We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Special place if you have the chance GO!”
Review of Rainmaker Park

Rainmaker Park
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Parrita
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a Special place if you have the chance GO!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This place is well worth the visit! Easy hike, beautiful scenery, lots of fun hanging bridges and really pretty falls! Can't go wrong with all those combinations! We didn't take a guide since we had just come from M.A. So of course didn't see what you would with a guide, but did see the poisonious dart frog and a snake marked on one of the trails and lots of lizards! Not crowded and the beer is Great, it's a Must as well!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lisasouza1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    84
    23
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, CA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best time we had in Manuel Antonio”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This attraction should not be missed. Do hire a naturalist though or you'll miss out. We went with our children 10, 5 and 3. All three were so enthralled they forgot to whine about how difficult and long the hike was for them. It is by no means a breeze to walk the path but it is definitely worth it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Azarmeen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great time in the rainforest”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have a car, so decided to find Rainmaker on our own....13 km north of Quepos (just past all the palm orchards as you drive up, sign on right), then 7 km on an unpaved road...very doable in our Nissan, just watch for potholes. Our guide Luis was terrific: he studied for a year to be certified as a nature guide and really knew his stuff....pointed out poison dart frogs, vipers, Jesus Christ lizards we would have missed on our own, as well as a number of plants. Lots of photo ops, and our son loved a dip in a beautiful pool. Definitely recommend the delicious "typical Costa Rican" lunch available there, a bargain for $5, wonderful star fruit juice to drink. GO!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieBax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Indiana Jones bridges, count me in.”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We went here twice, because we were staying in MA for 8 wks of Spanish classes. You will probably need something with 4WD to drive here, but the drive is a little out of the way and nice. Both times we were nearly the only people here. The hike takes about an hour and a half if you don't stop for any length of time, so we were able to go after class one day and still have plenty of daylight and time to swim. The first time we went it started raining, and it was sort of magical to be in the rainforest and hike. So don't not go because of a rainy day- though the rain made it impossible to get in the pools of the waterfalls. But it is really pretty here and the bridges are a lot of fun either way. We didn't see much wildlife, but that was ok for us (living in MA is like living in a zoo). It was especially nice for me, as I am terrified of snakes and we didn't see any either visit. (But apparently it is pretty common to see them here). We did see poison dart frogs both times, which are very cool. I was glad to have the walking stick that was offered. And bring a change of dry clothes and shoes, because they have a shelter with restrooms. You will be glad to be dry on the ride back. Overall, we had a lot of fun, and it absolutely worth going a little bit out of your way to visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kledingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Rainforest Adventure”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Rainmaker was one of the highlights of our travels to Costa Rica. Since it is off the beaten path, you may find you have the entire place to yourself, as we did. The trails and grounds were very well maintained and bridges well constructed. The waterfalls and pools made for good photos and a place to relax. The staff was very friendly and even pulled some snakes out next to the pond to show the kids (and let them hold them as well).

I highly recommend spending a few hours at Rainmaker if you are in the Quepos area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BPlant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainmaker Park also viewed

Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Parrita, Province of Puntarenas
 
Parrita, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Rainmaker Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing