We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Gorgeous - a perfect holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2009

Our first time to Sri Lanka, we booked the hotel almost entirely on the look of the website. The reservation process was simple and uncomplicated, providing us with a flexible accommodation option of staying both at the Frangipani Tree and their sister hotel in Galle, The Fort Printers. Unfortunately we arrived a little worse for wear as we had endured the lengthy journey down from Colombo with a bout of food poisoning. The staff were so welcoming - they could obviously see we were not in the best of form and so made us comfortable and settled very quickly so we could recover in peace! As other reviewers have noted, the food here is incredible and the first night, Chef kindly made us a delicious, homemade chicken soup to help ease our unsettled stomachs. The next day, we gradually were able to enjoy all of the wonderful meals and dishes that they prepared for us. Everything is made fresh and in their kitchen - from the pineapple jam to the extraordinary and delectable curries. We felt very lucky having one of the top accommodation options in the intimate resort; spacious with a minimalist decor that was 100% in tune with the location & setting.
The pool is gorgeous, providing an impressive welcome to the property and outlook onto the Indian Ocean. If you are normally busy, technology-dependent people, this place will force you to slow down and relax. Internet was available down by the pool so you are not totally cut off from the world outside although, after a few days, you won't even care.
We were having such a great time, we chose to stay here the entire five nights and visited Galle in an afternoon to browse around. We didn't explore around the area because we were just so content in the Hotel and had relaxation at the top of our list, but there is plenty to see and do.
What makes this venue so special is the staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they truly took care of us. They are accommodating and non-intrusive - instinctive and very polite. A true asset to the Hotel and very much appreciated. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicethingsinlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 473 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2009

We had been guided expertly around the most amazing island of Sri Lanka by our trusty and multi-talented guide, Sanjeewa, we thorougly recommend that everyone look at his website www.sanjeewatours.com and get him to provide the service everyone richly deserves...after being in the mountains we were longing for the beach and did we find HEAVEN? We were welcomed with a huge basket of delicious fruit in our amazing room, the sound of the waves only metres from our window would lull us to sleep every night from now on for 4 days. Mr Warne, the manager, ensured we had every comfort available and then asked us to join the other guests, 2 only, for dinner. We were totally knocked out by the food, the chef is a magician and every meal was an unbelievable treat for our taste buds.
The location of the Frangipani Tree on the beach is superb, the accommodation is of a very high quality and the service efficient. It is very clean and all our needs were met with a smile and promptly.
Walks along the beach, lying by the pool, swimming in the pool, reading in the shade, relaxing in the hammock, enjoying the space of our own room and then being able to bath in a stone bath, big enough for even very tall people, or have a luxurious shower with the sound of the sea only metres away....by candlelight...bliss.
We loved everything about the Frangipani tree and would recommend everyone to make a stop there, for a meal, for a night, for a week....you will love it and come away refreshed and relaxed. The perfect place to relax after having toured the beautiful cultural sights of Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank relaxezvouslondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2009

Where should I start - the sumptuous food, mouth-watering juices, superb service, jaw-dropping-frangipani-tree-covered-roofless toilets, stupendous infinity pool, passionate ocean crashing on the beach...it really was a little slice of heaven, a sublime dream.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrippySingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2009

We were looking for a few days of relaxation on our way home to the UK from Singapore. And what a place to relax. The room was spacious and you slept to the sound of the waves breaking on the beach. The service was fantastic - and nothing was too much trouble for Sugath who was looking after us. And the quality of the food rivalled anything we experienced in Singapore. We are looking for an excuse to return.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MershamKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2009

We were looking for a perfect venue to get married in Sri Lanka. After lots and lots of searching we found The Frangipani Tree. It seemed to be exactly what we were looking for - a small boutique hotel, stylish, modern, contemporary rooms and on the beach and it delivered all of this. We contacted the manager Warnathilaka to see if he could host our wedding. Warna is absolutely the best manager ever. He organised our wedding from start to finish, shopped with us for a sari and sarong in the local town, was patient and understanding and along with his excellent staff made our wedding day so memorable and perfect.
The resort is wonderful. For most of the time we were the only guests. The beach is beautiful and secluded - we were always the only people on it. We enjoyed playing in the surf, watching the turtles in the sea and sitting under the swaying palms. The pool was just the right temperature and looked great with the view towards the beach. We stayed in Hawksbill which was at the end of the resort (but only 30 secs from the pool) and very private. It directly faced the ocean and we enjoyed breakfast each morning on our terrace when we eventually decided to get up. The room was large, very clean and had an enormous outdoor bathroom in a walled garden with its own Frangipani trees. It was great to shower outside with the sound of the surf with dappled sun rays through the trees.
We enjoyed delicious lunches around the pool - the fish burritos were great and we couldn't stop eating them, washing them down with local, cold Lion beer.
Seeing literally thousands of hummingbirds descend on the resort at sunset was a highlight and an unusual natural phenomenon we will never forget.
The resort is incredibly relaxing. There is not a whole lot of activity but that is exactly what we wanted, although we did fit in a game of tennis. There are no TVs or telephones in the room so it is a great get away from it all place.
For the last few days we decided to travel around Sri Lanka with a great guide Sanjeewa and got to experience some unique and amazing sights from an upclose elephant safari, a train ride through the mountains and the stunning Sigirya Fortress. You absolutely must do some sightseeing as well as a beach stay.
All in all a great resort, excellent, friendly and attentive staff and very highly recommended. We will look forward to returning to remember our wonderful wedding and fabulous stay.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2009

The place is stunning from the entrance and only improves as you settle down. We stayed for a week in Olive Ridley. The views from the first storey rooms are picturesque with your own private beach with an occasional fisherman trying to catch fish with a string!!! The rooms are beautiful, spacious and full of light and comfort. The bathrooms are huge and again have fantastic views of the beach and at night very romantic with the candles flickering in the sea breeze.
The sea in front is a bit rough to swim but walk to the right of the place for calmer sea to swim. However, the pool is brilliant and you hardly feel the need to go farther. Especially with the wonderful food that the master chef produces all day long. We had some of the best seafood here. Tuna tataki is the house special and we had it almost every day for lunch. Dinners are truly lavish with three or four courses and you really have to save for that all chocolate cake for dessert.
Just wished the place had its own in house spa (we had to go to Fortress which the staff will book for you). It has its own tennis court but we could not be bothered!!!!
We loved the rituals of afternoon tea on the beach and evening sunset drinks which the staff are well trained to do. We cant wait to return next year!!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asia_is_It
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2009

I will have a hard time explaining what I actually felt and still do for my stay at the Frangipani. The staff is very attentive, helpful and sincerely care about their job and the comfort of their guests. The food is unbelievable. Gorgeous and I have to say it is definitely one of the best meals I had in my life. I had the pleasure and honour to meet the owner of the hotel who is very down to earth person and extremely helpful. The manager is very dedicated to his job and guests and it is all personal not business. The view of thousands of humming birds flying at sun rise and set every day. The different sounds of silence.. simply breathtaking. I absolutely loved every second and would go there again any time.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wafinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unawatuna
2 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 34 in Unawatuna
959 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#6 of 34 in Unawatuna
310 reviews
2.9 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 34 in Unawatuna
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 34 in Unawatuna
465 reviews
2 mi away
KK Beach
KK Beach
#13 of 34 in Unawatuna
55 reviews
11.6 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 28 in Hikkaduwa
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection

Address: 812 Matara Road, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Unawatuna
#3 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
#3 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
#4 Luxury Hotel in Unawatuna
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range: $257 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend Time with Sea Turtles and Sparrows who visit this beautiful property Set on an improbable juxtaposition of simplicity and luxury overlooking the turquoise Indian Ocean. The Frangipani Tree is sun, sand, trees, culinary, sensuous and spiritual indulgences among Intimate, Exclusive and Elegant surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frangipani Tree Hotel Unawatuna
Frangipani Tree Galle
Frangipani Tree Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing