We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal beach holiday hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Frangpani Tree for four nights in July and had a truly wonderful stay.
The hotel is right by the seaside, so even if you stay there during the monsoon season when you can't swim in the sea, you can still go for lovely walks along the beach. The pool is small but wonderful and the large rooms simply stunning. Everything is impeccably clean.
The style of the hotel is quite unusual in that it has a lot of concrete, but in combination with the wood shutters it looks amazing and cozy. The only problem is that the concrete bathroom floor gets very slippery when wet and it only dries slowly during the wet season. There were also some issues with light fittings, the A/C and banging shutters, but the staff were always quick to respond to any issues we raised.
There is a fairly reliable internet connection, a lovely TV / reading room and lots of space to sit outside (or under cover if it rains) and day dream. The garden is full of magnificent trees with plenty of birdlife, and for the sport enthusiasts there is even a tennis court, though not in the first flush of youth.
The food was great, especially the breakfasts, starting always with lots of fruit and lovely yoghurt, but I just wished the dinner menu would change a little more often. Still, Galle is a mere 20 minutes away by car and there are plenty of restaurants to try out for a change.
What made our stay really special were the two lovely managers Justyna and Wojtek who made us feel right at home in their little paradise.
We will be more than happy to stay at the Frangpani again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tingasiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 454 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

What a beautiful hotel. We loved the style, modern but cosy. And the swimming pool... maybe the nicest one we've ever seen. Our room was also very spacious and luxurious.
All of this is located on a very nice coastline, an idyllic beach with palm trees hanging over the beach.
Everything is wel maintained by a kind and attentive staff, and managed by a friendly Polish couple.
We visited Galle and some nice beaches nearby while we were staying here. They offered us the possibility to swim in their other hotel, Fort Printers, located inside the old city centre of Galle. Which was very welcoming after a hot day walking in Galle. Afterwards we had a good dinner in the Fort Printers.

We would recommend everyone who's visiting Sri Lanka to stay in the Frangipani Tree for a couple of days!

Oscar and Natalie from Belgium

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank oscardesomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I wish every hotel were like this! On arrival in Galle, we were greeted by very friendly Voicek and Christina into such a beautiful boutique hotel. This hotel exceeded all our expectations and we did not expect to find such perfection in Sri Lanka!

We were kindly upgraded (complimentary) to Leatherback room which was beachfront with our own balcony (where we ate dinner every night) and the best feature a HUGE outdoor bathroom with it's own Frangipani tree! The room is chic-minimal designed with a four-poster bed fit for a queen. You can hear every wave break on the sand as its only metres away...this place is the epitomy of relaxation - there is no TV in your room so it forces you to completely detach from the hustle bustle of daily life and indulge in ultimate relaxation. The infinity pool is just magic....

The staff were all superb and went out of their way to make our stay truly memorably. Managers both had great local knowledge and were very friendly.

The food was also wonderful. On our balcony each morning we had delicious fresh curd and treacle, fresh fruit, fresh mixed fruit juice and eggs how you like them. We ate at the hotel every night as we couldn't find a place in Galle that we preferred! The food was exceptional and very reasonably priced for what it was. I recommend corn fritters, local curries with all sambals, pappadums etc and lamb kibeh burger! The menu was extensive for a hotel this size.

At first we had thought location of the hotel was quite isolated; but it's not far to Unawatune and Galle (cheap tuk tuk ride) and nice walks along the beach.

Our stay at the Frangipani Tree was truly impeccable and a perfect way to end our stay in Sri Lanka. We most definately hope to be back in the future.

Room Tip: Room with outdoor bathroom and balcony by the beach are the only way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

If I could travel the world and stay in hotels like this, I would be one very very happy lady. I love a boutique hotel, and this one exceeded my expectations. A beautifully designed hotel with romantic rooms and four poster beds, an outdoor bathroom, balcony and outdoor lounge room and the waves of the ocean metres away.

The staff were absolutely superb - the managers went out of their way to welcome us and make our stay enjoyable and as easy as possible. They were very professional and friendly and had great knowledge of the area - even though they hail from lovely Poland. The staff were brilliant and the food was wonderful. ON our balcony each morning, we had a breakfast of fresh fruit & yoghurt and fruit juices (a new mix each morning) with an egg offering to follow or traditional Sri Lankan hoppers. We decided to dine in most nights as our kids are little. The menu was quite extensive for a small hotel and it was suited to most tastes and even fussy kids.

We enjoyed trips to Galle and nearby beaches, local crab curry, walks on the beach, watching the stilt fishermen on the reef, swimming in the pool twice daily, local yoga lessons, cricket on the grounds and riding around in r-tuks (spell?).

Room Tip: There are two rooms at the hotel which are larger and suited our family (two kids 6 & 4) one sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D_D_Dora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Frangipani Tree provided us with the perfect setting for a truly relaxing holiday. The villas were beautiful in their elegant simplicity and comfort, with fine furnishings, a garden bathroom, and a spacious veranda overlooking the ocean. The service from all the staff was second to none in its attentiveness, friendliness and efficiency. The food was delicious, reflecting local produce and of a consistently high standard; I should give a special mention to the Best Tuna Sandwich In The World Ever. The hotel is situated a little way down the coast from the fascinating town of Galle, so benefits from being within easy reach of places of interest and activities whilst maintaining its character as a secluded idyll. This first trip to Sri Lanka will certainly rank as one of our favourite family holidays.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The staff are very nice and friendly, especially the European girl Angela i think her name was. However, breakfast was very ordinary nothing wow as we saw in other hotels. Wifi was promised to be installed in rooms but wasn't. Room amenities were lacking, hair dryer wasn't working. They have only king-sized bed, so this is good for couples, since they don't have extra beds, they would provide you with a mattress or a couch, however the hotel is VERY expensive, paying that much for it you would at least expect the latter things to be more than perfect!
On the good side, their food is delicious, the pool is very nice even though it is small, the bed is very comfy. You should go during Nov- Feb period, that way you can take advantage of the beach. I went in June and we couldn't cause of the tides.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rasha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Recently stayed @ the Frangipani as well as had our wedding there. Overall, the manager, the 2 other expat team members and owner were friendly and helpful as much as they could be. We had done a site visit 3 months prior.
However, planning could have been done better along with overall management of the wedding and events that took place.
We rented out the entire hotel: 9 rooms for 4-5 days.

Summary:
• Location & property is beautiful. No doubt.
• Not a 4 or 5 star. More of a 2-3 star range to be realistic and fair.
• Pricing per room: For low season, rooms were still overpriced (paying @ the 4-5 star range for Sri Lanka for a 2-3 star) Included daily breakfast + 2 bottles of water per day in room. No tea/coffee facilities in the room. Rooms are sparse and basic. Shampoo, shower gel and soap provided and a blow dryer.
• Quality of rooms: In poor shape. Broken and slamming wooden windows, spurting shower heads, flushing issues, AC not working, some were leaking, mismatched bedding – white vs yellowed sheets, holes in sheets
• Service: Overall staff were very friendly and as helpful. Angela, Ella, Petar were warm and friendly and helped out as much as they could.
• Food: good tasting and well presented. However, overpriced for Sri Lankan standards and hotel level. Daily breakfasts were not consistent. Portions varied daily.
• The hotel is supposedly going to undergo some renovations now. Let’s hope they are able to fix the issues we experienced and to move it up a star level.
• Hotel beach is not swimmable

On having a wedding in SL:
• Be aware that SL is a very laid back island. Requests are not often dealt with at the level most would expect or want. It was quite frustrating planning a wedding from afar.
• Overall, we didn’t get what we had asked for but thank goodness, weather held up, guests were fed and it turned out to be a good time for all.
• Suggest getting a professional wedding planner to help with instead
• Expect things to not all turn out the way you want…that way you could have a laugh about it and not be too disappointed. We had many things that fell short, errors made or things we had specifically asked to not have, we had!
• Any questions on planning a wedding there or about SL, feel free to PM me.

Room Tip: Top - upstairs rooms are best. Be aware that it is right on the beach and you will hear crashing wav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jujubes13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unawatuna
2.9 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#3 of 33 in Unawatuna
701 reviews
2.0 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
922 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#6 of 33 in Unawatuna
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
612 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#2 of 33 in Unawatuna
443 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Fortress Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection

Address: 812 Matara Road, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
#3 Spa Hotel in Unawatuna
#3 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
#4 Luxury Hotel in Unawatuna
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range: $201 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend Time with Sea Turtles and Sparrows who visit this beautiful property Set on an improbable juxtaposition of simplicity and luxury overlooking the turquoise Indian Ocean. The Frangipani Tree is sun, sand, trees, culinary, sensuous and spiritual indulgences among Intimate, Exclusive and Elegant surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frangipani Tree Hotel Unawatuna
Frangipani Tree Galle
Frangipani Tree Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing