We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful experience..Not kid friendly and overpriced..not a resort by any means”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clandestino Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Parrita
Certificate of Excellence
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awful experience..Not kid friendly and overpriced..not a resort by any means”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Totally agree with jimmy.

My experience was atrocious. Here is why:

1. Getting there - 8.5 kms of bumpy unpaved road. Note that kms are shorter than miles but with the road conditions and speed limits it takes a lot longer than you'd think. No taxis around so if you are not renting a car you are out of luck. I fell for the hotel based on pics with nice looking patio, sheer drapery, swing etc. It looked perfect place for celebrating our 10th anniversary. When I reached I was very bummed for being in the middle of nowhere and 40 mins away from Manuel Antonio.

2. Restaurant - food wasn't bad but like the previous reviewer said having dogs roam around was just not professional. They were constantly roaming around tables sniffing food. It might be ok with some but not everyone.

Staff was obviously ok with dogs walking around the restaurant but seemed very uncomfortable with my toddlers. Staff would stare at them like they were going to ruin their property.

3. Owner - the owner has no idea what customer service is. Never had courtsey to stop by ask how were doing or just say hi.

This trip was a huge deal for me. I had been planning this for 6 months but she ruined it in seconds. We were in Costa Rica over 10 days but I wanted to stay at Clandestino for my anniversary. The day before anniversary we spent all day at Manuel Antonio national park. When we came back at night I noticed one of the sheer draperies on the patio outside our room was coming off a little bit. They were hung using velcro. Next morning at the breakfast on my anniversary day, the owner pulls me on a corner and I get yelled at about the drape. She blames my kids for pulling it off. I tell her they didn't but she goes on to blaming us and says she can watch everything from her house which is across from our street. How creepy!!! I asked her if she saw my kids pull it. When she had no response she makes a face and just walks away. I leave for the day right after the breakfast and when we come back after lunch with a hope to enjoy the rest of our day, I notice the sheer completely removed from our property. We're we being punished? I go to follow-up and the person at front desk tells me that the owner is a little too particular about her resort and everything but she had no clue why it was removed.

Even if we did accidently pull it off (which we didn't) was it that big of a deal? If it was removed because it had problems, why couldn't it be replaced. We were deprived of the services we paid for and no clarification was ever provided. We lost our privacy and we had to keep the curtains on inside the room because the drapes on patio was removed and the room was pretty much all glass on all sides.

Oh and with the owners house close to our room we could hear dogs bark until late night.

4. Phone - There are no phones in the room. If you need room service you have to walk to the front desk and its very likely you will have to wait outside their front desk which is a "closed door office", where they randomly have staff meetings. There was no courtesy/pay phone on the property either. I had to make an urgent local call so I requested the office to let me make a call. I got a frown was told that the office will close in 10 mins so I should be quick. Note this was at 7 and the night before I checked in at 8:30 and office was open then. I wasn't told about the rates but the at the time of checking out I was charged for the calls. I didn't mind paying but if it's a paid service I shouldn't have been treated with a frown and should have been told about the rates before hand.

5. Others - Not much of room service. Gecos all over the property and inside too.
Breakfast options are not great. I was told we could get breakfast whenever and could order omelets or pancackes. Pancakes got my kids so excited but upon asking we were told they couldn't make them. Pool is ok but sloppy paint job and you you might end up swimming with toads.

Overall I had a terrible terrible experience and Clandestino is definitely not a kid friendly place to stay. We stayed at 3 other hotels in Costa Rica during our trip and were very pleased with service and felt very welcomed but stay at Clandestino was a huge mistake. Also, it is extremely over priced for the facilities and service.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
14 Thank NorthWestTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo C, Propietario at Clandestino Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear guest,

The location is perfectly indicated as much in our web site as in each commentary of our guests. That is one of the reasons why our guests come, they are trying to find a place aware of the noises, pollution and turistic zones. This is the best way to enjoy of the real nature. By your commentaries, we can know that you haven’t travelled around Costa Rica and this is one of the few hotel that you have been; all the good Hotels in Costa Rica are located far of the cities, having roads without asphalt and our road is one of the best roads to arrive to a unique place like that. Yes, there are taxis available.

Yes, also we have dogs, they are trained and 99% of our guests enjoy a lot with them. When the dogs are bothering or when the people is having lunch or dinner we take the dogs back home. The kids normally play a lot with them as your kids also played.

Madam, your are contradicting about all the opinion from the guests. You think that I’m unpleasant, moreover I think that at the moment you arrived at the Hotel you were rude with me and we the rest of the staff; it was a general comentary. When some guests are rude or bad mannered and by this way, your childs also; very very unbred and they don’t know how to take care about the material of the Hotel or bodering the other guests, I have to advice you and explain how to take care about the thinks. The courtains located around the terrace, white and new ones, were pulled down and steped by your unbred son, I saw it when I was coming from my home. You are right, we took the courtain off for take it to the laundry, wash and dry it. I try to have all perfect, as I commented before this is a very quiet Hotel, very nice, with beatiful views and I can’t believe that bad- mannered guests broke the material and the calm that we have in the Hotel.

We don’t have telephones in the rooms and you wouldn’t find another Hotel in front of the beach with telephones on the room; all that has metall oxides and it brokes in few days. It’s impossible to offer this service. In all the Hotels, when you make phone calls, they charge you the call service.

GECKOS, we are in the wild nature, not only Geckos, also we have Iguanas (blue, green, brown...), crabs, monkeys, slots and so many different animals that live around the Hotel; that is one of the nicest reasons to stay here, live with the nature.
The Geckos are friendly animals, they are peaceful and you can be safe because they don’t do anything. Moreover they eat little insects and it’s better for us, less mosquitos. There are ignorant guests that only have been living in cities and they have fear. I advice to this people to go to big Hotel buildings if they don’t want to find Geckos and sure that you can find it also.

We had received in our Hotel a big quantity of kids, good mannered and all of them had enjoyed of the installations and moreover they don’t wan’t to leave. I supose if you had stayed in big hotels all included that they don’t has importance about the noise and I repeat what I said about the bad- mannered, you would have enjoyed a lot, so know you now where you can stay the next time.

Best from paradise.
Diane and Guillermo ( the owners )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    99
    31
    13
    32
See reviews for
151
240
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We were in Clandestino from 8 to 20 January 2014 . We chose this hotel and no mistake ! All we wanted it and got : beautiful nature, beautiful clean ocean , friendly staff, comfortable hotel and great food in the restaurant.
Yes , the hotel is not close to the main highway, but we had a car and had no problem to get somewhere.
The hotel is small and you have no problem , for example, to wait for the waiter and order food.
On an endless beach just you and a few others ))) , and sometimes you alone - it's perfect!
The room is spacious and clean, the beds are comfortable .
Advisable to purchase insect repellent , one evening we were bitten : (
Manuel Antonio in 30-40 min. drive away.
We all liked it , I recommend ....

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My boyfriend and I only spent 3 nights at Clandestino, but we loved every minute of it. The resort is very small but cozy. The staff is fantastic. The rooms are so romantic and the bed was extremely comfortable. The food in the restaurant was excellent. We enjoyed walking up and down the beach, since the rip tides at the beach were strong, we didn't attempt to go swimming but utilized the beautiful pool. The road to Clandestino was a little rough and could have been difficult to find without the directions listed on their website. We had a fantastic time at Clandestino and would highly recommend this resort to anyone. We'd love to go back!

Room Tip: Get a room near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kzim1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We were there for Christmas. It was great. The houses are clean and comfortable; romantic. The lady who owns the place was enthousiastic en nice. Nice personell en food and drinks are good. It's a quiet place off road and very relaxed. Beach is in front of the hotel en nice waves. It's a short drive to Manuel Antonio.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet comfortable place to stay. it's the place to be!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights during the xmas rush - and loved Clandestino. It was away from the crowds and rush of manuel antonio. We would recommend having your own car as it made it easier and cheaper to get to the resort and to other activities and excursions. The rooms were large and clean, the beach is endless (but note: can't swim in because of rip tides), the pool was great, the staff was wonderful and the food was amazing quality. Recommendations to resort: 1) instead of the wooden swings, I would suggest hammocks outside each room, and 2) include other options instead of just tico breakfast in the price because 4 mornings in a row got boring. Recommendations to people booking: Book directly with clandestino - you'll save $$ and make sure you stay a min of 3 nights!

We hope to come back one day!

Room Tip: Go with whatever is cheaper - both double or king room was good value and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lv2travel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, Florida
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Such a beautiful property, rooms are simple and romantic....the staff is kind, friendly and especially Eduard our bartender and amigo! Owner Dianah will make sure your stay is comfortable. The food is excellent, sunsets gorgeous every night! We highly recommend...never leaving Clandestino!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent, we've stayed in many! Breezy romantic open air!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We just returned from a trip to Panama and Costa Rica and our stay at Clandestino was definitely a highlight of our trip. The rooms are very nice and the setting is beautiful. The restaurant is postcard charming and the staff and owner are wonderfully accommodating. We normally stay at five star hotels and while this is not a four seasons, this is more charming and relaxed than the larger hotels. A great stay for exploring Manuel Antonio (about 40 mins away) without the crowds.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bits5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo C, Propietario at Clandestino Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hello

Thank you very much to take your time to write us a review on TripAdvisor.

It's very nice to see that we were the highlight of your trip.

We are very glad that you enjoyed the rooms, the restaurant, and staff.

Thank you again and we hope to see you back very soon.

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parrita
2.2 mi away
Beso del Viento
Beso del Viento
#1 of 4 in Parrita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cocomar Beachfront Hotel
Cocomar Beachfront Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palo Seco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
11.3 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
9.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
9.7 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clandestino Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clandestino Beach Resort

Property: Clandestino Beach Resort
Address: Este Desde la Entrada a Playa Palo Seco 5 Km | Playa Palo Seco, Parrita 60901, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Parrita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Parrita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clandestino Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clandestino Beach Resort is a Beachfront boutique hotel, located in the Central Pacific region of Costa Rica, on a beautiful and wild beach sprinkled with coconut trees along 10 km of in Palo Seco Beach. The hotel is located at about 20 km from Quepos and 45 km. from Jaco next to the magnificent Manuel Antonio National Park. The highway from San Jose is in very good conditions, leading the guests on a two hour drive through an incredible landscape with several different microclimates and a very diverse flora and fauna. Visitors can enjoy the beauty of the area, the sounds of nature, the tropical breeze, the wildlife and of course also get to know the local culture and people. The hotel has 12 luxury rooms, designed in natural tones and built with local materials such as Teak wood structures, Royal Palm leaf roofs, natural stone bathrooms, and bamboo ceilings, terraces and furniture. We offer you 4 rooms with king size beds and 8 rooms with two queen size beds each (all rooms have TV, Free WIFI, A/C, ceiling fans, hair dryers and hot water). For your safety our hotel has security cameras and night watchmen. The hotel also features a large, turtle-shaped swimming pool facing the ocean, Jacuzzi, a waterfall, and a water mirror for sunbathing, all surrounded by lush gardens, green iguanas, wonderful birds, sloths, funny capuchin monkeys that come to the hotel from the Mangrove. It is in every sense a dream come true. The unique and beautiful restaurant features an ocean view and serves international and local dishes that appease even the most demanding connoisseurs of gourmet cuisine. In the cozy bar you will be able to enjoy a variety of delicious tropical cocktails, play pool and table tennis or just lay back and enjoy your stay. All of this with an exclusive atmosphere and good music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clandestino Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clandestino Beach Resort Costa Rica/Parrita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing