We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zuma Tours vrs Calipso Tours” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tortuga Island

Tortuga Island
Tambor, Costa Rica
50622202126
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
$130*
and up
Tortuga Island Cruise
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Tambor
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Zuma Tours vrs Calipso Tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Hi, I want to know your experiences in those two tour operators. Which is the best between both. I have heard good things about those two.

I appreciate your comments

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    60
    43
    15
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The coast is beautiful.... The tour is hokey.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The ocean is beautiful and the sand soft & white. The staff on the boat, Tortuga Island Cruise, are extremely friendly and the boat is nice however that's all the positives I can mention. The food was terrible in my opinion and yes, you have to pay $7 to sit on a lounge chair! The boat ride back is very enjoyable and you may see dolphins.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A day on a boat is always a good day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The ride to and from Tortuga was a good day journey. About 30 miles each way. Some interesting views along the way. Tortuga itself is not a great destination. I did not go into the water as I thought I could see red tide. Did go on the beach. Way over priced t-shirts and tourist stuff. Also anchorage was rough. If I made the trip again, would find another place to drop the hook and just swim off the boat. Really good location for birding.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Keoweegui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Plain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not The Best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

If you are not a first time snorkler then you will be disappointed. Water was cloudy, and not a great assortment of fish, plus it was extremely crowded. Island was beautiful, but they charge $7 per chair rental, lay on the sand instead. There was a fair amount of garbage floating in the water and i was stung by a small jellyfish. This trip was just ok, not spectacular.

Helpful?
3 Thank MonicaStonyPlain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Tortuga Island boat and Island tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The boat tour to Tortuga Island was awesome. They picked us up at the condo and drove us to Heradura Beach where we caught the small boat out to the big boat and were greated with Rum Punch. 90 minutes and a good breakfast later we were at Tortuga Island. A day or beautiful white sand beaches and blue water, Parrots, chickens more drinks and a BBQ on the beach. Then back to the boat back to Jaco. Food and drinks are included unless you get something special, band and a DJ on the boat and at the beach. The crew was alot of fun as well.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank dmrubnitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tortuga Island also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Tambor, Province of Puntarenas
Tambor, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Tortuga Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing