We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tortuga Island

Tortuga Island
Book In Advance
$130*
and up
Tortuga Island Cruise
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Tambor
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brandywine, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This beach is a little more than average, and the staff at the food stands and shop are really nice. The only downside is that it costs $1.00 to use the OUTHouse!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Duane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    60
    43
    15
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brandywine, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pumba The Pig is there to greet you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The animals are roaming freely and just await your hands to give their belly a lil scratch. Snorkeling is great but use caution the waves and water can move a little fast. I would advise wearing a life jacket just so you don't tire too quickly

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Notlrac1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We enjoyed our tour to Tortuga Island! It was a full day tour which included a lovely luncheon, snorkeling, swimming, rides on a banana boat, and a wee bit of walking and shopping. You could do all of the above or just sit on the beach to relax. We chose a great sunny day to go, but there were very few people there overall. I would totally consider going again. No one bothered us and we had a fabulous day!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank slinowsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
281 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Fabulous snorkelling opportunity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

We are so pleased that we took the decision to do the Tortuga island trip as we were a little concerned about some of the TA reviews about it being very touristy and a bit of a rip off. The day we chose was obviously a quiet one as there was just one other boat which made plenty of room for everyone. The snorkelling option was included in our package and was excellent. I can't believe the hour passed so quickly because there was so much to see. Lunch was excellent and plenty to eat. We were annoyed that thee is a charge of $1 to use the portaloo toilet and the shop was exorbitantly expensive, but overall it was such a great day our these issues were minor. The 1.5 hour boat trip was fine as the crew kept us supplied with drink and snacks whilst we were able to spot flying fish and enjoy the views.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonnenetball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Must visit if you are in the area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This island is absolutely beautiful!

Our tour guides had fresh fruit and a hot lunch prepared for us, as well as cold drinks.

The beach is white sand, and the water is clear and warm - we snorkeled for about an hour before getting to the island.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tortuga Island also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Tambor, Province of Puntarenas
Tambor, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Tortuga Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing