We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Food worth waiting for.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant and Cafe Cristina

Restaurant and Cafe Cristina
Ranked #3 of 9 Restaurants in Tambor
Cuisines: Costa Rican, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Tasty food prepared with local ingredients. If you don't like it, you don't pay - that's our guarantee of quality.
Goleta, California
1 review
“Food worth waiting for.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Christina took our order and went to work making everything we ordered from scratch. It was worth the wait. Salads were so fresh. Fish sauces were wonderful, filled with flavor. Her son (for a small fee) even drove us back to our hotel (Barcelo Resort) to make it back in time for planned excursion.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gloria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo G, Gerente at Restaurant and Cafe Cristina, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
thank you very much for taking your time to send us a comment we wish you the best and hope you come back soon. Thanks a lot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    8
    1
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fresh and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Christina prepared a Delicious lunch. We shared 2 fish dishes and a salad. Everything was amazing! The potatoes were my favorite.

Helpful?
Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo G, Gerente at Restaurant and Cafe Cristina, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you very much for taking your valuable time and write us a sincere comment, the whole fish ( red snapper ) is one of our specialties and we are very happy you enjoyed it. Thanks a lot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great local flavor!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

The food was fresh and absolutely delicious!! Highly recommended from a true foodie at heart!! I ordered the whole fish and she got the shrimp rice. Can't go wrong with a whole fish and the rice tasted fresh and green.. Both were served with a salad and some potatoes .... You won't be disappointed!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Sublime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

The food - shrimp and linguini with white sauce, the service - friendly and efficient and the pina coladas - out of this world , the ambiance - island- make this a wonderful dining experience. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pitak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good value, tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Cristina's is the perfect spot for an inexpensive, hearty breakfast or lunch near the beach. The food is plentiful, fresh, and delicious. The service is fast and friendly, and the open air restaurant is clean and welcoming. Classic Costa Rica!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant and Cafe Cristina also viewed

Tambor, Province of Puntarenas
Tambor, Province of Puntarenas
 
Tambor, Province of Puntarenas
Tambor, Province of Puntarenas
 
Tambor, Province of Puntarenas
Tambor, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Restaurant and Cafe Cristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing