We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Such a cool place, worth 2x the money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rainmaker Park

Rainmaker Park
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Parrita
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Such a cool place, worth 2x the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

There are a lot of outdoor options around Quepos and Manuel Antonio, and it can be hard to differentiate if you dont have friends there or know the area. As far as activities are concerned, this is probably the cheapest entry price for what you get, and its unique in that you can walk and explore the trails and bridges at your own pace, for as long as you want, and cool off in the nice swimming holes as well. Its adventure, relaxation, appreciation, all wrapped up in one. Definitely a must, well worth the cab fare and the entry fee.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Capital0st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    57
    14
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great hike, scenery, and waterfall.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I am just going to warn you that when you get off the main road it is dirt and bumpy (we just laughed the whole time). The park is worth the drive. We saw less than ten people the whole time we were there. The hike is pleasant. The bridges are fun to walk over and the swim at the base of the waterfall was refreshing (bring towels and a change of clothes). We made the hike so we hit the waterfall towards the end. Would recommend getting there early - we had rain (didn't bother us though). Might have a better chance seeing more wildlife.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank mmettravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A rainforest all to yourself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We did the self guided walk by day with our teenage children who loved the bridges and platforms in the trees, we saw lots of wildlife and were really pleased to see a 'poison dart frog'. We only met one other group of people there near the end, so had the place to ourselves. You need decent footwear as the paths and bridges are tricky in places, the walk took us about 2 hours in all, as we didn't go into the waterfall pools. We waited around and had the guided nightwalk also, which was a great experience. We saw loads of things you never see by day and we were so lucky as we saw 2 types of the 'red eyed tree frog' one of them jumped onto our daughters coat!. Great value and well worth the drive from Manuel Antonio.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AR-247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to see animals and swim in the waterfalls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Don't forget to get a guide, if not you won't see animals! You can see snakes and frogs! Take a bath in the waterfalls, its a great experience!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Canaleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Fantastic Park! Affordable, self-guided tour that included canopy bridges, waterfall, swimming, and beautiful wildlife and scenery. We didn't have a guide and were still able to spot many butterflies, frogs, snakes, lizards, and other insects. The bridges were awesome! The waterfall was beautiful and swimming beneath it was refreshing in the Costa Rican humidity. We basically had the park to ourselves and were able to take our time exploring along the trail. Great experience and highly recommended!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainmaker Park also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Parrita, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Rainmaker Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing