We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,362)
Filter reviews
2,362 results
Traveler rating
1,159
601
312
167
123
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,159
601
312
167
123
Show reviews that mention
All reviews japanese restaurant san jose el rancho mini golf sushi entertainment staff the buffet area bird sanctuary lobby bar keep in mind butterfly farm nachos the beach is nice costa rican lounge chairs zip lining pacific side
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 2,362 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2018

This resort was remodeled in 2012 and in very good condition. It is not a fancy place, but lots of wide open spaces, plenty of activities (large pool, entertainment staff, bird sanctuary, gym, volleyball, futbol, nightly shows, game room, etc), and a long beach front (which unfortunately is not a great walking beach nor swimming because of the large waves). The rooms were clean but modest. I think the picture below says a lot - crooked, dated, dirty, faded, warped, mass produced junk - two of these "decorated" the walls. Family friendly (this was the highlight for me)! The food was edible and plentiful but so disappointing. Little flavor, little variety, gray! Drinks were made with DISCO alcohol - a brand that must specialize in flavoring water to mimic the booze. One of the pools was shut down. The howler monkeys, birds, iguanas and sneaky squirrels provided a lot of entertainment. Lots of potential here, and I had a nice stay, but a bit disappointing. One more thing: there are 2 "premium" restaurants. You have to get in hour long line at 8am to make reservations (steak & fish or Japonese) - the food was much better here but the restaurants were always "FULL" and not accepting reservations - in reality I never saw any of them more than half full. A needless line to wait in - I think it shows managements view of its guests... we need you here, but we don't want you to come back.

Room tip: there are only a few "ocean" view rooms - but they are not close to the ocean and obscurred by vegitation.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dr917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia B, Revenue at Barcelo Tambor, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2018

Dear Dr917:

Thank you for sharing a review of Barceló Tambor. It does indeed sound from what you describe that some aspects of your stay did not meet our usual standards of service; please accept our sincerest apologies for failing to make your stay with us a perfect moment of relaxation, we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention.


Sincerely;
Raúl Arranz
General Manager
Barceló Tambor Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2018

While reserving for this resort earlier this year I had read good and bad reviews about this place and after the fact I'm somewhere in the middle.
Cheap airfare to San Jose was the initial reason to go to Costa Rica and I chose Barcelo Tambor as a fit for my family. Most of the negative reviews I had read were written by newlyweds or old folks, whom this hotel is not cut out for. This is a family resort with lots of kids.

The room negatives: Old noisy AC registers, refrigerator and ceiling fan. If you want to stay cool you will have some noise.
The room positives: Clean. Comfortable beds

Hotel location: Isolated, in the middle of nowhere. You can venture out, but be warned that if you drive to Montezuma or Santa Teresa area beaches you'll face dirt roads with huge pot holes, slippery mud going uphill and tiny one-way slab concrete no-railing bridges with no prior warning that they exist.

Hotel food: The regular buffet is like bland hospital food. If you stay more than 2 nights you get the opportunity to reserve a meal at the Sushi or Steak and Seafood restaurants which have limited seating are much nicer experiences.

Beer: They only serve Imperial which is like a Heineken light

Staff: Very nice and helpful

The grounds and pools are well kept.

Activities: My wife took part in archery, dance and water aerobics, though the activities are not scheduled or advertised well. The staff just rounds up guests 10 minutes prior to the class by walking around the pool area.

World Cup viewing was great as they put the games on a huge projection screen in the convention hall. Beer keg, coffee, juices and pastries included.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank davidC1779PQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia B, Revenue at Barcelo Tambor, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2018

Dear DavidC1779PQ:

We apologize for the technical problems with the noise in your room.

We do our utmost to ensure that our guests can enjoy an enriching dining expérience in an unrivaled setting and with an excellent service. Our restaurant team will continue working to surprise you with delicious international and local dishes on your next visit.

thank you for your visit and constructive critics, we hope that you had a nice journey back home and to have the pleasure of serving you again in our hotels worldwide ensuring you in advance of our best intentions at all times.

Sincerely;
Raúl Arranz
General Manager
Barceló Tambor Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2018

Great family vacation and extremely hospitable environment. The staff of enthusiastic event leaders is what really set the trip apart from other experiences ESPECIALLY Dayana and Yendri whose energy will make anyone smile and enjoy themselves. Nonstop activities throughout the day, and nightly events will bring laughs and are appropriate for all ages. Well worth every penny and highly recommended for anybody looking for an all inclusive getaway in a tropical paradise.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bmonr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan M, Revenue at Barcelo Tambor, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2018

Dear bmonr:

Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Barceló Tambor. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay.

We also appreciate your kind words for our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,
Raúl Arranz
General Manger
Barceló Tambor Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2018

I’m always happy going to this hotel that’s all inclusive. This hotel is a very good place to go relax with family, friends or alone. Everyone is very kind and the customer service is great. There are shows each night that both children and adults can enjoy. Activities are held each day as well. I would also like to recognize the staff for their amicable behavior such as; Alonso Fernandez, Yendry Mora, Edwin Fernandez, and many others that make the stay lively. I hope to be returning soon and have another memorable stay.

Room tip: Best rooms are the beach view or pool view, they’re right next to everything
Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Carolina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan M, Revenue at Barcelo Tambor, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2018

Dear Carolina V:

Thank you for the great feedback of your recent holiday experience at our Barceló Tambor; guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that, we are happy our hotel and staff were able to meet all your needs during your stay.

We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely;
Raúl Arranz
General Manager
Barceló Tambor Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2018 via mobile

Im not the kind of person who gives a bad review generally. You have to be really bad to get a bad review from me. Barceló Tambor earned it. First the good. Lots of cool wildlife on the grounds, awesome beach, and a super professional and friendly staff earned them 2 stars. The bad? It was dirty, dingy and old. The house offerings of wine and drinks were swill and if you didn’t like it you had to pay more. $12 a day for WiFi!!!! In 2018!!! You’re trapped! Nothing close by to relieve you from the pain and suffering. But the worst part was trying to sleep in a dingy little room that smells of mold and urine. Super loud and annoying entertainment aimed at local kids, good on them! Couldn’t take it. We left with no refund and it was worth the loss.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank X2308KDrobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan M, Revenue at Barcelo Tambor, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2018

Dear Rob S:

Although we sincerely regret reading that your stay at our Barceló Tambor fell short of your expectations, we are grateful for the time you spent to share this feedback of your overall holiday experience among us as we certainly believe that there is always room for improvement and your constructive feedback is very much appreciated.

Regarding the wifi internet service, it is free of charge by booking through our website and joining our MyBarceló program.

In relation to the incidents regarding the cleaning of your room, we would like to offer our sincere apologies as clearly we were not performing to our usual standards on this occasion.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely;
Raúl Arranz
General Manager
Barceló Tambor Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews