We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hosts to our wedding guests”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent hosts to our wedding guests”
Reviewed May 3, 2011

My husband and I recently married in Galle and booked out the Frangipani Tree and its sister hotel Fort Printers for our wedding guests. When planning our wedding we stayed at both the Frangipani Tree and Fort Printers as a 'test' and were very impressed. Our guests raved about the beauty of each of the hotels as well as the amazing food served at both so I guess we made the right choice!

As a part of our wedding celebrations, we hosted a 'farewell BBQ' at Frangipani Tree on the day following our wedding. The staff went out of their way to make it special and had an amazing seafood buffet prepared. The jumbo prawns and lobster on the BBQ were out of this world.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank es_singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    88
    20
    5
    8
See reviews for
115
262
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

This is really a review of two halves - in terms of the setting and the look of the hotel, I would say it's excellent, really as beautiful as the website looks and the other reviewers say. But the service is very slow and pretty poor, which put a bit of a dampner on the stay. Some examples - we had to ask for our room to be cleaned one evening and it took 3 requests over the course of about 2 1/2 hours before it was cleaned; our breakfast things were left out on the table on our terrace well into the afternoon and then we had to ask for them to be cleared; we had a major ant problem in our bathroom and woke every morning to ant infestations all over the toilet seat (making going to the loo a bit of an experience!), shower and sinks; we had to ask for the water in our room to be replaced twice before it was; the hotel tuk-tuks are much more expensive than the local ones (walk about 5 paces down the road, hail a tuk-tuk and travel for about half the price!); we wanted to watch the royal wedding (sad, I know!) and the TV technician took around 5 hours to come after the initial request in the morning and many reassurances that he was "only ten minutes" away.

I admit that none of these things are major problems and the staff, when dealing with them, were very friendly, but when you pay this much for a hotel, you really don't expect to have to ask for basic service such as room cleaning.

However, I probably would recommend it for the stunning setting, lovely pool and very nice rooms (setting aside ant problems), if you don't mind not having 5 star service.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RSSW2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2011

The Frangipanni tree provides absolute luxury and style in a unique minimalist manner. It has fantastic staff and an amazing pool, with suites that are large enough for a family of 4. The hotel is set out in a way that makes the pool and veranda feel as though they are part of your own backyard. The pool is brilliant and is suitable for both adults and small children.

The food was absolutely amazing! A small menu that is thoughtfully put together and cooked to perfection. Catering for children is also excellent.

My only small grievance was the lack of any refrigerator within the suites, which is sometimes required in a hot environment with small children.

Thank you to the staff for an amazing stay, what a perfect place to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke_Candy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Everything at the Frangipani tree was perfect , the rooms , situation, and the icing on the cake was the chef and the excellent staff . Could not praise it high enough .

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolaFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

This place is incredibly beautiful in the most understated and sophisticated way. The design, the layout, the decor is just perfect. There are a lot of 'boutique' hotels around these days and many follow a cookie cutter formula. Not this one. It's just wonderful: the polished concrete floors, the elegant pool, the enourmous rooms. Simple, clean in a tropical modern kind of way.

But the real knock-out feature of this place are the staff. From the managers Wojtek and Justyna to the waiters - they are phenomenal! I would holiday in cave if these people were in charge. They are the personification of great service. I sprained my ankle whilst i was there and they were even able to get me some crutches (not an easy thing to do in that part of Sri Lanka). I had not even asked for them. But quite apart from that they are just very friendly and accomodating. Great professionals, good people.

Then there's the food. Like their sister property in Galle, the food is excellent. It's not cheap but for what you get it's good value. All in all one of the best places you will ever likely stay in.

And it's incredibly romantic too. I just wish they'd have phones in the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pascali2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

We loved our week at the Frangipani Tree. Beautiful location, fantastic swimming pool.
Stunning beach, but not for swimming.
Great food - amazing fresh fish & reasonable prices. Staff incredible, including every day impromptu garden cricket matches, which my 9-year old boy loved !!
Well positioned for Tuk Tuk rides into Galle for some culture and other nearby attractions like the Turtle sanctuary.
Shahzad, Wojtek & Justyna are extremely welcoming and make the stay feel like we were staying with friends, not at a hotel.
The seafood pasta is the most amazing thing .......!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilesh71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights and actually extended from an original 2 nights due to it's excellent location & relaxing, romantic atmosphere. Apart from a couple of niggles, I love this place. Highly recommended.

Pros: gorgeous ocean view from top floor rooms, luxurious and relaxing lap pool with charming view of the ocean, small & quiet most of the time making it ideal for "chillaxing"', wonderful Sri Lankan style architecture, delicious food (some of the best I've had in SL so far), friendly local & international staff.

Cons: Slow service (very common in Sri Lanka so get used to it!), can feel a bit crowded & noisy if children are around since it's quite compact, my A/C unit wasn't working (not a big deal for me as I don't like rooms too cold but could be annoying for those who like it cool & management couldn't rectify the problem during my stay), security guard was missing/asleep/deaf when I arrived (had to wait 25 minutes outside gate at midnight as night watchman couldnt be located ... eventually GM had to come by Tuk-Tuk from Galle to open gate. GM apologised profusely but perhaps could have offered a free drink or something small the next day as a small consideration for a very annoying situation).

General Advice: If you need silence to sleep, you should probably seek a different location. The ocean in SL is very often fierce and relentlessly noisy (think rough ocean surf rather than gentle lapping waves) and this hotel in particular is very close to the main road so expect the normal array of every motorised form of transport known to man to be ploughing this road and honking it's horn. This is part if the charm of SL but it can annoy many travellers. Beach here is generously deserted much of the time, it not an ideal swimming beach but the evening/morning walks are sensational. Come and stay before the rest of the world wakes to Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tazmaniak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unawatuna
2.9 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
671 reviews
2.0 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 31 in Unawatuna
882 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 31 in Unawatuna
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 31 in Unawatuna
245 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
1,398 reviews
11.6 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection

Property: The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection
Address: 812 Matara Road, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Unawatuna
#3 Luxury Hotel in Unawatuna
#3 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
#3 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend Time with Sea Turtles and Sparrows who visit this beautiful property Set on an improbable juxtaposition of simplicity and luxury overlooking the turquoise Indian Ocean. The Frangipani Tree is sun, sand, trees, culinary, sensuous and spiritual indulgences among Intimate, Exclusive and Elegant surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your The Frangipani Tree by Edwards Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frangipani Tree Hotel Unawatuna
Frangipani Tree Galle
Frangipani Tree Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing