been recently renovated, have a private bath and are equipped with a/c, phone, satellite TV, a safety deposit box, WIFI, minibar upon request and a coffee maker with complementary coffee. We also have private beachfront Villas for families or small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Hotel Tambor
Tango Mar Beach, Spa And Golf Resort
Tango Mar Beach Hotel
Tango Mar Beach Tambor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing