We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“5 Star Luxury in a Private Paradise!”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Tambor, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lynn L
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“5 Star Luxury in a Private Paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I have traveled to some of the most luxurious places all over the world, and this was on par with the best of the best! The ‘Casa’ itself is truly a work of art, and the landscape, architecture, and oceanfront views are absolutely stunning. It is extremely private, you are right on the ocean, there's only a few neighbors and the small Tango Mar Resort along this incredibly secluded stretch of beach. The photos can’t really capture the beauty. It’s amazing to be so secluded, but yet you have access to a golf course, tennis courts, riding stables, hiking trails, and as well as a spa of the resort. Our group really appreciated the convenience of having so much so close - we arrived as the typical exhausted, overworked Americans, really needing to deeply recharge for a few days before heading out for some fun excursions and activities.

The staff, yes – you have a whole staff that takes care of your every need! Hansel, the concierge, was extremely helpful and polite, answered questions about the house, the area and anything you'd like to do. Our maid also kept our rooms impeccably clean. Their Costa Rican ‘charm’ is contagious, and we appreciated their every kindness. The owners that I talked to in making arrangements were very helpful. They are Americans and understand how to truly cater to a westerners dream vacation. It's clear they have thought of everything that you could want on your stay. We also took the meal plan, which I highly recommend, as we felt it’s not really a vacation if you have to shop, cook and clean-up every day, and Silvia, the chef was incredible who took care of everything.

The rooms are all gorgeous! Impeccably designed to flow with the natural surroundings, and with every thoughtful convenience provided. There are 6 bedrooms, but I stayed in the Master Suite with the Jacuzzi, and felt like I was staying in an oceanside palace, as it has both an ocean and a garden balcony. Each morning to be able to see the magnificent sunrise was one of my favorite experiences, as I could sit in my chair on the patio right off the Suite and drink it in. Exquisite. To fall asleep to the ocean waves and wake up to that view, is hard to describe. There was the option of A/C, which I used sometimes, but the night air was so tropically refreshing and I wanted to hear the ocean, so most of the times I just left the patio doors open.

I have back issues, and worry sometimes about traveling because a lousy bed can put me out of commission for weeks upon my return. Their beds were great – there was some type of 'memory' foam and it was really, really comfortable. Slept like a baby. The other rooms were equally charming and ideally situated, all right on the ocean, except a rear garden room. The whole ‘Casa’ has an open air design, so with every window and glass pane that is pulled back, you are totally open to the beach and ocean. It was cleverly designed to give you the comforts of a 5 star, but the feeling that you’re right in nature.

There’s an amazing infinity pool also, that we loved to sit in (with a cocktail of course!) and watch the sun go down each day. You couldn’t see where the pool ended and the ocean began…another stunning view. Our group loved Casa Oceano and we are already looking at return dates for next year. Out of all the places I’ve stayed around the world, this is truly tops on my list and absolutely exceeded my expectations in every way. Super grateful I found this ‘jewel’.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The privacy and how close and private the ocean and beach were.
Liked least: The fact that I had to go home!
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013 for a stay in April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lesa F
South Jordan, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

This vacation home was by far the most beautiful we have ever rented. Hans and his team delivered WONDERFUL service, Wendy kept our room clean and clothes laundered, Sylvia kept our tummies very happy, Henry made sure everything was in tip top shape and Hans coordinated it all and made sure we had plenty of beverages available! Thanks so much for making our friends 60th Birthday a very memorable one.

5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: It's hard to say, it was all very good.
Liked least: that we had to leave and go home!
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susan148
Buford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Grandson said it in one sentence--"Is this heaven Meeme?"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

A vacation with lifetime memories. The house, grounds, location and most of all the care that was given to us during our stay, will never ever be matched anywhere. Hansel, Wendy and Henry--all caretakers of CASA OCEANO within Tango Mar resort, were exceptional when it came to service, answering questions, willing to do whatever we needed to make our stay even more outstanding.
From the kindness of their Christian hearts, their wilingness to attend to just anything needed, Hansel, Wendy and Henry saw to it that this family for 10, ranging from 8 years old to Papa of 68, each enjoyed ourselves to the fullest. My granddaughter after returning home cried the next morning when she woke up at her home in Tennessee because she would not be seeing Hansel,Wendy and Henry this day.
Thank you all--you hold your very own place in all our hearts. The house was fabulous, the front yard ocean(actually gulf) and the view could not be matched. Grandchildren loved everything about it and the bon fire that Henry and Hansel did for us on the beach was another lifetime memory--the carved coconut was great too, Henry!! Thanks. We were greeted with a frozen marigrita made by chef Sylvia and till we had to bid farewell,we felt if we were in a wonderful, wonderful dream.
Hope to see you again.
The concierge for LUXURY RETREATS, who we booked the house through, was 6 months on the job and was of no help whatsoever. She even botched the rental car situation so that we ended up having to pay for a car we didn't even use($950.00)! Her arranging tours was nothing and we had to go with another travel agent to do that--maybe one day she will know what she is doing after being on the job longer but we did not get the service we should have from LuxuryRetreats.com when it came to that project.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The management team of CASA OCEANO, the location
Liked least: how Luxury Retreats concierge messed us up on the rental car situation and her lack of help overall
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 9, 2012
Dear Susan,

We are pleased to hear how much you and your family enjoyed your stay at Casa Oceano, in particular the wonderful service you received from the villa staff. We are sorry to hear about the difficulties you experienced with the car rental and are currently working to resolve the issue. A member of our customer service team will be in touch with the latest developments.

Best regards,

Guest Relations Manager
Luxury Retreats
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Talk to the Manager
1 8443903483
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing