We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Beso del Viento(Parrita)(Great Value!)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Tranquilidad(Parrita)(Great Value!)
$100
$90
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel La Isla(Parrita)
$110
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Delfin Playa Bejuco(Playa Bejuco)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Playa Bejuco(Esterillos Este)(Great Value!)
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from these sites
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from these sites
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveler rating
38
15
3
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
15
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanuel antonionaturejungleparadisebeaches
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 57 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2015 via mobile

The only reason why my review is not a 5-star one is because of the hotel's location. There's a log dirt road to get from Parrita to the hotel.

Aside from that, everything was great inside the hotel. You're welcomed by friendly staff, room was clean with A/C, the restaurant in te hotel is a bit pricey but it is delicious. I needed a special dessert for the first night and called them a couple of days before my arrival and they were able to set it up.

You can walk long distances with trails that will lead you to a waterfall. Different animals in the reserve to see.

If you love nature, this is a nice place to stay!

Stayed: July 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank dan99_CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2015

Beware of your stay at the Hotel Paraiso Carlisa, it is in the middle of no mans land with the Boa snakes running free as well as the flying ants in your room. When you inform the management, their solution is to sweep the room and go for a walk, just for them to return again and again. The animals are suppose to be in rehab, however they are not and never released back to their home place no matter what condition they are in as well as not being feed with the right food. If you like a since of adventure this maybe the place for you being that it is out in the middle of no man's land. There is a very small waterfall about 3km tall, that is a short hike form the main road. They do have horses however they are in extremely poor condition and you cannot ride any of them. They do have a spa which they never have anyone to work it.
The menu is lacking in so many ways and you are obligated to eat whatever they have to serve for the day. This is no paradise, honeymoon or even a family place, if you stay more than a night, it is to long.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GLandman2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2015 via mobile

As the latest review is from last year I felt like writing about this hotel. It is a special place to stay for a couple of nights.
We booked this hotel because most other hotels in the area of Manuel Antonio were fully booked. It takes approximately 1,5 hour drive to Quepos to enter Manuel Antionio National Parc. The hotel has a animal shelter and is surrounded by the beautiful rainforest. You can do a mini hike through the rainforest around the hotel, which is great! You see lots of animals, captured for their recovery. (Cayman, sloth, monkeys and they have a butterfly garden too).
The rooms/cabins are spacious but a bit outdated.
As the place is very isolated -it takes a 45 minute drive on a dirt road before reaching the hotel- they serve a (3 course) plain dinner for 15 dollar. Breakfast is included.

The service could be much better. We got very poor information at our arrival. We had to find out ourself breakfast time, what the hotel is doing for the anmials. We didn't get any information about tours they offer, etc. Quite essential information I would say.
Don't expect a cool jump in the pool. The pool wasn't cleaned for ages and looked very dirty.
It's a beautiful place but they can definitely make more out of it when they give more genuine attention to their guests. Nevertheless I reccommended the place if you feel like being surrounded by nature.

Stayed: February 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Myrlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

This very nice hotel which has had better days. It used to be a Best Western. You see how things could have been. Still very nice but ..... The roads on the grounds are slippery. The walk paths are almost gone and overgrown. The service by Tatiana was superb. Food was excellent. In the days it gets very hot and humid. The waterfall tour can be done. But be warned. This is a steep and slippery downhill adventure. You will need to get back on top which will leave you exhausted. Better only to do this is you are !very! fit. Or just do go all the way down and look at the amazing waterfall from halfway the trail.
Animals everywhere. Toucanettes, monkeys, birds.
PS do not take the road from the north. It will takes a long time. (We drove from San Gerardo de Dota in about 5,5 hours through the hills)
TV in room. No wifi in room but near reception.
If you want to use the fridge, leave the keycard in the electricity lock.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank C0en
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We knew we would love our stay at Hotel Paraiso Carlisa from the moment we walked into reception. It took us only an hour to book an extra night even though we were under a little bit of end of holiday time pressure. It was the perfect end to our 3 week stay in Costa Rica - I could not fault it at all. The staff were very attentive and caring - I am not sure but it had the feel of a family run business. Also, at night we discovered the movie room (just behind reception) where you could select from a wide range of movies and enjoy on a massive screen. No problem in getting an amber nectar of the gods also when chilling out watching films :)


Tip - if driving, do not be put off by the little windy, dirt road trek to get here - it is well worth it when you arrive. We drove in a small sedan no problems but a 4WD would make it much easier.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ColinForker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews