We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barcelo Tambor
Nearby Hotels
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
H&B Lodge and Restaurant(Tambor)(Great Value!)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mar y Sol Ecotel(Tambor)(Great Value!)
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabinas Cristina Playa Tambor(Tambor)(Great Value!)
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fidelito Ranch & Lodge(Tambor)(Great Value!)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tambor Tropical Beach Resort(Tambor)(Great Value!)
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alkamar(Paquera)(Great Value!)
$77
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,916)
Filter reviews
1,916 results
Traveler rating
905
512
261
134
104
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
905
512
261
134
104
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjapanese restaurantall inclusive hotelsan joseel ranchomini golfnightly entertainmentshows at nightlobby barthe buffet areakeep in mindbutterfly farmkids poolsalad barall inclusivesbeach volleyballincluded wifinachos
Filter
Updating list...
208 - 213 of 1,916 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2014

The resort was very clean. There was great security available. There are iguanas and macaws on the resort property. Enjoyed watching the howler monkeys travel to sleeping quarters - usually around 5:00 p.m. They travel back through the trees in the morning, but missed this event. Enjoyed the Macaw Sanctuary. Did not go to the spa, but our motel neighbors did and enjoyed it very much. The food and drinks were plentiful. I appreciated that we could choose to eat at a steak house or sushi restaurant as part of our inclusive meals as the buffet did get to be a bit monotonous. Same menu most days. The beach is not the cleanest. That was disappointing, but when the tide goes out, there is a lot of beach which is cleaner. We enjoyed the zip-line trip that the hotel was selling. There were additional day trips available which was convenient. Overall, our experience was very good. We traveled with DreamTrips by Rovia. All transportation was provided which was very nice! Great trip, lovely country! Our trip was the beginning of November and the weather was awesome!

Room Tip: Try to get one of the units close to the woods and water. We had an ocean view from our ground room. You have to walk a little farther to the restaurants, pools, etc. but the privacy was worth it. Also, less noise and people traffic, plus you could hear the howler monkeys!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank biker5152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Customer

Regards from the Hotel Barceló Tambor Beach.

Thanks for sharing your comments on this website.

It´s very gratifying to know that you fully have enjoyed your stay in our hotel with the wildlife and all green surroundings, likewise We are very pleased you had a good time with the several excursions offered by our hotel.

We appreciate your kind comments related to the abundance of food and drink, and we take into account this observation regarding with the restaurant buffet.

The front of the hotel beach is cleaned daily by our gardening staff. Being a public beach, we ask to the authorities a better control of cleanliness around the hotel areas.

Again we appreciate the time invested in posting your comments.

Thank you very much!

Raúl Arranz Medrano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

While this all inclusive was the first resort from the ferry off Paquera, we arrived there at 11pm and everything was closed or just about closing. No food after 10 pm and we barely got a couple of drinks. The greeting staff was negligent and indifferent and we were just happy to have a place to sleep. We got to our room, and there were no towels, no hot water and the room fridge had left a puddle in the middle of the floor. When I went back to the front desk to complain, (they didn't answer the phone when I called), they just said sorry our maid is really busy right now and handed me some beach towels. Really? I then asked about Wifi and they said sorry they don't have any... Huh? Then I was reading through the hotel literature and realized that they do have Wifi but it costs $20 extra... over and above the $300 plus per night. Ok even though that's completely ridiculous.. why didn't he tell me that? Curious?? The buffets were fine and the beach was very pretty. Oh and the monkeys were so darn cool! They woke us up in the morning... but I wouldn't spend the money again on this place. Not luxurious or welcoming at all... the way a hotel for that price should be. Oh right and the room safe was locked when we got there so there was a sign on the safe saying "if it's locked, call front desk to have it unlocked" So we did (this time they answered the phone), and they said they would send someone over... an hour later, still no-one showed up... poorly run hotel. Needs better management and staff.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Grace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Mrs Grace

Greetings from Barceló Tambor Beach;

We sorry your stay in our resort didn't fill your expectations, We have worked to improve our service in order to please customer service.
A meeting has been scheduled with the involved departments to externalize their comments and also avoid future dislikes related with room delivery, meals at night time and WIFI.
Appropriate disciplinary measures were taken with phone service and security department, responsible for safe-deposit box opening.
Once again we really appreciate your comments which help us to improve our service.

Best regards;


Raúl Arranz Medrano
Director
Hotel Barceló Tambor Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This all inclusive resort was a great place for a weekend vacation. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable. The food was good, nothing out of this world but good for an all inclusive resort. The drinks were decent. The bartender Alonso made killer mint margaritas and was a great time! The beach is beautiful and it felt as though we had it to ourselves. Don't miss the evening entertainment, it was fantastic! The dance show was a highlight of the trip.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Ms. Melanie:

Thanks for the time spent to post comments on this site.

It is a pleasure for us to know that we resort met your expectations during your stay.

We proceeded to congratulate our bartender Alonso for his great cocktails and customer treatment.

Likewise, we congratulated the animation team for their work and dedication.

Once again thank you for your comments posted.

Greetings;

Raúl Arranz Medrano
Director
Hotel Barceló Tambor Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

The good:

This is a pretty good spot for a complete family vacation, it has so many amenities and activities that you for sure will be busy, there's everything from mini-golf to a Macaw Sanctuary on their property (also, dance lessons, archery, etc.)

The bad:

The quality of the food and drinks is Fair, most Piña Coladas are really industrialized and therefore not as tasteful as you could expect, the same goes to the food served at El Tucan (Buffet Restaurant) and El Palenque (Snacks Bar), it seems to be the exact same thing but on a different sauce (chicken, pork, beef) always, may be it would be beneficial to have different choices, as you will get tired of the food by day 3...

The ugly:

Even though the staff is very nice, they are not very efficient and sometimes not very kind either, there is a clear preference for foreigners over locals (main reason why I write this review in English as I'm sure it'll have more attention, just like the service) I stood in line in El Palenque Bar for over 35 min trying to get fries, luckily if you look not tico enough they won't mind that locals are waiting for 20+ minutes and will give all your devotion to you.

Also, I wasn't aware that in order to dine at one of the "fine" restaurants (Steak House/Seafood or Japanese) you have to stand in line since 7:30 a.m. in order to get a table... Why not book it online? Or by phone? Or at least let me know that I had to be on the Tours Counter at 7am to guarantee my spot in there?

Other than that, the place is in the middle of paradise and deeply in touch with nature, and since I got no reception on my cell phone it was the perfect getaway, I'm not sure if I'll go back... May be if they improve their overall food/drinks quality and communication with customers (what's included and what's not)

In the meantime, I'll Check out Langosta Beach and let you know

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jramirezch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Mr. Ramirez

Thanks for posting your comments in this page, in fact we appreciate the ones regarding with the service and the several activities offered in our resort.

Also, we take in consideration your personal observations about beverage quality and meals. We have been working with the executive chef into elaborate a different menu for each day at the snack bar pool to avoid the same meals in the main buffet, also the bar staff has received a brief induction to improve quality and service of the drinks.

We really sorry that some staff members showed you a bad impression of preferentiality of the foreign guest over locals. We handled a gathering in which the bar manager and his staff maintained this topic as top in order to avoid future complains.

In this right moment the staff of the hotel is making some implementations for a la carte reservation, in order to improve our customer service.

It will be a real pleasure for us to count with your presence in our resort.

Greetings;
Raúl Arranz Medrano
Director
Hotel Barceló Tambor Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

we read reviews and decided to go to this all inclusive resort. Our fun started when we arrived at the san jose airport, they told us before we got of the plane (air transit) that our luggage would be on a certain carasol well our luggage was on multiple carasols, then you have to go through security which was fine then walk outside the airport and find your representative having people standing all around the walkway with signs for people and people trying to get you to take their cab lots of yelling, once you find your representative you leave your lugguage outside the airport on the side of the road with someone else that belongs to your travel company (if your taking the hopper plane) then you walk over to the sansa airport about 10 mins down the road to catch the hopper plane to the resort. Once we got there they check your bags and you wait till you get on the plane to the resort we waited about 45 mins.the plane takes you right beside the resort. Once you get off the plane you have to pay $2.50 a person US to the people at the landing strip. There is a bus waiting to take you to the resort which is 2mins down the road. Once we got to the hotel check in was quick and easy. The staff there speaks minimal english. We stayed in building 6 facing the ocean the rooms were clean we had no problem with hot water or air conditioning everything worked great the view was wonderful we were on the second floor with balcony, the beds were very comfortable first time ive slept at a hotel and actually slept all through the night. We got there thursday not too busy. Come the weekend....holy locals and kids everywhere, they have a pool bar that is constantly surrounding by kids. Your lucky if you can get in to grab a drink and if you do get in to grab a drink the bartenders tend to serve the locals which are their friends before they even acknowledge your standing there, once you grab you drink you need to stay right close to the bar with it or you will have security nagging you to go up to the bar that you cant get close to because of all the kids We relized that tipping at this resort gets you nowhere. As for activities the staff walked right by us and asked all the locals to join into the activities not any of the canadians that were there, the impression i got and a few other canadians got was that they really dont want you there they definitly dont make you feel wanted. We were there for a week and it was packed with locals and their kids. The food buffet was pretty good stand your ground though because the locals like to push you out of the way or butt in front of you in a line. We found that getting tonthe buffet as soon as it opened for meals worked best then you werent stuck in a line up waiting to get in. If you doing the a la cart you have to book it between 8-9 am the morning of. People started lining up at 7am. We did the japanese place once and the steak house twice both were excellent. You need to get aup before 7am and grab a lounger if you want one under a hut so you can have some shade, you get a towel card at check in to get a beach towel but beware cause if you lose it or if it gets taken you pay $20.00 US,We did the 4 hour atv trip which included driving through the jungle the monkeys were amazing and so loud lol., you go along a beach, a cow pasture to the falls and a swimming hole then into town to do a bit of shopping and back to the resort it was a blast! Cost was $220.00US for two of us. The wildlife is incredible monkeys, iguanas and maccaws all around the resort there was even a caymen in the pond by our room, the beaches are nice xand not very busy, we were going to go horse back riding till i noticed that the horses mouth bit was rubbing its skin raw to the bone and decided against it. the night before you leave you have to have all you luggage in the lobby so it can go on the ferry to be at the airport for you the next day. The day your leaving you get a bus to the hopper plane site pay them another$2.50US Per person to leave, once we got to the airport we had to wait for our luggage that gets dropped off outside on the sidewalk so you have to watch for the bus so you know its there. All in all i thought costa rica was beautiful. I will go back to costa rica but not to this resort.

Room Tip: Building 6 was quiet ask for oceanview
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank tammy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Ms. Tammy:

Greetings from Barceló Tambor Beach hotel.

Thanks for the time invested in posting comments on this site.

We take into account your comments and we are working on the items listed in your post in order to continue our improvement process.

We appreciate your kind comments regarding with the comfort of the bed, cleaning of the rooms, food buffet and a la carte restaurants.

It has been a real pleasure to have you in our hotel.

Yours faithfully,

Raúl Arranz
Director
Barceló Tambor Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews