We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, poorly managed”
Review of Barcelo Tambor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelo Tambor
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tambor
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location, poorly managed”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I took a trip with my family to this hotel. I packed high hopes, I had heard about a recent 2 million dollar renovation that got me excited. What this hotel is missing can't be bought. Poor quality service, nobody smiles on a hall way, the cleaning ladies don't look happy to answer back good morning. Yes, I'm into manners and things like that. It is called hospitality when it comes to hotels, this one lacks greatly. I had to change my room, and the person on the front desk did the job with a frown on his face the whole time.
Now to the part that as a traveler with small kids can't forgive, cross contamination in this hotel is galore. No labels to warn about possible allergens, all desserts are place on coconut for no particular reason (my kids are allergic so no dessert for them), chicken nuggets fried with fish nuggets, so since my kids are allergic to fish, no fries, no chicken nuggets and basically nothing that came from a frier. This is the first vacation where everyone in my family actually lost weight in an all inclusive hotel. Impossible? not at all, all we could eat that was tasty and healthy was fruit or salads. My kids got rashes every day without eating any of their dangerous foods, which tells me that the cross contamination here is off the charts.

Bad attitude, bad service, and bad administration= skip this hotel and find another one that will be happy to host you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gabsalca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    353
    178
    89
    67
See reviews for
617
355
20
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
edmonton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you'd like a place to visit where the sunset takes your breath away nightly this is the place to be. The beach is a perfect spot to sit and watch Mother Nature's splendor in action. The resort is very well kept and I liked the smaller blocks of buildings that were only 2 storey's in height. Our room faced over the beach (couldn't see it because of all of the foliage) but we could sure hear and smell it and the sounds of the birds in the trees helped with the loss of the beach view. The Hibiscus and other plants were stunning and the grounds very well kept. The food was good and both my friend and I always found something good to eat. The buffet is a theme every night and the food at the bar by the pool was great !!!! Snacks like Nachos and Cheese, Pizza, Chicken Wings, Hot Dogs, all kinds of toppings and salads and tons of fresh fruit, tea, coffee and of course the bars right there.

I would recommend this resort highly and hope to get back again real soon

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank debster70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I get it. I am not in America but it was very difficult to communicate with most of the employees. Uno Coke Light was misunderstood. I am at, what I thought was a tourist destination and it was very frustrating. Accommodations were fine. Pool was beautiful. The staff was always cleaning and the resort was very secure. But the food was poor. I think we actually lost weight on the trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ToTheGoodElf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan M, Revenue Manager at Barcelo Tambor, responded to this review, November 18, 2016
Dear Costumer,

Thank you for the time you took out of your day to share your comments regarding your recent stay in our Barceló Tambor Hotel.

Thank you for your insights regarding our buffets, although we lament reading that we weren't able to meet your culinary wishes on this occasion, please rest assured that your comments will be shared with our Chefs to enhance our future guests' dining expériences.

Once again we thank you for sharing this valuable feedback with us, please rest assured that the information you have provided will be used accordingly to enhance our future guests' experiences among us and we hope you will visit us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Raúl Arranz
Director General
Hotel Barceló Tambor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The hotel was spectacular! I loved every single minute of it! Done people were extraordinary like Edwin Fernndez, Pepito, Stuard, Jamil ( the best), Ecson. All the staff was amazing! Loved the hotel! Defenitley coming back next year! The shows are amazing! And even the food!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GamaDiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Cliente:

Agradecemos el que dispusiera parte de su tiempo para dejar sus comentarios de la experiencia vivida durante su estadía.

Esperando poder recibirle en una próxima visita, me despido enviándole un cordial saludo.

Atte,

Raúl Arranz Medrano
Director
Hotel Barceló Tambor Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This hotel is very good and clean. Good food (all inclusive), good drinks, beach is not really for beach lovers but is acceptable. Howling monkeys in the trees, Large beautiful parrots flying around. Monkeys and parrots are noisy but so nice to watch. If you go on a tour to Tortugas Island, go during the week because on week-end it is crowded with a host of boats at anchor right where we swim, close to the shore.
A tour to Curu Park did not reveal species of animal that could'nt be seen at the hotel except white faced monkeys. Good shows every evening although a bit amateurish. A lot of lizards and iguanas all around. We saw a large iguana devoured by a cayman in the laguna on the hotel ground. All in all, a memorable experience.

NOTE : We had posted this review a few weeks ago to the wrong place (Hotel Be Live Las Morlas in Varadero). We hope that people who check that post do not expect to see parrots flying around and monkeys swinging from branch to branch in Varadero.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Raymond D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

It is a great place to relax and do as little as you wish for everything is provided for you, even the alcohol is included, IF an all inclusive resurt is what you looking for. We got there by chance and found the place very pleasant and fantastic value for a short rest from the great sights of Costa Rica. Somehow, it didn't feel crowded even though they were full, the food was very good and plentiful, the drinks were free and the service was very good. I would highly recommend it for those who likes the "all inclusive" even though it is not our 'cup of tea'

Room Tip: I would recommend a room away from the bars and the 'center' of the resurt if you want peace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vivien49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan M, Revenue Manager at Barcelo Tambor, responded to this review, November 21, 2016
Dear costumer,

The Barceló Tambor is such an excellent option for enjoying the all inclusive plan.

Thank you very much for the comments, your opinion is worthy in our daily basis.

We hope to have you once again in our resort.

Sincerely,

Raúl Arranz
Director General
Hotel Barceló Tambor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed for a week in March 2013.
A few if the highlights follow.
Beach; black sand, just enough surf to have some fun, miles long.
Rooms; basic, clean, quiet, spacious.
Grounds and surroundings; well maintained and variety of plants and animals to see, monkeys, lizards and parrots make regular visits.
Pools; well maintained and nice and warm
Food and restaurants; lots of variety, open long hours, great fruit selection.
Tours; good variety, well run, not too expensive.
Weather: sunny and hot the whole time.

We had a room with a view of the river and grasslands (965). We could see amazing tropical birds fishing and horses grazing from our room.

The entertainment staff did their best to keep everyone busy in the afternoons.

A great family or couples vacation.

Not the place to go if you are looking for nightlife.

Getting there is arduous unless you fly directly to the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river are very nice. Ours was #965. Wow! It was amazing to sit on the balcony, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tambor
24.9 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
3.2 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
1.0 mi away
Tambor Tropical Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
#1 of 2 in Punta Leona
813 reviews
2.1 mi away
Vista Hermosa Boutique Bed & Breakfast
24.5 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 41 in Jaco
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Tambor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Tambor

Property: Barcelo Tambor
Address: Playa Tambor, Tambor 771-1150, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tambor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Tambor 4*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Barcelo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Tambor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Tambor Beach Hotel Tambor
Barcelo Hotel Tambor Beach
Barcelo Hotel Puntarenas
Hotel Barcelo Playa Tambor
Barcelo Tambor Costa Rica
Barcelo Tambor Beach Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing