We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excelent ¡¡¡¡”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clandestino Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Parrita
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose Metro, Costa Rica
1 review
“Excelent ¡¡¡¡”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

100 point / 100 point

Very very good ¡¡¡¡

100 point / 100 point

Very very good ¡¡¡¡

100 point / 100 point

Very very good ¡¡¡¡

100 point / 100 point

Very very good ¡¡¡¡

100 point / 100 point

Very very good ¡¡¡¡

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carlos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo C, Propietario at Clandestino Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Google Translation
Hola!

Wao este es un comentario inusual! Pero sin ninguna duda se ve que disfruto de sus estancia!

Muchas gracias por recomendarnos y por su review!

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    99
    28
    13
    31
See reviews for
150
239
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Foxridge
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

This was such a beautiful resort. Every moment we awaken to a beautiful beach front. It was absolutely wonderful to get away. Will we loved walking the beach. It felt like it was our own. We were accompanied by four wonderful dogs very friendly are protectors yes they offered such a sincere welcome to Clandestino. If you were looking to make a choice for place where you can relax, rejuvenate, feel welcomed wake up vibrant and alive. If you're looking for one of the best places on earth that you will think about,over and over and over again choose Clandestino Beach resort. I don't give many great reviews but I choose to make this one of my best vacation getaway experiences. We will choose Clandestino again and again. Hope you enjoy your trip. By the way Diane the owner manager treated us as if we were kings and queens. She runs a tight ship and it's well worth it God bless you Diane.

Room Tip: All of the rooms were absolutely beautiful. The morning sounds of the birds and the paradise absolut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Storminfoxridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo C, Propietario at Clandestino Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hello!

Thank you very much for writing a message so detailed! We love seeing our customers become friends with our dogs! Your review is fantastic and we love to see you really have enjoyed your stay in the Clandestino.

Thank you very much for recommending us and for writing such a fabulous review. We really hope to see you back very soon!

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

When we arrived at Clandestino, late at night with two kids in tow, I was disappointed that it was so far from Quepos and Manuel Antonio, where I'd expected to spend a lot of my time. But that turned into the biggest bonus. Clandestino is on the most beautiful beach in Costa Rica--black sand, beautiful ocean, and never more than 10 people on the beach at any given time, unlike the beaches in Quepos and Manuel Antonio which are so crowded you can hardly find a place to put down your towel.

We stayed here 4 days and went into Quepos/Manual Antonio two of the days and basically just wanted to get back to Clandestino as soon as possible. The staff is friendly and accessible, and the rooms are almost more like tropical cabins. The ocean currents are pretty strong, but we had fun boogie boarding and playing in the waves up to about waist deep, then would come to the gorgeous hotel pool for actual swimming (rip current makes it not too safe to go out very far in the Ocean). There re hammocks and grass huts and umbrellas everywhere so you can choose sun or shade, sand or hammock. The mosquitos are bad at sunset and the dining is all al fresco--bring bug spray or ask the bar staff for their natural bug repellent remedy which they mix up themselves and worked better than our Deep Woods Off..

The rooms/cottages are in a mini jungle of your own, with iguanas and geckos everywhere, but no bugs or lizards in the room at all. The bathrooms are beautiful and everything is bamboo and stone. The rooms are scattered with shells that the owner found and candles. It would be very romantic if you didn't have two kids with you like we did! You can hear the ocean waves from your room and are never more than 200 yards from the ocean at any place on the property. The pool and restaurant are maybe 100 yards from the ocean.

The owner, Diana, is on site 10-12 hours a day and lives just behind the hotel--she is available for every need and serves as a concierge. She booked us a really fun white water rafting trip in Quepos and helped my son when he got a very minor injury. Her accessibility and the smallness of the hotel (~12 rooms) and staff makes it almost feel more like a bed and breakfast resort than a huge resort with a dozen waiters at every meal. You will have the same host at breakfast every morning, and Edward is around for dinner every evening, which makes Clandestino feel like a very friendly, casual resort with the perfect blend of casual elegance and luxury. The owner's four dogs are wandering around and are happy to be petted if you want to but won't bother you if you aren't into dogs.

We saw couples and families (we had two kids with us) and all seemed to get along just fine--the couples had enough privacy and quiet but the families didn't feel out of place or worry about being too loud and disturbing people.

I can't wait to come back here. I actually cried when we left. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Here and There Around the World
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

You can't get any closer to the beach than Clandestino! The setting is rustic and simple but quite comfortable. The staff and food are very good -- not 5 Star -- but worth the money. I would recommend this hotel for a couple seeking a very quiet get-away.

Room Tip: Access road is very rough. 4-wheel drive is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamSuggests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo C, Propietario at Clandestino Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hello!

First of all, thank you so much for write your review on TripAdvisor.

Yeah, i think you are right! We are one of the most closer Resort to the beach!
It's very nice to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked the service and food.

Thank you very much.

Hope to see you back very soon!

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

The hotel as a whole is awesome. The location is great because it's basically right on the beach. Sitting in one of the hammocks on the beach is the ultimate way to relax!
Friendly service at the open air restaurant / lounge and very quint, Gilligan island type, beautifully designed rooms. There are only 12 rooms so it's comfortable and very homey feeling.
Only downfall was not being able to flush the toilet paper down the toilet. Other than that I give it an A+!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo C, Propietario at Clandestino Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Hello,

We like reviews like this! Thank you very much to share in tripadvisor your review!

We are delighted that your stay has been fully satisfactory and that everything has been to your liking. Like you say the resort is almost on the beach, and is quite easy to relax...

We are a completely eco-friendly hotel, we can not flush the toilet paper down the toilet.

Thank you again and we hope to see you back soon!

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

This place was a great place for our group to start our Costa Rica vacation. We actually added a day, despite being unable to cancel a day at our next location, after seeing how peaceful and beautiful the hotel and location were.

The rooms were very nice. You're so close to the ocean that you hear the waves from your room, even with the doors closed and the AC running. Food in the restaurant is a bit expensive, but that turned out to be the norm. We had no issues with the purported rip currents. Then again, I lived in S. California and know how to enjoy the ocean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Marie guided us to a place called Rain Maker instead of our planned trip to Manuel Antonio park. This was due to the day of the week (Sunday) and expected crowds. Rain Maker lived up to its name as it poured shortly after we started our hike. The rain didn't dampen our spirits, pun fully intended. We'd definitely stay at Clandestino again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo C, Propietario at Clandestino Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Hello,

Thank you very much for share your review on TripAdvisor!

We are very glad that you liked the locations and the rooms. Like you say we are so close to the beach and is awesome to hear the waves on the rooms...

The RainMaker tour is great! And do it with rain is to feel the true spirit of Costa Rica.

We hope to see you back really soon...

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonthill, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

We loved our stay at Clandestino Beach Resort. It felt like an exotic getaway! Rooms were very comfortable. The pool was lovely. The fresh fruit drinks were a very special treat. We felt very pampered here.

I will say that you have to want to get to Clandestino. After we left the highway, it felt like we were driving for a long time and parts of the drive felt like we were driving through a deserted war zone. Trees were blown down, buildings abandoned, etc. And then, all of sudden, we came to Clandestino and it lived up to what we had seen online.

The owner is very gracious and makes a point to engage with guests. Loved the personal touch!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darlene l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parrita
2.2 mi away
Beso del Viento
Beso del Viento
#1 of 4 in Parrita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cocomar Beachfront Hotel
Cocomar Beachfront Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palo Seco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
11.3 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Vil...
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
9.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
9.7 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clandestino Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clandestino Beach Resort

Property: Clandestino Beach Resort
Address: Este Desde la Entrada a Playa Palo Seco 5 Km | Playa Palo Seco, Parrita 60901, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Parrita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Parrita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clandestino Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clandestino Beach Resort is a Beachfront boutique hotel, located in the Central Pacific region of Costa Rica, on a beautiful and wild beach sprinkled with coconut trees along 10 km of in Palo Seco Beach. The hotel is located at about 20 km from Quepos and 45 km. from Jaco next to the magnificent Manuel Antonio National Park. The highway from San Jose is in very good conditions, leading the guests on a two hour drive through an incredible landscape with several different microclimates and a very diverse flora and fauna. Visitors can enjoy the beauty of the area, the sounds of nature, the tropical breeze, the wildlife and of course also get to know the local culture and people. The hotel has 12 luxury rooms, designed in natural tones and built with local materials such as Teak wood structures, Royal Palm leaf roofs, natural stone bathrooms, and bamboo ceilings, terraces and furniture. We offer you 4 rooms with king size beds and 8 rooms with two queen size beds each (all rooms have TV, Free WIFI, A/C, ceiling fans, hair dryers and hot water). For your safety our hotel has security cameras and night watchmen. The hotel also features a large, turtle-shaped swimming pool facing the ocean, Jacuzzi, a waterfall, and a water mirror for sunbathing, all surrounded by lush gardens, green iguanas, wonderful birds, sloths, funny capuchin monkeys that come to the hotel from the Mangrove. It is in every sense a dream come true. The unique and beautiful restaurant features an ocean view and serves international and local dishes that appease even the most demanding connoisseurs of gourmet cuisine. In the cozy bar you will be able to enjoy a variety of delicious tropical cocktails, play pool and table tennis or just lay back and enjoy your stay. All of this with an exclusive atmosphere and good music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clandestino Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clandestino Beach Resort Costa Rica/Parrita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing