We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry this review is so late !!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sri Gemunu Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2011

This hotel was excellent value but most of all in the most beautiful of settings.Perfect to get away from the hustle and bustle but only a short tuk tuk ride away from the centre of Unawatuna.We stopped here for eight nights after two weeks touring and found thet he staff of this family run hotel were second to none they very helpful and friendly.The hotel made us a table up on the beach for our wedding anniversary dinner the sea food was great and the settng was fabulous.My husband and I woud recomend this hotel for a true Sri Lankan experience.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAGreene1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 441 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2010

Stayed five days at Sri Gemunu, winter 2010. Bear in mind that it is located south of the main Unawatuna beach area, which is a short tuk-tuk ride away. Hotel has a prime scenic location with a nice swimming area just a few steps away. Beach to the south is narrow but quite nice.

Best things:
+ Staff is very friendly and attentive, with decent English ability.
+ Great food and plenty of it, served buffet style, or made to order if you like. If you are an enthusiastic eater you will be happy.
+ WiFi is free and curiously fast and reliable.
+ In room fridge.
+ View from deluxe rooms is great.
+ Grounds are clean and could not be closer to the sea.
+ Ingratiating managers/operators always monitor your satisfaction level.
+ Cute, friendly dog hanging around.
+ Seems family friendly.
+ Chalet is lovely, secluded and relaxing (spent one night there). Beautiful surroundings. So quiet. Room is huge and nicely appointed.

Things to be aware/wary of:
- Hotel rooms are not pristine, a little rough around the edges, ants at work, but this is Sri Lanka. At any given time, something in your room will not work correctly. But it will be fixed with a smile once reported
- Sporadic power outages.
- Road noise!
- Cute dog barks a bit at night.
- Aside from the hotel, only a couple of dining options on this beach.
- No place to buy snacks, odds & ends, drinks. Tuk-tuk ride necessary or the staff may actually drive you to a shop. Absence of vendors on the beach.
- If you like to dive, ingratiating managers may shunt you toward "friends" at a particular Unawatuna Diving Center. Avoid that. Trust me.
- Aggressive taxi touts hover at the front gates. A pain. Have hotel arrange rides for you.
- The Beautiful Chalet (doesn't that denote a ski retreat in the alps?) is isolated. Hotel claims a 10 minute walk away. No. Not accurate. Maybe a 20 minute walk through mud and mire. You will need a ride to and from. Chalet has a kitchenette, utensils, plates, kitchen tools and fridge, but no food or drinkable water and no place on the premises to obtain any. There is no phone, so to contact the hotel proper (which you WILL need to to for the reasons previously mentioned) you'll need to hunt down the groundskeeper and ask him to call (on his mobile) the hotel, who will in turn summon a ride. Also, the pool is next to the chalet, which is good if you're in the chalet, but not so good if you're at the hotel.

So, Sri Gemunu is a nice place to stay, and the attractive rates help to mitigate (but not eliminate) any shortcomings.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank therealmccloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2010

We had really nice time. The servie was excellent and really friendly. the peaceful setting and quiet setting on the coastline with its beautiful beach was outstanding and unforgettable. we recomend it too anybody- businessman, couples or individual travellers.
don´t miss it, if you are in sri lanka. be sure that the bosses and staff make sure to have a good time.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m_greil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2010

The Sri Gemunu Beach Resort is a little hotel directly at the Indian Ocean.A beautiful long Beach invites you for long walks.We had the economy room without an Air Condition.The rooms were comfortable and simple furnished.
The Staff was always friendly and obliging.You can book sightseeing tours directly at the hotel.
Because of a minimal occupancy we had no buffet and we ate dinner "a la carte".You have to try curry and rice (chicken curry) it is gorgeous! In summary we had a very relaxing stay and I highliy recommend this place.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanneFrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

We spent 25 days in Sri Gemunu Beach Resort in order to relax to swim and to snorkel.
A few meters from the hotel along the beach there is a natural pool where swimming is safe.
The Indian ocean otherwise has strong currents and big waves and would not be safe for weak swimmers, if there was not this natural pool.
A few miles from the hotel on both sides there are other nice snorkelling grounds.
Sri Gemunu is competently run by 4 brothers, each with their resort.
All of them help to make the guest feel at home and part of the family.
As I write now, I get sort of homesick 
The staff are a reflex ion of the bosses. Each one of the simply DARLINGS.
Just go and have a look. You will not regret it.
A big THANK YOU to all of you in the Sri Gemunu.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miyoSchweiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2010

This hotel is not on the main beach of unawatuna and requires a 3-wheeler ride (only $1) to get to the more populated beach with restaurant / bar options etc. It's also worth noting that the hotel's pool (which is gorgeous) is not within the hotel complex but a 3wheeler ride away (800m) which the hotel will pay for to go and you can walk back (15 mins). Its a shame they couldn't have the pool closer as it is stunning - if you have small children consider this as the pool is in the jungle and the trip back and forth may not be easy (plus there are no amenities near the pool) . The hotel itself is very nice and great value for money - it works on a half board basis and the evening food (buffet) is very good and delicious. It's popular with German tourists (a little frustrating that every evening tables where reserved (invisibly) facing the garden / sea and we were relegated to the back of the dining room but this was the guests and should not reflect on the hotel). The accommodation for the price is fine, the room is a bit cell like and the lighting could be better but for the price the hotel charges it is as expected. This place is a great budget options for unawatuna, the food is good, the rooms are adequate, the staff are very friendly and helpful and it's busy.........there is a lovely beach to the left of the resort with one lovely bar for you to sit facing the sea after dinner and watch the sunset.

Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank KatieM1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2010

Try Sri Gemunu first!

This attractive, quiet hotel is situated right on the beach in a more or less private cove. To the left is a sort of natural swimming pool, to the right a deeper sea with wilder waves, and there are stilt fishermen right outside your door as it were. There are also gardens, lobbies and other nooks where you can contemplate life.
We chose one of the most expensive rooms, but 8000 rupies including breakfast, dinner and all taxes turned out to be cheap at the price considering the high degree of professionalism, comfort and relaxation that we experienced.
The best rooms are bright and airy with all mod cons and a private balcony with stunning views in all directions. The bed and pillows were super comfortable, the mosquito net was a perfect size and the room was beautifully made up each morning. Please tip the chamberboys- they deserve it. But all the staff at this hotel were exceptionally friendly, attentive and accomodating, with genuine smiles and good spoken English.
The food, especially breakfast, was good, attractively presented, varied and plentiful, although to be fair, for the best meals in this area you should try lunch at Sun 'n' Sea hotel -10 minutes' walk away, at the beginning of Unawatuna beach.

All in all Sri Gemunu was a fantastic place for us to finish off our trip. Their motto is 'Best on the beach'. I think they can justifiably change that to 'Best in Sri Lanka'. I really can't praise this place high enough

If you want a more conventional resort with beach parasols, bars, music and typical tourist boutiques then Unawatuna beach is only a 5 minute tuk-tuk ride away. But make sure you then go back to Sri Gemunu for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank believemeGothenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
1.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
922 reviews
2.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#3 of 33 in Unawatuna
701 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Unawatuna
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#6 of 33 in Unawatuna
285 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#2 of 33 in Unawatuna
441 reviews
1.3 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#11 of 33 in Unawatuna
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sri Gemunu Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sri Gemunu Beach Resort

Address: Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
#4 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range: $61 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sri Gemunu Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sri Gemunu Beach Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing