We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location and staff combined”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sri Gemunu Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic location and staff combined”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We travelled in Sri Lanka for a month and stayed in 11 hotel, varying from terrible to superb. The Sri Gemunu was one of two hotels that I would highly recommend. (Allspice Villa (Colombo) being the other) The location is directly on the beach, all the staff are brilliantly helpful and never expect a tip (but always got one from us). They make you feel like VIP's. The food is excellent as well. Unlike a lot of the hotels we got room service every day where the bed is decorated with flowers and towel sculptures. All these things made our stay a very happy one and would not hesitate to recommend to anyone and we would go straight back there ignoring the rest. On the day of departure our so called friend taxi driver really let us down by simply not turning up to take us to the airport. If it was not for the prompt and efficient action of the Sri Gemunu we would have missed our flight...Bob W (UK)

Room Tip: The ground floor room are cheaper and have better direct access to the grounds/beach, but smaller th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    98
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
131
238
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

My husband, three year-old and I stayed for 2 weeks of beach fun and relaxation. Sri Gemunu's location, right on a swimming beach, is excellent and all the more so for the rough seas around most of Sri Lanka. Sri Gemunu also has an idyllic pool, with kiddy pool, which can be reached via a 10 minute walk into the hills. The staff are wonderfully friendly and were very patient with my threenager! The food was very good, and very good value. They had a huge buffet every night with lots of variety and including Sri Lankan and Western fare. Breakfast was nice too with a omelet/pancake/french toast made-to-order table as well as a curry selection and continental breakfast options. Another guest told me the coffee is very good though I did not try it. I was slightly disappointed with the room upon arrival - some of the furniture was a bit old, but I quickly got over it watching monkeys scramble through the trees by the ocean from our balcony.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

We enjoyed our two night stay in this place. The room was was basic but comfortable. The hotel sits right on the beach, on a good sized plot, which allows a space for a nice shady garden area.
The staff is friendly and attentive.
Shame there is no pool in the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ada H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed for a week wanting relaxation and we weren't disappointed!
So relieved we weren't in the resort of Unawatuna when we arrived as that seems to have been ruined.
Our room was not so big but most comfortable and well kept, with a lovely view out to sea. A very pleasant area with sunbeds and good service for cooling drinks we loved our days relaxing.
Personally I would prefer not to eat from buffets every night but I was charmed by he efforts that the staff made to ensure that I had a proper choice of vegetarian food both at dinner at breakfast. Also the changes were made with a BBQ one night and Chinese food another night.
A most beautiful beach to stay on and everything you need for a peaceful holiday enhanced by th e delightful and willing staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brightonpoppy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

I have just come back from sri lanka, . we stayed at sri gemenu for 2 nights and 3 days. We would have stayed longer but had already booked dates further up the country. Sri gemenu is in a great location not far from Galle and Mirrissa , the beach at the rear of the hotel has snorkelling sunbatheing and body boarding/ surfing on the doorstep. We stayed in their chalet which is a short tuk tuk drive or 15 mins lovely walk. The garden there is so beautifull with amazing wildlife all around.We enjoyed meeting all the locals on our nice walks to and from the hotel.The staff and the owners are really nice. Please excuse the spelling if wrong. Aruna one of the brothers who owns the hotel, organized our trip and transfers by email, He normally lives in Germany, Padmini the manager was very nice and organized our transport to Mirrissa to see the whales. Maybe the hotel didnt have everything for some europeans but for the money it is very good and would go there again

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

i spent 5 days in this hotel, I had realy good time and did enjoy every day of this very relaxing place. the service was good, all the time checking after you if you need something. the best of it was I would say the location with nice lagoons around.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank mnachazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

This was my 2nd visit to this hotel, which has two major advantages.

- Super location, just by the beach. The beach has a small lagoon protected by a reef, which is very child friendly as the sea in the lagoon doesn't have big waves. You can always go outside the lagoon, ifyou feel like playing in the waves (be careful though, strong currents can quickly pull you out to sea.

- The staff is very friendly, flexible and service minded, especially to our small children.

Will defiantly come back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mortena1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
1.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
1.3 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sri Gemunu Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sri Gemunu Beach Resort

Property: Sri Gemunu Beach Resort
Address: Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
#4 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sri Gemunu Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sri Gemunu Beach Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing