We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“nice place to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rainmaker Park

Rainmaker Park
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Parrita
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Montréal
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

it was a nice place to visit. The guide was very friendly and the extra charge for a guide is a must, especially if your not from the country! For only 5$ we ate a good meal with a drink. We swam in a casacade and it was so refreshing because it was a humid day. It was not crowdy so we had enough time to take the ride easy and enjoy every minute of our walk. It cost 30$ u.s. (entrance fee, guide and the lunch) and it's affordable. I recommand it strongly!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank djeg72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    56
    14
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Triangle Area, N.C.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Waterfalls!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

half the adventure was getting there, but the long dirt roads do finally come to an end and you'll feel like you've arrived in paradise. The hike to the suspension bridges definitely gives you a work out (and makes you feel like you're in an Indiana Jones movie), and makes the cool waterfall swimming holes that much better after you've worked up a sweat! You can skip the uphill part and just go to the swimming holes though if you want. We went in the afternoon on a Sunday and hardly saw anyone along the trail. Great place to pack a lunch and stay for the day splashing in the waterfalls.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank chnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If You Have Extra Time To Kill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We went here on a whim. It's a good drive off the main road into the hills. There wasn't anyone else there when we arrived (early December, not yet peak season) but were quickly greeted by one of the staff. He showed us a map and said that we'd have no problem making the hike in an hour (it was already close to 5pm and we were worried about getting stuck out there in the dark). He made sure to let us know that the trails are walked daily and dangerous snakes are clearly marked with bright orange signs. The trails were pretty muddy and the suspension bridges were quite and adventure (wooden and seemed a little older). It was a decent experience and easily hiked without a guide. I wouldn't go out of my way to visit here but it is a nice place to visit if you have the time.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Worth visiting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Not knowing much what to expect we took the 7km dirt road leading to Rainmakers. On site, Luis, the only guide there, kindly explained what there was to do so we decided to make the approx. 2h guided walk in the jungle with him. The trail is well maintained, with rope bridges, waterfalls, even a place where we could swim. We could have walked the trail by ourselves but were glad to be guided by Luis otherwise we would have missed most of the interesting things to see. We saw bats, snakes, morpho butterflies, etc. Luis was very knowledgeable and spoke Spanish slowly so we could practice. We also had lunch on site, not expensive and one of the best typical meal we had on our 2 weeks trip. We would definitely do it again!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert98-Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The last activity of our 8 day (first time) trip to Costa Rica was Rainmaker and it was a perfect way to close out the trip. The views are just spectacular, and it was not too crowded. Waterfalls rainforest, hanging bridges, beautiful, lush surroundings. Definitely worth the trip up the road.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffcar8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainmaker Park also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Parrita, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Rainmaker Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing