We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Chilled out place with great service and perfect location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2010

The best thing about Frangipani Tree is its location. Just a few steps away is a private, secluded beach. The rooms are so welcoming, and the bathroom, oh so luxurious!
Everything about the place spells "REALXED", no one is in a rush or hurry, we really unwinded at this place. The food that the chef prepared for us was delicious and we could have our table arranged anywhere to dine, made us feel very special.
I highly reccommend this place to anyone exploring the south coast.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmAnuveer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 456 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2010

Such a stunning hotel, just what we hoped for and more. My husband and I spent 5 nights at the Frangipani Tree in November 2010. The rooms were gorgeous, huge beds with a stunning outdoor bathroom and a perfect outdoor sitting/chill out area.

The food was exceptional with a perfect mix of Sri Lankan and modern european food on offer. The jumbo prawns were incredible. Sri Lanka breakfasts were also a great experience.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit Sri Lanka and wanting a perfect chill out holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hendomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2010

We spent 3 nights at the Frangipani Tree with our 10 month old baby and had a great time, the staff were very accomodating about providing meals at our villa so we could relax and enjoy dinner while our baby slept. The food was exceptional and the rooms very tastefully done, bathroom was the best I've seen anywhere. The location was great. We couldn't recommend the Frangipani Tree highly enough.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anon294264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2010

Top service, top food, top everything. Can't fault this place at all. Really friendly staff. I would definitely recommend this place if you want to relax and chill for a week.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scaggs_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2010

The service is very personal, attentive without being overly so. What a great escape! Frangipani tree is not just gorgeous, it is a true delight to watch nature in its many different manifestations from this vantage point. Turtles in the sea, fireflies at night, the rush of the waves. Absolute heaven. I spent 5 days there, and couldn't tear myself away. I didn't find any reason to leave this idyll to go in to town, but finally did so on my 5th day there for 2 hours. The town has some great little stores, outdoor cafes and such. Thanks to Wojtek for being such a lovely host!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AfsheenDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2010

We have just returned from spending 5 nights at the Frangipani Tree and it was marvellous. The manager Wojcek was great and went out of his way to ensure all his guests were comfortable and happy. His staff were wonderful and very attentive. The chef even took time to come and speak to me about one of this curry dishes and how he made it. We had a lovely room overlooking the sea. Meals could be taken on the nice seating area outside the room.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindainQatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2010

Great place to relax and chill out for a few days. A fantastic hotel chef along with a very friendly hotel manager leads to Good times all around. The hotel is a just a short "Disco" Tuk Tuk ride into Unawatuna where you can meet up with fellow travelers at some of the various beach restaurants and bars. "Bravo!"

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hb0mb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unawatuna
2.0 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
933 reviews
2.9 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 33 in Unawatuna
713 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#6 of 33 in Unawatuna
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 33 in Unawatuna
449 reviews
11.6 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
618 reviews
2.0 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#12 of 33 in Unawatuna
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection

Address: 812 Matara Road, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
#3 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
#3 Spa Hotel in Unawatuna
#4 Luxury Hotel in Unawatuna
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range: $249 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend Time with Sea Turtles and Sparrows who visit this beautiful property Set on an improbable juxtaposition of simplicity and luxury overlooking the turquoise Indian Ocean. The Frangipani Tree is sun, sand, trees, culinary, sensuous and spiritual indulgences among Intimate, Exclusive and Elegant surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frangipani Tree Hotel Unawatuna
Frangipani Tree Galle
Frangipani Tree Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing