We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice - quiet, special, nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clandestino Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Parrita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This is an excellent hotel, but not flawless. It has a beautiful unique & special setting and a very nice pool (open 24h), with a small artificial waterfall. You cannot swim in the ocean because of the big waves and strong riptides. The food was good (not amazing) but pretty expensive. The service is OK (they don't have a bellboy, consierge or something similar).
The room is nice, with safe, fan and A/C, but seemed smaller than in the pictures. The location should be clear to all - this is some 25-30 minutes from Quepos, half of it on unpaved road. But this is really OK, and should not be considered a minus at all. Au contraire. It's a short drive, but you stay out of the crowd. It feels exclusive...
Oh, it is also close to "Rainmaker" which is great and also closer to Jaco / San Jose than Quepos/Manuel Antonio.
All in all - recommended.

Room Tip: probably should ask for the ones closer to the pool.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lord_Jade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (517)
There are newer reviews for Clandestino Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 517 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014

I really wanted to rate Cladestino a 5 but I couldn't because there are some small issues. Don't get me wrong this place is fantastic! I would stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

The good:

- The rooms are big and the beds are comfortable.
- The bathrooms are modern and attractive with the stone work and rainfall shower.
- The candles in the rooms can make for a romantic night ;)
- Most of the time you're the only one on the beach.
- The bartenders are knowledgeable and friendly.
- Quick drive to Manual Antonio and Jaco.
- The pool is nice and is open 24 hours.

The bad:

- The food and drink prices are high! It was $10-$12 for a margarita! An Imperial beer is $4 that's twice as much as the other bars / restaurants I visited.
- The food was cooked well but vary tasteless. We ordered everything that was recommended to us and were disappointed each time.
- No irons or ice buckets in the rooms. We found out on our second day you can get an ice bucket from the bar. Although there's no ice machine and you can only get ice during bar hours.

Room Tip: Get Room 11 and thank me later. If you're looking for a resort with night life this is not the p...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We just returned from Costa Rica after spending 5 days in the Arenal area and ending with 2 nights at the Clandestino resort. I kept telling my husband this should be a booking.com commercial! After a 15 minute drive down a bumpy road sprinkled with a few abandoned buildings....we arrived at the most BEAUTIFUL secluded hotel and beach! Our room (a double) was very clean with a lovely decor. The restaurant was absolutely wonderful! Fresh, tasty and also reasonably priced! I cannot understand any of the negatives that a few guests have left, other than it was probably not a good fit for them. This is an off-the-beaten-path hotel with great amenities and a wonderful staff. If you are looking for commercialism or a crowded tourist spot, this is not the place for you. I have traveled all over the world and the Clandestino Resort was a real treat! A serene, secluded beach, beautiful pool, a generous & delicious breakfast with lovely tropical grounds. You can order a "made-to-order" breakfast of either: the continental with cheese, beans/rice, or pancakes or omelet. All 3 choices will come with a generous plate of mixed fruits. The pancake order came with 2 large pancakes! We ate our evening meal both nights in the restaurant and found the quality excellent and the portions filling. Yes, there was a dog roaming the grounds but he was extremely well mannered and I never saw him bothering any of the guests. In fact, it is quite common in Costa Rica to see dogs roam freely. There are no phones in the rooms, but it is only a two minute walk to the main reception area. We had something scratching at our door on the first night....it turned out to be a crab! You WILL encounter frogs, crabs & geckos....it is the FUN of this experience! There is also free WIFI which my twin teenagers greatly appreciated! So my only complaint is not having a longer visit at this peaceful retreat.

Room Tip: The resort has 12 cabins, 24 rooms in total. Each cabin shares two units: a king suite and two queen...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We chose Clandestino Beach Resort as the final destination in our 2 week trip to Costa Rica. We figured after 1.5wks of hiking, rafting, zip lining, etc, that this would be a great place to recharge. I don't think we could have picked a better place. First off, as others have said, it's not in the downtown action. Do not expect clubs, lively bar scenes, or spring break hoopla. And that's what makes it so good. This place is beautiful, tranquil, romantic, and secluded. I know others have complained about the road in, but really, that's Costa Rica. It's 10minutes of a bumpy gravel road, no big deal. There are sloths, monkeys, and large iguanas which roam around. There are also three very friendly well mannered canines that wander the property. They are always happy to say hello and sit with you, but are not intrusive and don't come over if not invited.
Our room, was a king size room with ocean view, right in front of the pool. Our room looked exactly like the photos. It was comfortable, spacious, with lots of attention to little details (scattered shells, tea lights, aroma of vanilla & coconut). On our porch we had very comfy hanging swings, and although we were the only pool front room the wispy sheers that hung around our porch allowed us privacy while still seeing what was going on. There are only 12 rooms, so the pool and deck never feel crowded. The beach is only a few steps away, there are hammocks set up on the beach between the palms to relax or watch the gorgeous sun set. The beach is often empty and you could walk for an hour before running into another person.
We honestly did not want to leave. We had plans to do more rafting and hiking while in Parrita, but we never left the hotel. It was that good!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank HarBri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

My three children and I (ages 12 and 13) stayed at Clandestino in February. It was one of the nicest vacations we've ever taken. The setting is breathtaking, the beach serene (but the surf fantastic) and the staff was friendly and polite. My kids and I found the owners to be beyond accommodating -- when my daughters forgot to bring razors and other toiletries, Diane hand-delivered them to our room! My 12 year old son took a jet ski tour of the nearby mangrove swamp led by Diane's adult son, which was totally cool -- he let my son pilot the jet ski, too (he was thrilled!).
Clandestino is definitely off the beaten path, and if nightlife is your thing it's not the place for you. But we had a perfectly awesome trip here. We'll be back!

Room Tip: rooms 11 and 12 are closest to the beach and pool
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

If you like to get away from the hustle and bustle of tourist traps Clandestino Beach Resort is for you.
Getting there will take you down a pretty rough dirt road but at the end of your drive is a beautiful property with: clean comfortable rooms, an upscale restaurant featuring great food, beautiful beaches, stunning sunsets and a wonderful, professional, friendly staff (our favorites were: Edward, Byron and Flo) ready and willing to make sure your stay is comfortable and relaxing.
While the road is a little arduous it is still only 35 to 45 minutes to Quepos where you will find: a hospital, banks, a post office, gift shops, etc.
Clandestino isn’t for everyone but for us it was absolutely perfect.

Room Tip: A couple rooms have ocean views
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Great, very romantic rooms, nestled in the gardens, nothing but a short walk to the restaurant and pool and across the road to the beach.
Pool was perfect, enough beds and nice to have the splashing of the waterfall. The beach was great for walking, and wonderful for watching the sunset over the Pacific - not so great for swimming though with the dark sand making the water less than inviting, and the concern about riptides, but you can enjoy the wonderful view and sound of the ocean from the numerous hammocks in the afternoon.
Food was pretty good at the restaurant, simple options for breakfast and a fairly extensive dinner menu, try the mahi mahi with Dill sauce. Service was friendly.
The hotel is 5kms off the main road from Jaco to Quepos along an unpaved road, which runs along the beach for much of the way. It took about 45 minutes to get to Manuel Antonio, but it was a pleasant and safe drive.

Room Tip: There are only about 12 rooms, so you really cannot go wrong.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miltonred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parrita
2.2 mi away
Beso del Viento
Beso del Viento
#1 of 4 in Parrita
267 reviews
9.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
1.2 mi away
Cocomar Beachfront Hotel
Cocomar Beachfront Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palo Seco
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,265 reviews
9.7 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,581 reviews
11.9 mi away
Encantada Ocean Cottages
Encantada Ocean Cottages
#1 of 5 in Esterillos Este
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clandestino Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clandestino Beach Resort

Address: Este Desde la Entrada a Playa Palo Seco 5 Km | Playa Palo Seco, Parrita 60901, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Parrita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Parrita
Price Range: $113 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clandestino Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clandestino Beach Resort is a Beachfront boutique hotel, located in the Central Pacific region of Costa Rica, on a beautiful and wild beach sprinkled with coconut trees along 10 km of in Palo Seco Beach. The hotel is located at about 20 km from Quepos and 45 km. from Jaco next to the magnificent Manuel Antonio National Park. The highway from San Jose is in very good conditions, leading the guests on a two hour drive through an incredible landscape with several different microclimates and a very diverse flora and fauna. Visitors can enjoy the beauty of the area, the sounds of nature, the tropical breeze, the wildlife and of course also get to know the local culture and people. The hotel has 12 luxury rooms, designed in natural tones and built with local materials such as Teak wood structures, Royal Palm leaf roofs, natural stone bathrooms, and bamboo ceilings, terraces and furniture. We offer you 4 rooms with king size beds and 8 rooms with two queen size beds each (all rooms have TV, Free WIFI, A/C, ceiling fans, hair dryers and hot water). For your safety our hotel has security cameras and night watchmen. The hotel also features a large, turtle-shaped swimming pool facing the ocean, Jacuzzi, a waterfall, and a water mirror for sunbathing, all surrounded by lush gardens, green iguanas, wonderful birds, sloths, funny capuchin monkeys that come to the hotel from the Mangrove. It is in every sense a dream come true. The unique and beautiful restaurant features an ocean view and serves international and local dishes that appease even the most demanding connoisseurs of gourmet cuisine. In the cozy bar you will be able to enjoy a variety of delicious tropical cocktails, play pool and table tennis or just lay back and enjoy your stay. All of this with an exclusive atmosphere and good music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Clandestino Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clandestino Beach Resort Costa Rica/Parrita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing