We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Quiet and restful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clandestino Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clandestino Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Parrita
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet and restful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

My husband and I traveled with another couple and our goal was to stay at the beach but not at the typical beach spots. The staff and owner were very responsive and friendly. The beach in front of the hotel was deserted and we had it to ourselves. Perfect. Food was good however there is not really any other convenient place to eat. Manuel Antonio was just 40 minutes away and that was so touristy that this was a great getaway. Size of the rooms were ample. Our friends had a leaky air conditioner and it was repaired within the day. We appreciated the attention to detail. It is the beach so was a little laid back.

Room Tip: Perfect spot to go if you want privacy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KProst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    85
    26
    13
    27
See reviews for
134
214
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have spent 3 days in Calndestino just in the middle of February. Our purpose was to stay in a secluded place to rest and Clandestino is exactly this kind of place.
For us it was no problem to drive threw the dirt road neither to find the hotel. Though we took the advice from one o the reviewers of the hotel here in the trip advisor, so we knew that heading from Jacó we would find the indication just after Parrita.
On the site of the hotel the directions may not be clear ( the link to google that was sent to us did not function).
In relation to the accomodation the hotel is nice, has a nice pool area, the rooms have exterior chill out zone where you can read a book and rest.
The main advantage for us was the hammock zone just on the beach in front where we passed most of our tme.
The things we did not enjoy that much were:
breakfast: it is probably the only hotel in the world where you can only have scrammbled eggs and fruit. I asked once for a slice (literally) of cheese for my toast and I was refused....
price of the cocktails: higher than in any other fancy restaurant in Manuel Antonio
food: overpriced for Costa Rica and unfortunately most of the dishes I tried were really not good: risotto ( undercooked), salad: very basic. I also had shrimps and they were ok but nothing extraordinary.
The restaurant is a big problem in Clandestino as really it was for us one of the most expencive to eat and we visited many more hotels in CR and 5* restaurants...
The service in the restaurant is not special, we enjoyed a lot one of the employess ( young girl) but the rest of them were not too kind.

Pool area: we were stunned that the drinks we had in the afternoon were not removed from the pool area until afternoon of the next day. Ashtrays would stay there always usually more than 12 hours. It´s rather strange as the pool area is not big and close to the restaurant. The employees would bring you the drinks but would never take the other glasses back!

Important is to know that in spite of these circumstances we would be back at the hotel because of it´s great secluded location.
If you search to be in a calm and quiet place to read and chill out Clandestino is perfect for you. If you look to go out and have nightlife this is not the place to go.
I wouldn´t advice to families with children as besides the pool there is not much for kids to do.

The beach is not a kind of the beach to swim but we really enjoyed the hammocks and a chill breeze. The location of the hotel is really very nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna_Koltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

This hotel was fantastic! It's quite far down a dirt road, but PERFECT if you don't plan on doing much traveling. It only has 12 rooms, so it's really quiet an peaceful. The rooms were comfortable, the staff was very friendly and a private beach on the Pacific Ocean. I would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamielizabethj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We took our 9 & 10 year old for two nights. The food was great, beaches were nearly vacant, beautiful sunset, rooms very clean, comfortable with special touches like fresh cut flowers and porch swings. The beach is truly a few steps across a dirt road from the pool. There are several hammocks to use. They had everything we needed for a remote, safe, peaceful, vacation. The pictures the resort provides on their website are 100% accurate. If simple pleasures are what you like, this is the place. Paradise!

Room Tip: The beach rooms are around the pool. The back rooms are very secluded. We preferred the rooms towa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laura b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

This place is unbelievable. If I could design the perfect resort for myself, this would be it. You can walk the beach in each direction without seeing another person. The cabins are beautiful and spacious, with great high ceilings, and they feel very secluded surrounded by the gardens. The staff is always friendly and helpful. The food is fresh and delicious. It's really just perfect. There were so many things we wanted to do while in Costa Rica, but we loved the resort so much that we just relaxed there every other day. Great people, great resort, great location. I would live there.

Room Tip: We had the option of switching to an ocean view room after a few days, but we liked our room so much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrXK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Absolutely nothing was wrong. The place is across the road from the beach, backs onto a Mangrove, Excellent furnishings seemingly locally made from bamboo. The individual cabins are beautifully designed with large glass doors to keep you connected to spectacular scenery. Don't step on the iguanas that roam the pathways. And the food! Death by seafood. A shrimp salad is a dish of shrimp with enough vegetables to quality it as a salad. Costa Rica has great food and this was terrific. The staff was friendly, warm and unimposing. Whatever they could do to make the stay better, they did. I have never stayed in a more enjoyable hotel/resort anywhere in the world. This must be how movie stars live but considering the quality of the place, it's very reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emmess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

We loved this hotel! Rooms are large and tastefully furnished with great patio areas. Very clean and no insects. We enjoyed the pool a lot and had some delicious meals in the restaurant. The hotel is right in front of one of the best beaches we visited. Perfect for sunset walks and lazing in hammocks. Playa Palo Seco is an easy 30 minutes drive from Manuel Antonio. Don't bypass this place, it was a highlight of a wonderful holiday. We'll come back here to Clandestino and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parrita
9.9 mi away
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
11.3 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
1.8 mi away
Beso del Viento
Beso del Viento
#2 of 4 in Parrita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cocomar Beachfront Hotel
Cocomar Beachfront Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palo Seco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
9.7 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
11.9 mi away
Encantada Ocean Cottages
Encantada Ocean Cottages
#1 of 5 in Esterillos Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clandestino Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clandestino Beach Resort

Property: Clandestino Beach Resort
Address: 5 Km este desde la entrada a Playa Palo Seco | Playa Palo Seco, Parrita 6000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Parrita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Parrita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clandestino Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clandestino Beach Resort is a Beachfront boutique hotel, located in the Central Pacific region of Costa Rica, on a beautiful and wild beach sprinkled with coconut trees along 10 km of in Palo Seco Beach. The hotel is located at about 20 km from Quepos and 45 km. from Jaco next to the magnificent Manuel Antonio National Park. The highway from San Jose is in very good conditions, leading the guests on a two hour drive through an incredible landscape with several different microclimates and a very diverse flora and fauna. Visitors can enjoy the beauty of the area, the sounds of nature, the tropical breeze, the wildlife and of course also get to know the local culture and people. The hotel has 12 luxury rooms, designed in natural tones and built with local materials such as Teak wood structures, Royal Palm leaf roofs, natural stone bathrooms, and bamboo ceilings, terraces and furniture. We offer you 4 rooms with king size beds and 8 rooms with two queen size beds each (all rooms have TV, Free WIFI, A/C, ceiling fans, hair dryers and hot water). For your safety our hotel has security cameras and night watchmen. The hotel also features a large, turtle-shaped swimming pool facing the ocean, Jacuzzi, a waterfall, and a water mirror for sunbathing, all surrounded by lush gardens, green iguanas, wonderful birds, sloths, funny capuchin monkeys that come to the hotel from the Mangrove. It is in every sense a dream come true. The unique and beautiful restaurant features an ocean view and serves international and local dishes that appease even the most demanding connoisseurs of gourmet cuisine. In the cozy bar you will be able to enjoy a variety of delicious tropical cocktails, play pool and table tennis or just lay back and enjoy your stay. All of this with an exclusive atmosphere and good music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Clandestino Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clandestino Beach Resort Costa Rica/Parrita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing