We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fidelito Ranch & Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fidelito Ranch & Lodge
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Dont be alarmed by the dirt roads on the way to this property IT IS WORTH THE DRIVE, It is beautiful getting there and even better once you arrive.
The hosts Brigitte & Leon were so kind and accommodating and make you feel at home.
They have two beautiful dogs who help you relax and are eager to become your friend, Gecko's are chirping and frogs are hopping it was blissful! I could hear the monkeys in the AM but did not see any.
Breakfast was clean and fresh, i was full and felt healthy (eggs are from a neighbor~ very fresh) tasty fresh fruit, juice, granola.. Plenty to chose from.
Brigitte took me horse back riding in the AM when I woke and it was so scenic, we went and checked out the herd of cattle and checked out the newest addition to the family, a baby brahma. up and down hills, thru the river a few times it was great and unlike the typical "paid" trail ride, it was actually really fun and I recommend it even if you are an experienced rider. I rode a chestnut horse who I can only compare to a cadillac, Classy and smooth..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank thequeenjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
38
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

The ranch is just few units, both are large with kitchen and spacious bathrooms.
perfect for relaxing in quiet environment and listening to animals and birds.
Horse riding is available on premises, so the food and drinks.
All made by Brigitte, the friendly hostess.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alec S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed at Fidelito for almost a week and loved every moment of it. Food and facilities were up to international standards, clean and professional: the rooms are large and well-equipped. Leon and Brigitte are both knowledgeable and friendly: they know all the local attractions and many of the people. Brigitte helped organize the rest of our stay, phoning around to tour operators and the like: very useful since we barely speak Spanish. You don't even have to leave the property to see wildlife: there are resident hummingbirds, howler monkeys, and lots more. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank puddlejumper05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

To start we arrived AFTER dark off the Punterenous ferry, which is not recommended on the Nicoya Peninsula; but due to the awesome perfect directions from Ginger, we three older women made it to the ranch without a "hitch"! And to boot, as we had been "on the road" from new jersey for 13 or so hours, she had a delicious corvina fish dinner prepared for us.....and we were starving! After gracious informative conversation, we went to our lovely room which was more than big enough for the three of us as was adequately described on the website; decorated in Costa Rican style. The kitchen and bath were quite big and the fridge was stocked with water, beer and drinks! Oh yea!! Breakfast was fresh eggs and homemade jellies, cheese (yes homemade cheese) and Costa Rican coffee.
We only stayed two nights and dinner was out the following but breakfast was delicious again. Outside kitchen was inviting and comfortable and nice place to sit at night with a drink to enjoy the quiet. The whole ranch was beautiful!
Ginger was an attentive hostess and both she Leon are so well travelled, conversation was diverse and a great pleasure! Also here was are first encounter with howler monkeys! Love their morning "songs"!!! Thank you Ginger and Leon!

Room Tip: I Do not have one complaint or disappointing thing to say. :-D
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank MaddieLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

What a beautiful ranch nestled in the hills just a few miles inland from Tambor! Intimate with only two apartments; it all works because your hosts Leon and Brigitte are experienced tour guides from all over the globe. They are very hospitable and extremely interesting. They love their ranch and contribute to the local community. Beautiful people, and they make staying there very special. The ranch is beautifully maintained, and the apartments are clean and comfortable. Brigitte took my 9 year old son and I on a 2 hour horse ride through beautiful mountains, across rivers, and down jungle trails with her dogs Fido and Judy following. That was one of the many highlights to our trip to the southern Nicoya peninsula. This ranch is a diamond if you want to kick back and enjoy the wildlife and farm life and have some home cooked meals. We didn't plan on eating there every breakfast and dinner, but we ended up doing just that. Brigitte is a good cook and always wears a smile. A Dutch couple and their twins stayed in the adjacent unit, and we all had a great time sharing experiences over dinner with Leon and Brigitte. A calf was born the night before we arrived, and my son loved petting the one day old calf while Brigitte kept Fido and Judy a safe distance away. It's a good home base to go to Montezuma, Curu, or even Mal Pais or Santa Teresa, all are within an hour or less drive. Wish I was there now....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hhiwaterlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a wonderful experience thanks to Mrs. Brigitte whom is an amazing host. She welcomed us as if she already knew us. We only stayed 1 night on our last leg. Our daughter is 13 yrs old and she enjoyed the animal experience and feeding the horses. The room is spacious with a large refrigerator and kitchen. The two double beds are comfortable and it has a/c.

Room Tip: The two rooms and bathroom are very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank zumi g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

It was an experience that I will never forget. I wish I was able to spend many more days there. I loved most of all hearing brigittes stories, and exploring nature on horseback..That is the most beautiful place on earth from what my eyes have seen. I fell asleep with the sounds of nature, and woke up to the howler monkeys swinging from tree to tree. I was very sad to leave. I keep talking about her german goulash and the fresh squeezed juice.... And of course the fresh homemade bread and jam, and eggs for breakfast. So delicious!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lovvlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tambor
2.2 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
1.6 mi away
Vista Hermosa Boutique Bed & Breakfast
1.1 mi away
Tambor Tropical Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#7 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#14 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
11.4 mi away
Vista Las Islas Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fidelito Ranch & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fidelito Ranch & Lodge

Property: Fidelito Ranch & Lodge
Address: 800 meters north of school Panica, Tambor 60105, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fidelito Ranch & Lodge is a relaxing exclusive comfortable Apartment Lodge: excellent "go to place" for Families, Couples and Singles. Ideal tranquil Dutch 60 ha working Ranch with huge garden in the spectacular forested Tambor hills. Located 4 km from Tambor Beach and 10 min. drive of Tambor Airport between Paquera and Cobano on the Nicoya Peninsula of Guanacaste. Dutch-German owners with former worldwide Thomas Cook touristic experience. It is your ideal base and starting point for a memorable enjoying vacation. Two beautiful luxery European stylish apartments with facillities, Bar, covered Patio "Rancho" with sitting and dining area and a almost constantly breeze, outdoor Kitchen.Apartments surrounded by great scenery and wildlife: TV, WLAN, Safe, full Kitchen, Fridge, Coffeemaker, AC, ceiling Fan, Spanish ceramic floortiles, Shower, big Bathroom, Hairdryer. 2 double beds with orthopedic Mattresses, Panoramic windows, Terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Fidelito Ranch & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing