We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beso del Viento
Nearby Hotels
Hotel La Isla(Parrita)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel La Tranquilidad(Parrita)(Great Value!)
$100
$90
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
$88
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Delfin Playa Bejuco(Playa Bejuco)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Playa Bejuco(Esterillos Este)(Great Value!)
$128
$85
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa(Esterillos Este)(Great Value!)
$173
$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from these sites
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveler rating
228
59
8
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
228
59
8
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrench cheffrench couplecontinental breakfastsmall hoteldon t misssecluded beachcosta ricawarm hostsdinner preparedan excellent cookwell oiled machinemanuel antoniocomfortable bednice swimming poolcharming placedirt roadgreat hosts
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 302 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Absolutely paradise if you are seeking privacy, attentive host and hostess, great french cuisine, and a beautiful location. Always clean guest house and rooms, very well kept grounds, friendly and attentive staff - all make for an awesome getaway. Thank you Bernard and Elisabeth for the most memorable and fabulous week! We really will miss you all and your beautiful beaches! Pats to Lola and Max too and please give the monkeys a papaya for us:) Looking forward to coming again soon:))

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicoleMBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This place is very unique and I will definitely return to spend more days at such a peaceful setting. The owners are very helpful and friendly adding a french flair to this little boutique hotel. Very recommend to try out the gourmet dinners. True romance.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetraK74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The location felt a bit strange and remote, even if it is only maybe 10 minutes from Parrita. The hotel setting is nice, the pool is small but nice and refreshing, the beach located right in front, across the dirt road is nice and deserted. The room is small, very basic, no TV which was fine with us, no WiFi in the room and the toilet is located in some kind of small closet. The room was sparkling clean though. I've never been able to get the A/C to work properly. We had dinner on site, no menu, only 1 choice. We had grilled fish, which was very good, served with a bowl of cauliflower puree au gratin directly coming out of the oven...something you would serve after a day playing outside in the cold!...so everybody ended up sweating...luckily there were a few fans to help. Dessert was good. 27$ per person was definitely overpriced. Dinner was good but not the overwhelming experience described in other reviews, certainly not in the top 10 we had in Costa Rica. Included breakfast was okay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robert98-Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
besodelviento, Propriétaire at Beso del Viento, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thank you so much for having taken the time to write about our 12-room hotel in Isla Palo Seco in Costa Rica. We are delighted to learn that on your recent visit you found our beach to be beautiful and our rooms clean and tidy; also, we are glad to know that you enjoyed the fish and the dessert at dinner but found that the gratin was much too hot when brought to your table - we apologize profusely and beg you to take our word for it: a cold gratin is not something you would have enjoyed at all!
.
We are also sorry that you thought your 247.5 square feet room to be small - we don´t see it as such but perhaps this is due to the different view we, coming from Europe, have about room sizes. Regarding the problems you experienced with the A/C, should you have made us aware of them we would have gladly helped - sometimes it only requires a resetting of the remote control. We had the A/C unit checked after your departure since we do it as a matter of routine, and found no problem with it.

Being our country a tropical one and the Central Pacific Coast very hot and humid during this time of the year, yes, it is sometimes uncomfortable as should be expected. It is true that the road that traverses Palo Seco is like a dust bowl, what with loose pebbles the breeze and the sand, but ... dirty? Maybe the palm tree leaves that fall down daily? Other guests think that the road as it is forces vehicles to slow down and they prefer this in comparison with a NASCAR 7-kilometer road. It is always interesting and educational for us to hear about the views of our guests and we appreciate your mentioning this.

Perhaps you also experienced, as it happens to all of us in this area, that signals for the WiFi and the celular phones are elusive. Sometimes cell phones get a signal on the second-floor rooms, other times not. With the WiFi, it is no different and that is why we clearly indicate that you can only get it in the common areas of the hotel in order to better manage expectations.

Regarding your comments on the restaurant, I find it surprising. Our clients have been consistently pleased with what we serve, because we always use the best and freshest ingredients that we can find daily (and that's why we don't have a "menu") and have manifested that the quality and the price are excellent.

Thanks again for writing about our hotel and restaurant. We wish you a very prosperous year 2013!

Elisabeth Gallea
Owner of the "Beso del Viento" hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

You need to be willing to be a little bit out of the way. This is not a mega resort with tons of activities. It is small, unpretentious, with simple but spotlessly clean rooms. But oh my, the food is something else. Bernarde cooks every night and you may choose to eat dinner there or not. I urge you to take advantage of his masterful French cooking. A main course with a vegetable side and an absolutely amazing dessert for a very modest price.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank goldenretreat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My partner and I left our stress-filled jobs and spent a week at this hotel over the Christmas, 2012 holiday. We wanted to stay in Manuel Antonio but couldn't find reasonably priced lodging. Beso del Viento was a great alternative for us just 30 minutes from Manuel Antonio. With our rental car and a GPS, we found the hotel within 30-45 minutes of a number of interesting sights and destinations.

This small, family run hotel is situated on an island just across a lightly used dirt road from what must be one of the world's last stretches of undeveloped beach. Not a soul on the beach for ten miles in either direction! We were warned that the surf was strong, but several guests - including a family with two young boys - spent time riding the waves and enjoying themselves. Mangroves fill the side of the island facing land resulting in us seeing a variety of interesting and entertaining wildlife. One morning we were visited by a family of white faced monkeys who swooped into the garden above us in a dramatic fashion, then spent twenty minutes or so scolding us before moving on. On the banks of the nearby Parrita river, crocodiles sun themselves, sloths ease their way down to the water's edge for a drink, and birds of every sort and temperament strut about.

The hotel consists of two buildings set in an attractive and well maintained tropical garden. The rooms are simple and kept spotless. We had two beds in our room. Our mattresses were firm and comfortable. No phones or televisions in the rooms, however, free wi-fi was available when we needed to check in with work. Guests typically brought their iPads and phones to the pool or verandah in the mornings and caught up with civilization over coffee and the continental breakfast that is served each morning. We found the pool an attractive and pleasant place to relax or take a dip after a long day of exploring the the sights. The water temperature of the pool was perfect.

Elisabeth and Bernard, aided by several workers, run a tight ship. They rarely stopped moving during the mornings. Lola the german shepherd and Max, the slinky black cat patrol the grounds and occasionally check in with the guests. Bernard and Elisabeth were always on hand to answer questions, provide suggestions, and if you were so inclined, a pleasant chat. They were never intrusive, however.

While we were there, the guests included several Canadians, French-Canadians - (Canada essentially invades Central America during the winter months it appears) - Europeans and of course a couple of Americans such as my partner and I. All pleasant and interesting persons.

As everyone else has stated, the star of the show is Bernard and his fabulous dinners. We were told each morning what he intended on cooking that evening. The "restaurant" itself is simple and unassuming -- I suppose we could have dined on the verandah had we asked. Elisabeth's announcements of the night's dinner were hilariously underplayed -- "red meat" meant filet mignon, "fish" meant freshly caught sea bass, and the "dessert" was always something decadent and dazzling. A french woman at the table in back of us gasped when a dessert was presented one evening - apparently a famous french treat consisting of eggs, cream and a bit of liquor topping a home made almond paste with tropical fruit on top of it all and the plate sizzled under a broiler for a moment. It was orgasmic - that's all I can say - I'm still dreaming about it. After returning to San Jose we chatted with a gentleman who knew of Elisabeth's and Bernard's hotel. He said they are quite famous in the area - and justly so.

The town of Parrita has a number of stores and some excellent restaurants that cater to the local population. A great choice for a reasonably priced lunch or dinner with a local vibe. I lost my phone charger and found a replacement in a tiny electronics shop.

If you want to escape and unwind, yet keep a toe hold on civilization via the internet, this is the spot for you.

We rented a car and GPS in San Jose and had no problems driving about the countryside. I recommend the GPS.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlbertTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews