We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection
Nearby Hotels
Gloria Grand Hotel(Unawatuna)(Great Value!)
$23
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
CoCo Bay Unawatuna(Unawatuna)
$81
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$69
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cantaloupe Aqua(Unawatuna)
$85
$59
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$52
$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sergeant House(Unawatuna)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (492)
Filter reviews
492 results
Traveler rating
347
100
23
9
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
347
100
23
9
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor bathroomlobster currytuk tuksri lankasea turtlessound of the wavesindian oceanbeautiful hotelgalle fortsecluded beachevery afternoonbeautiful poolthe general managersister hotelcommon areasoverlooking the oceanfour poster bed
Filter
Updating list...
245 - 250 of 492 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2014

As for many people this was our chill out time at the end of a busy, memorable sightseeing tour of Sri Lanka. It was a great place to do just that. The Olive Ridley upper 2 room was minimal, spacious, cool and calming. The views and sound of the oceon and the barnswallows (who nest in the trees from Nov to April) were incredible. Staff were friendly and helpful, the grounds, room and pool were immaculately clean and the food was delicious. The lap pool with a view through the palm trees to the beach was perfect.

Room Tip: Oliver Ridley upper 2 is the biggest rom with great views but has no outside space.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I stayed at Frangipani Tree for a week in March 2014 with friends. Honestly we never wanted to leave. The property is so private and secluded. The rooms are beautiful and simple with stunning outdoor bathroom. Justyne who manages the hotel was always on hand to arrange all our activities and guide us through the best things to do with our week. All her recommendations turned out to be our highlights and we were so grateful for all her help and ideas. There was nothing the staff would not do to make us comfortable and ensure our stay was perfect, from booking us in- room massage to bringing us tea on our terrace daily. The food was the other highlight, we tried lots of the different places around Unawatuna, Hikkaduwa and Galle but the beautiful fresh and delicious food kept us staying in Frangipani Tree for many of our meals. The fresh tuna was divine. Honestly you won't regret staying here if you love luxury, quality, peace and friendliness. Only thing worth noting is that, like everywhere along that coast in that area, the sea is noisy so something to consider if you need complete silence to fall asleep.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sylvia t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed here at the end of a very enjoyable holiday travelling around Sri Lanka and found it be a lovely place to unwind. Staying 4 nights allowed us to actually unpack and relax. We stayed in one of the Olive Ridley Upper rooms which must rank as one of the largest rooms we've ever stayed in with windows running full length on three walls with wonderful sea views. The bathroom was equally sizeable with again stunning views of the sea. Justyna was very friendly and helpful as were all the staff and we had no complaints whatsoever. The pool was clean and inviting although you are warned about not swimming in the sea due to the under water currents. Tuk tuks were readily available from outside the hotel and relatively cheap to get around in to Galle and other nearby places. The food was more than acceptable for us, but if you wanted to have dinner there, you had to place your order by mid afternoon. I guess that at least means it was fresh produce. Perhaps a more varied menu would be appreciated if you were to stay any longer. In all, a wonderful few days and certainly a place to recommend.

Room Tip: I would certainly recommend the Olive Ridley Upper rooms if available because of the size and wonderful views. If listening to the sound of the waves doesn't upset you at night,these rooms are excellent.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveb92_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

If you want to stay behind a busy main road and a railway track you may find this acceptable. The sliver of beach is either covered by water or debris; the sea view is partially obstructed by a high grass bank, and the food and service are below standard. The outside bathroom would have been quite good fun if it had not been almost next to the busy road, adjacent to that of the bathroom adjoined to the next room, and the bath dirty!
The management did it's best to make us happier, even offering an upgrade to a slightly better room but we still left after the first night!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank Boris2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelbanker, Owner at The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are sorry that we fell short of your expectations. I believe that your travel agent booked the wrong place and the wrong room for your stay. We have two categories of rooms: 7 ocean front rooms and 2 courtyard view rooms which vary in price. Of course the courtyard rooms are less expensive but the same category except for the location. Your travel agent booked you for a courtyard view room when you were expecting an ocean front room. Our staff tried to please you by offer of an ocean front room on a complimentary basis even though you had been booked in a courtyard view room by no fault of ours. As you have rightfully acknowledged that we tried to make your stay pleasant by offering complimentary meals but you had decided to move to a different place and were more worried about the cancellation charges that may arise upon your early departure.
We are located on the Thalpe stretch of beach where most high end villas and boutique hotels in Thalpe are located and at times the road is busy and there is a railway track parallel to the road albeit quite a distance. We are over 2 acres deep to the beach and the ocean front rooms can barely hear any noise from the road and may be a faint noise of the passing of the railway carriages which adds to the charm of the place.
The outdoor bathrooms are frequently cleaned by our staff as they are open to the elements and trees and collect leaves and fallen frangipani tree flowers. I am sorry that you found them unclean for that reason. For us that is the charm of the outdoor bathrooms and we accept that it is not suitable for all guests. Again, your travel agent should have been able to describe better your place of stay. We hope we can serve you better on your next visit in an ocean view room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Excellent hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Hotel manager especially helpful.

Great food but not a huge vegetarian selection although the kitchen staff were very willing to adapt other dishes. The curry was delicious!

Good location, close to beaches for swimming/surfing and Galle.

Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivia0987654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews