We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great Hotel and great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Costa Coral

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tambor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Costa Coral
Save
You added Hotel Costa Coral to your Saves list
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
London, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Hotel and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I stayed for 7 days and found the experience most satisfying. Mike and Judy and the entire staff were most helpful in all aspects. The food was very different every meals and very originally created and of superb quality.
I would recommend this to anyone

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rmccormick000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    18
    5
    6
    6
See reviews for
12
35
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fillmore, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Costa Coral and we wanted to express our appreciation to you and your staff for a most wonderful time we had in Tambor. Marcos, Carlos & Leo were the best! We felt like “royalty” staying at your hotel. I know we “surprised” you with our visit and we sure appreciate you taking us in to be your guest. It was so much fun to pretty much have the entire place to ourselves. We will be talking about this trip for a long time. Please pass our thanks to your staff. Again, thanks for your hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 104Belinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just got back from Tambor, Costa Rica. We were in the area looking at real estate. Lots of breath taking views, beaches and wildlife. We saw lots of monkeys, birds, fish, dolphins and even whales! The area is close to lots of beaches, small towns and future developments for sale. Very convenient to Tambor Airport, Ferries and main roads to anywhere in Paradise!
Costa Coral is a beautiful hotel with nice pool and patio area. The rooms are spacious and very quiet. The staff is wonderful and helpful for any services! Looking forward to going again for a longtime!

Room Tip: Rooms on the bottom floor are convenient, no noise from rooms above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jender47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I had the opportunity to spend some time at this hotel with my boyfriend who was doing business in Costa Rica. We spent a week at Costa Coral and really enjoyed our time there. Food was great. Staff was awesome. It was really hot that week, however they did everything to make sure we feel as comfortable as it gets.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EkaterinaPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
430 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

My wife and I wanted a break from our resort stay so we decided to head to Tambor to eat dinner. We stopped at Costa Coral. GREAT FOOD!!!!! The server brought great fresh bread and garlic butter!! I started out with patacones prepared like nachos. Great! Has fish and shrimp ceviche with homemade chips. My wife has a humongous chicken brochette. Verty pleased. Will recommend to all!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pablocollier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed there this winter... the staff was great... helpful and pleasent. I'd go back in a heartbeat...
Menu was good in the restaurant... morning coffee on the deck. No big beach access but the pool was handy and great.
Well done you guys : )

Room Tip: Our room was kind of tucked away in a corner... would have been nice to have a bit more room and a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I had the opportunity to spend some time at this hotel while traveling with some friends who were on a business venture. I loved this place! The hotel is a quaint oasis that has more of a more intimate feel being that there are only like 10 rooms to the whole place. It's located in a very peaceful location of Tambor with a 5 minute walk to the beach. There are a few "sodas" in the area where you can eat some awesome homemade Costa Rican food but i'd be happy just eating at the Costa Coral. I pride myself on knowing great food and the Costa Coral has some top notch chefs. Every meal we had was fantastic.

The hotel has all the amenities. The internet reception was not fantastic in the rooms but was very easy to access in the bar area near the pool where I Skyped almost every night. Then again, who needs to sit on their computer when you're in a place like this with so much to see and do? The rooms were clean, well equipped, nicely air conditioned and the beds were very comfortable. I loved hearing the monkeys in the trees at night while I was sleeping. It was the rain forest at its very best.

Overall, I look forward to visiting this place again soon. It is comfortable, relaxing and just a short distance from some of the most beautiful places you have ever seen. The staff was helpful, attentative, and very friendly. I look forward to seeing my friends again at this comfy slice of paradise.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tony417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tambor
2.2 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.3 mi away
Tambor Tropical Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Vista Hermosa Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Vista Las Islas Hotel & Spa
24.6 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,125 reviews
1.0 mi away
Barcelo Tambor Beach
Barcelo Tambor Beach
#2 of 7 in Tambor
4.0 of 5 stars 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa Coral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Coral

Property: Hotel Costa Coral
Address: | Center of Playa Tambor, Tambor 5361, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Costa Coral, located in Playa Tambor, is a 5 minutes walk from the beach. Costa Rica is busier then ever and is under new management. We are a clean, boutique hotel, with a beautifully landscaped garden & pool area. Our wonderfully appointed restaurant is adorned with balconies & beautiful. We offers fresh local cuisine, with the finest ingredients, our food is prepared with heart and soul. We are a great place for your home base as you take advantage of the many activities within a 30 min radius. We look forward to serving you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing