We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous place to spend your time in transit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Bangkok Suvarnabhumi Airport
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Bang Phli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2014

A fabulous place to spend your time in transit, not your average airport hotel!

We visited the Novotel twice during our holiday. Our first stay was overnight as we arrived late and were getting an early morning flight out to Koh Samui. From the moment we arrived at the airport we were impressed with this hotel. The complimentary shuttle bus was waiting for us as we came out of gate 4, level 2. It didn’t wait for any more passengers, we just swiftly departed. Although the hotel is directly across from the airport, the shuttle takes a quick 5 minutes as it has to do some loops due to the layout of the road. If you do not want to catch the shuttle, there is also an underground air conditioned tunnel that you can walk from the airport to the hotel.

Once we arrived we were pleased with check in. We didn’t have to wait and the whole process was very quick and efficient. When you walk in the entrance the whole of the ground floor is a well appointed atrium with several restaurants and bars along each side and trees and seating in the middle. There is lots of glass and it feels airy and light.

Our superior room was in the second tower on the fifth floor. It was a clean, modern well sized room. The King Bed was comfortable. There were tea and coffee making facilities. Pay for view movies were also available. The bathroom was large with a separate bath and shower. We had free Wi Fi as we have an Accor loyalty card. The sound proofing was excellent, we didn’t hear any noise and you would never guess the airport is so close, good sleep quality.

We were impressed with all of the food options that seem to be available all of the time. Several restaurants in the entrance atrium serve food until 10:30pm or else there is room service available 24 hours. Arriving later in the evening this was welcome as we were able to order a meal or something lighter which we opted for. Buffet breakfast was included in our package and was very good. There was an extensive choice of both western and Asian options. Good selection of cold and hot dishes, including an egg station which makes eggs to your preference. The same restaurant that serves buffet breakfast, The Square, also has buffet lunches and dinners as well as offering a la carte menu throughout the day and evening.

Our second visit was on our return. We did not stay the night but took advantage of a day rate as we wanted to spend our time at the hotel rather than the airport. It was a great decision and a good way to spend 6 hours. We were able to use the outdoor pool which is a great size, also has a swim up bar and lots of outdoor seating. Our room was a superior room in the first tower on the fifth floor. This tower also featured a lovely outdoor Thai garden which was nice to walk around and great to be outside amongst trees rather than inside airport. We also took advantage of the restaurants and had a lovely meal before our flight. Again we utilised the complimentary shuttle to get to and from the airport.

Would definitely recommend it as a place to spend time in transit, for any long stopovers not just overnight. They also have flexi time so you can check in any time and get to depart 24 hours later.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andreaandsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,019)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,152 - 2,158 of 6,019 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

The hotel was superbly clean and very conveniently located from the airport. Very efficient check-in/out. Comfortable room. Perfect for airport transit. Tried to think of bad things but I can't seem to fault this place!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJ F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

On our vacation to Khao Lak we arrived at BKK in the morning from Amsterdam. As we did not wanted to wait another 3 hours to get the next Bangkok Airways/Air Asia flight to Phuket (and too drive from there another hour up to Khao Lak, like we did it in the years before) we decided this year to spend the first vacation night at the airport. Getting some sleep, relax and to continue the journey next morning with a 10am flight that will bring us to Phuket by 11 am and to the hotel by about 12.30pm.

After some reviews of properties listed around BKK, we found that the Novotel is the only hotel that is directly at the airport. All others need a shuttle/taxi to get there. On arrival we did the mistake to ask for the Novotel. We were directed to door number 4 on level 2. There we were greeted and had to wait for the next shuttle. After it arrived after another 10 minutes, we had to load our laggage, board with all the other guests and started for a 10 min. tour around the airport. At this time I started wondering if the hotel is realy at the airport. But in order to get there, the driver needs to go around and around. Than we arrived, had to tip again, everyone was rushing to the check-in and as our luggage was last out, we had to wait again (plus to tip again). What I learned from this is the following:
1. Dont use the shuttle. If you have reasonable luggage, take it towards the train station on level B. There you will start seeing signs to the "Airport Hotel", which is the Novotel. Walk the tunnel for about 5 minutes (with A/C), take the elevator (or the ramp) up and you are standing about 10 meters away from the backside entrance to the hotel. From there you only have 10m to walk through open air (shaded walk) and you are inside the hotel.
2. If you have booked an executive room (which I would recommend), dont go to the check-in or wait in line there. Go streight to the business-center to the left. Executive guests have a seperate check-in area in the lounge.
3. The executive room is about 25-30 EUR more expansive, but it included breakfast in the lounge, drinks in the evening, high tea in the afternoon and a cold and warm buffet in the evening. Also the rooms are in the upper 4th floor and facing the pool.
4. Breakfast is better and less croweded in the lounge.
5. Beside the airport food stands, there are not many places you can go from there.
6. In the tunnel you will find the Railway that leads you to Paya Thai station. From there you can take the BTS train to any place in the city. The regular train takes exactly 31 minutes with several stops. The fare is 45 THB + the BTS fare. The express train to Phaya Thai station is temp. suspended. However the Extpress train to Makkasan is working. This way you can jump in and out of the city for dinner or shipping.
7. Check-out is also in the lounge. From there it is about 5-8 minutes back to Check-in on level 4 of the airport.
8. The prices for a massage are typically high at the hotel. However, at the end of the tunnel to the right (inside the airport building on level B), there is a massage stand that offers 1h Thai massage for 400 THB and other massages as well. Not a spa, but an alternative to get stretched after a long flight.
9. The pool is relatively big for an airport hotel and there is not much noise from the airport close by. There were always enough free loungers.
10. The gym is of an adequate size, but not the newest one any more. The machines are average. But in the evening it was quiet busy with regular members of the gym.
11. Beds were very comfortable....softer than what you usually find in Thailand.

Overall I am of the opinion, that if you are coming from Europe and if BKK is not your final destinatin, staying at this place for the first night and continuing your journey the next morning is a very relaxing alternative. I will definitely stay here again on my next trip to Khao Lak.

Room Tip: Book an executive room for little money more ...but with lots of extras.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joerg04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Had an early morning flight so decided to stay at the Novotel. It's a great location (5 min free shuttle bus from the airport), with a huge atrium. Had dinner at Sala Thai and absolutely loved the duck curry. Then decided to get a aromatherapy massage and they offered to perform it in the room. The massage was great, one of the best ones I've had in Thailand, however I would not opt to do it in the room (ie the bed), as I find the massage table more comfortable.

On the negative side, weird odour....but I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Firenze4074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

stayed here while in transit, thankfully didn't have to pay as my airline flipped the bill and the rooms are a bit out of my price range, however the room itself was so nice, very quiet considering location, large comfortable bed, large shower/toilet area, staff were very polite and spoke very good english, cons - have to pay for wifi internet, bars and restaurants in the hotel are pricey, I walked over to the airport to eat since it was a fraction of the price, was disturbed by cleaning staff twice although I had just arrived, received a wake up call even tho it was not requested, bit of a shock at 550am

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaanTaiBackpackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed here for one night having arrived into Bangkok too late to take an internal flight. If you are looking for one or two nights accommodation near the airport, well this is the place to stay. Reasonably priced, very well thought out design of the hotel, which gives the impression of space and relaxation with its atrium like Central area.

The room was well appointed and had all necessary amenities, room service was prompt. The bed was 'super king' and had some sort of cushioned mattress protector on, which did give the feeling of an uneven surface initially to sleep on. Room was clean and over looked the well landscaped pool.

The pool water was clear and fresh and made for good swimming, there was also a gym but we did not try this.

Breakfast was excellent with the fabulous broad selection of choices one gets in a Thai hotel. We did not have dinner here.

Additionally worth noting, that this hotel did not have the feel of an 'airport hotel' and was very well sound proofed. It was easy to access the hotel by using the courteous shuttle bus, from level 2, gate 4 @ the airport. Check in/out was quick.

Would stay again if in transit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Scarlett1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

The hotel isn't super exciting but they do what they are meant to, brilliantly. The rooms are quiet, the beds are big (and comfortable). the showers are decent (except for the rather strange hot and cold taps which tend to hit you in the back - design is just weird). but apart from that it's brilliant. The pool are is almost like a resort and has a swim up bar. The gym is excellent. The restaurants are very good (not surprisingly the thai food is great).

The only problem is that it's not cheap. the rooms food etc are much more expensive than downtown, but the advantage is that you don't have to leave the airport (especially good when I stayed earlier this year when the curfew was on.). they have a shuttle but i suggest if you don't mind a 10 minute walk. go to the bottom level of the airport where the train leaves from and walk to the hotel. it's almost as quick as the shuttle and a nice walk if you've just come off a plane trip (which is essentially everyone because you wouldn't be here if you were not at the airport).

Great place and does exactly what you want. I've stayed there 4 times now and will stay again.

Room Tip: Ask to overlook the pool. it makes you feel that you are in a resort, not an airport hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussie_trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bang Phli
4.2 mi away
Le Meridien Suvarnabhumi, Bangkok Golf Resort and Spa
4.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Amaranth Suvarnabhumi Airport
2.2 mi away
Miracle Suvarnabhumi Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Paragon Inn
Paragon Inn
#349 of 891 in Bangkok
703 reviews
0.3 mi away
Louis Tavern Hotel
Louis Tavern Hotel
#714 of 891 in Bangkok
93 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Inn Come Hotel
Grand Inn Come Hotel
#3 of 5 in Racha Thewa
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Bangkok Suvarnabhumi Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bangkok Suvarnabhumi Airport

Address: 999 Moo 1, Suvarnabhumi Airport Hotel Building | Nongprue Subdistrict, 10540, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Samut Prakan Province > Bang Phli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Bang Phli
Price Range: $158 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bangkok Suvarnabhumi Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 612
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Suvarnabhumi Airport is a 4 star hotel located 10 min walk from Suvarnabhumi International Airport in Bangkok. Ideal for business trips, the hotel features 12 meeting rooms, grand ballroom for up to 1,000 people and a business center. Boasting 612 comfortable and contemporary rooms, the hotel also offers 2 bars and 4 restaurants. With a 24 hr airport shuttle every 10 min from Gate 4 Level 2 and parking available, there is no better place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Novotel Bangkok Suvarnabhumi Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Suvarnabhumi Airport Hotel Racha Thewa
Novotel Hotel Suvarnabhumi Airport
Novotel Hotel Bangkok
Novotel Bangkok Airport
Bangkok Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing