We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure R&R”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clandestino Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Parrita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We just returned from staying at the Clandestino and are very impressed with our stay! The staff was wonderful and helpful in every way. The rooms are very cozy and clean. The grounds are well kept. The pool was very clean and not over chlorinated. The beach is beautiful with miles of walkable, safe areas. The food was fantastic at the resort and not overly high priced. The bar drinks are expensive but they were ok with us bringing our own wine and beer(we did ask first). We took the mangrove PWC tour with Diana's son and it was really good. The resort is out of the way but that is the charm. Cecila did a fantastic job as well as Steven and Edward. There are lots of things to do within a short drive. Watch out for the hard sell at the car rental facilities. The drive from the airport in San Jose was very interesting and easy to follow. We were also very impressed with the infrastructure services, roads, fire service, etc. We went for R&R and will choose it again for that reason. Bring a tennis ball for Akita(black dog). She goes through a lot of them. Ask Steven for a fresh fish dinner from his fishermen friends. We got a good size red snapper cooked up perfect!
R&JKruzinkyle

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoKruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (529)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 529 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

The drive to Clandestino is a bit of a bumpy one - be careful in anything smaller than an SUV. There are many signs for the resort from the main road so it was easy enough to find.

We approached the pool/bar area in search of the reception area. There was one room with computers in it so we knocked on the glass and were greeted by a very friendly woman (whose name escapes me). To what I know, she speaks Spanish, English and French so it is very easy to communicate with her. She set us up in the bar with complimentary drinks while she went to pre-approve our room. She then showed us around the resort and brought us to our room.

The room was AMAZING! Just as it appears in the pictures. Bamboo beds, white linens, unique looking bathroom, candles, etc. There is air conditioning and fans in each of the rooms. It is hard to get a "bad room" since there aren't many and they're all located close to everything. There is also wireless internet. Due to the remote location of this resort, you aren't allowed to flush toilet paper. This is very understandable but we found it kind of gross because the garbage cans have no lids...if we could change anything, we would have them purchase sealed garbage cans for disposing the toilet paper :)

If you are looking for a quiet getaway, this is the place to be. It is very private, you practically have an entire beach to yourself. We loved sitting in the hammocks on the beach watching the beautiful sunset.

The pool was really clean and well kept. The ocean is so warm it felt like bathwater. The waves can get pretty big but were a lot of fun. They have surfboards and bodyboards to rent. Unfortunately, we had a bad run in with one of the employees who accused us of stealing the boards one morning and was going to charge us. The owner (who greeted us in the beginning) resolved the entire issue and gave us the boards the following day for free. I was thankful to have her around because the other woman was dreadful.

The owners son guides the mangrove tour and he was very kind and informative about the area. This resort/mangrove tour are both appropriate for couples or families.

We had one day of rain and the power went out for a few hours. The restaurant/bar near the pool has generators so we weren't left sitting in the dark.

Room Tip: We had room 31
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KSAKMississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed at Clandestino with my daughter and a friend last weekend and had a fabulous time. The staff was very accommodating - served us dinner when we arrived late, even though the restaurant was closed. It was exactly what we were looking for in terms of relaxing, beautiful setting and choice of things to do. Would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liz597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

It is already almost a year ago we decided (on the last moment) to come to Costa Rica with our 2 teenager daughters. Well, we did not regret it for a moment (except the poor quality of the flight Iberia - Miseria...). And one of the highlights of our trip was the stay in Clandestino Beach! We stayed here for 4 nights and we still speak about this small paradise( and believe me, we were in more than 40 countries). If I read this stupid comment of lilmissoyl (2 comments down) who definitely did not make good reseacrh for her-his stay, based on an impression of a beach.... This made me put my comment (still after some months because it is worth it). If you are spoiled-type, big resorts, very luxurious, 5* ressort-styles...;don't come here then! You won't like it!! Here is nature, lost beaches, small lodge-type bungalows, good food, but not the great amounts of choices, no fences, dogs you can play with, hammocks.... this type of holiday...
As we travel with a wheelchair, this location was very accessible! If we had a comment it was on the mangrove-boat trip we did very close to the resort .... quite expensive and not much to see...maybe we are too spoiled already, maybe not much luck but this was a bit lost of money....
look at the pictures...if you like it...go....
O yes, you better have a car!! We went also to Manuel Antonio...it was on a sunday...terrible: tourists, busses, crowds of people....hot....good for 1 hour...then back to the silence and nature...

Room Tip: we had the 2 rooms -connected- and just at the pool! lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ily-wheelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My Girlfriend and I stayed at the hotel 2 nights last week and had a great experince. Booked for 1 night and stayed 2 .
Friendly staff and relaxing atmosphere.
Very clean and comfortable rooms, Hot water, Ac.Reasonable priced for what you get.
Nice pool and delicious restaurant.
Beautiful secluded rock free beach steps away across the very lightly used road.
This hotel is for relaxing and peace and quiet. If you are looking to party this is probably not the spot for you.
It is isolated and really nothing around to do except relax. If you want to go to the city of parrita(10 minutes) or Manual Antonio/Quepos (30 minutes) you can find more excitment but not more relaxation.
I would have given it 5 stars but I would have liked a few more TV channels than just the 5 local channels and even though I love dogs they were a little smelly after being in the water etc all day.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I booked a four-night stay to Clandestino based on several excellent TripAdvisor reviews (which I'm starting to believe they are falsified).
Location: The "5 km drive" down palo seco rd turns out to be a 20 minute drive on a dirt road through a very poor town with garbage in the streets, then down a long stretch of abandoned resorts. At first glance, we thought it was a black sand beach, but it turned out to be dirt cultivated into the sand making it look grungy. It matched the half-fast job done on the landscaping, which matched the dirty brown sand. It was certainly not one of Costa Rica's finest beaches.
Layout: I never even thought about the layout of a resort would irritate me, but this certainly did. As we drove into the resort, we could not find the reception desk. We actually stopped and asked someone where it was. Their "best room" was literally a few steps away from the resort pool where other guests could easily see into our room from two angles unless all the blinds were completely shut.
Rooms: Just ok. Beds were on the firm side. Bathroom was clean. Only 4 tv channels all local and in Spanish. They did have a little dvr box with movies... all in Spanish. No bueno.
Food: We were starved and stayed for lunch which was great! I have nothing but compliments about the food.
Staff: quiet, but friendly for the most part. The owner is an unpleasant French woman. (Side-story: the resort was not what we expected so we decided to stay at another hotel in Manuel Antonio so when we checked out early, we had to deal with this piece of work. She stated we did not appreciate the natural beauty and also said we would not like it down in MA. Not once did she smile or even offer to make our situation better *customer service 101* and she said when we come back that night we can have the same room. Just what I wanted... the same room we were running away from.) No wonder the staff was quiet!!
Conclusions: There are much better options. I would never even consider staying in Parrita after that experience. Also, the 25 minute ride to Manuel Antonio is bogus. It took us a good hour to get there and we are so thankful because MA is beautiful. Dogs... there are a lot for said security. TripAdvisor let me down. There is no way that hotel earned that high of a rating. Avoid.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank lilmissoyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia T, Director Comercial at Clandestino Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your review. The bad reviews are as important as the good reviews. You can be more than sure that all the good reviews are true, you can check it on the photos that our guests have taken during their vacations.
You probably did not do proper research before coming to Costa Rica, it is normal to see poverty in every country in Latin America, much more if you choose to visit a nature tourism destination.
Throughout Costa Rica roads need maintenance, so you also didnt nvestigated the conditions available for travelers. The road to get to Palo Seco beach has good conditions compared to other streets in other areas, where only 4x4 vehicles can circulate.
We were very surprise that you thought that the sand is cultivated, it is very hard to believe that 12 km of beach, with a river on one side and an Estuary on the other side, is a fake beach. Playa Palo Seco is one of the most beautiful and wild beaches of Costa Rica, you can check the photos that our guests have taken.
We are sorry that you did not find what you were looking for, it is impossible to give a refund for a cancellation on the same day, this represents a loss to the hotel and we can not take responsibility for the wrong decision and the lack of research before coming here.

We did give you one of your best rooms available, ocean view, king bed, excellent ventilation and light. You can check the pictures of our guests, you can easily notice that they were to their liking.
The time it takes to get to Manuel Antonio depends on how you drive, we never lie to our guests, we always say we are close to Manuel Antonio but while we are not in the same hotel zone, this hotel is for people that really appreciate the calm and peace of staying at an exotic and wild beach while enjoying all the amenities and comfort.

Tripadvisor verifies and analyzes each of one of the comments, so you can be more than sure that none of our reviews are false.

Too bad you did not give us the opportunity to show the natural beauty of Palo Seco beach, the mangrove tour in jet ski or boat and a great beach for long walks and unforgettable sunsets.
It is impossible to determine the quality of the bed without sleeping on it, the quality of the facility itself in just 1 hour. We do have documentaries and TV series in english, you probably didnt know how to use this type of hard drive, you could ask.

The quality of the restaurant food reflects our professionalism and quality.

Pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We were supposed to stay one night and finally stayed until our departure back to Europe.
An amazing place, location is great if you are looking for tranquility.
Rooms are well decorated and confortable. It is a quite place with only 12 rooms and this is waht we really appreciated.
The beach is wonderful and reminded me French Polynesia. It is quite rare to find a premium BEACHFRONT hotel in the region.
The owner and her son were very kind and attentive to all our desires, proposing places to visit around. I appreciated their availability
The JET SKI trip in the mangrove is unforgettable. ANd the rainmaker forest is a place to go.
Only 1/2 hour drive to Manuel Antonio it is the best place to be in the region, Manuel Antonio being definitly to much crowded with visitors.

We will go back for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sophie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parrita
2.2 mi away
Beso del Viento
Beso del Viento
#1 of 4 in Parrita
278 reviews
9.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
1.2 mi away
Cocomar Beachfront Hotel
Cocomar Beachfront Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palo Seco
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
459 reviews
10.3 mi away
Si Como No Resort & Wildlife Refuge
9.9 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clandestino Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clandestino Beach Resort

Address: Este Desde la Entrada a Playa Palo Seco 5 Km | Playa Palo Seco, Parrita 60901, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Parrita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Parrita
Price Range: $135 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clandestino Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clandestino Beach Resort is a Beachfront boutique hotel, located in the Central Pacific region of Costa Rica, on a beautiful and wild beach sprinkled with coconut trees along 10 km of in Palo Seco Beach. The hotel is located at about 20 km from Quepos and 45 km. from Jaco next to the magnificent Manuel Antonio National Park. The highway from San Jose is in very good conditions, leading the guests on a two hour drive through an incredible landscape with several different microclimates and a very diverse flora and fauna. Visitors can enjoy the beauty of the area, the sounds of nature, the tropical breeze, the wildlife and of course also get to know the local culture and people. The hotel has 12 luxury rooms, designed in natural tones and built with local materials such as Teak wood structures, Royal Palm leaf roofs, natural stone bathrooms, and bamboo ceilings, terraces and furniture. We offer you 4 rooms with king size beds and 8 rooms with two queen size beds each (all rooms have TV, Free WIFI, A/C, ceiling fans, hair dryers and hot water). For your safety our hotel has security cameras and night watchmen. The hotel also features a large, turtle-shaped swimming pool facing the ocean, Jacuzzi, a waterfall, and a water mirror for sunbathing, all surrounded by lush gardens, green iguanas, wonderful birds, sloths, funny capuchin monkeys that come to the hotel from the Mangrove. It is in every sense a dream come true. The unique and beautiful restaurant features an ocean view and serves international and local dishes that appease even the most demanding connoisseurs of gourmet cuisine. In the cozy bar you will be able to enjoy a variety of delicious tropical cocktails, play pool and table tennis or just lay back and enjoy your stay. All of this with an exclusive atmosphere and good music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Clandestino Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clandestino Beach Resort Costa Rica/Parrita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing