We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place is paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sri Gemunu Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“This place is paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

The welcome we received was fantastic. We booked six nights in the hotel and they gave us a super room at the top of the hotel. All the rooms face the sea and you have about 20 steps to the beach! At around £45 per night this place is the best value for money hotel we have ever stayed in. How this place isn't in Lonely Planet is crazy!

The room was really clean and the large beds with framed mosquito net were a welcome change from the guesthouses and B and Bs we had stayed in previously. There is also a fridge in every room. The A/C is very efficient and helped us to keep cool away from the 35 degree sun every day! The TV signal was a little dodgy but I could still watch the cricket with a Lion beer in the room. The balcony was beautiful and the view of the sea was gorgeous. The bathrooms are roomy.

The beach is beautiful. I can't believe people complain about the sea. It is the sea,you can't change it! BUT, Sri Gemumu is located in a very quiet part of Unawatuna away from the ever popular bay area. The lagoon in the sea is absolutely perfect! the waves hit the reef and create this unbelievable swimming pool in the sea. There is still a slight current in the lagoon that you need to be aware of if you have children.

The sunsets here are also very beautiful and we were lucky in that the stilt fishermen were outside the hotel everyday!

On to the staff. The owners are very friendly and are regularly on site to make sure all is going well. The reception staff are polite friendly and helpful. The cleaning staff loved talking about cricket with us and they were quick to ask whether you wanted your room cleaning. I loved this aspect because on some days we just wanted our room leaving alone. The catering staff were incredibly friendly and there are a lot of them buzzing around ready to help you. If you like gems (we don't) then there is a shop with a very attentive and persistent specialist, Mr Gamini. He also loves his cricket and knows his stuff about Gems.

The food - Brilliant! We even splashed out on lobster one night. The breakfast is good and make sure you order the Sri Lankan breakfast at least one day in advance. We had a buffet 2 of the nights and the food was wide ranging and very good.

The pool and chalets. Make sure you visit the chalets and pool at somepoint in your stay. It is a 10 minute walk away from the hotel and the gardens are beautiful. The pool was like swimming in a bath it was that warm!

The treatments. We had a full body massage and it was definitely needed after our busy travels. I recommend them to you.

Don't let the tuk tuks rip you off. Haggle a cheap price or don't get in it! If you need a bank use Habbaraduwa, not Galle. It is a smaller, nearer town.

I was also very impressed with the checkout process. All our daily receipts were given to us for checking.

I think the taxi to Colombo was over priced at 9,500 rupees but they vary hugely when you book through the hotels.

Overall, this place is absolute paradise! There is no in-season! Go whenever and just take your time to relax in a great value hotel in an unbelievable location!

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea! Top floor is probably the best views. We had room 7 on the corner and was pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigmeads21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    98
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
131
238
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Myself and my husband stayed for 5 nights in August. After a few hectic weeks of touring, we loved the beach and, apart from a few strolls into the village and a trip one morning into Galle, we had everything we needed. Our complements to the staff - especially in the restaurant. If I were to change anything, I'd probably reconsider booking half board. We enjoyed eating in the restaurant but would have liked to sample some others in the village - I hadn't expected to see so many. I'd recommend this hotel and would stay there again should we ever be lucky enough to return to Sri Lanka

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tms2indub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kadima
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at this stunning place! If it hadn't been off season we would likely have passed but the 9600 per night for a double room including breakfast and dinner seemed reasonab le to us---a great decision! Superb view, friendly staff, welcome drink, good showers and clean room....thinks to keep in mind: air conditioning is not always up to par, the owner has a gem shop inside and is very persistent at getting you into the store, but that is all small stuff because this is a great place. We used it to cap our 16 days on the road and it was a superb finale.

Room Tip: Not in Unawatuna but a few kilometers away- be prepared for some tuk tuk action
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at the Sri Gemunu in October 2004 for just over a month to start our trip around the Globe. It was truly magical. The staff were absolutely fantastic, who went above and beyond treating us like a king and queen, and the locals were amazing...I even had a ring made on site there. This was before the Tsunami of Dec 2004 and we were very upset and hoped it would still be there, and it is!!!! The place was lovely before and now seeing the latest pics it looks even more lovely, we now live in NZ from our home in the UK and know that when we return home we will definitely be returning and we are so pleased that Stri Gemunu is thriving. Sooo looking forward to the magical hospitality and the cleanliness, the serenity of this part of Unawatuna, and have recommended it to all and sundry! 5 stars just isn't enough! and now there's even a POOL!!!!! YIPPEEEEEE!

Room Tip: Ground floor is fab cos you're right across from the beach and you can watch the turtles surf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charleesquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at Sri Gemunu for 5 nights in August. It's a nice hotel, very clean, great staff, good food. The hotel is right on the beach. The beach is beautiful although the sea can have strong undercurrents at this time of year (Aug), but there is a very safe "lagoon" to swim in created by an off-shore reef. The hotel is not in the main part of Unawatuna, but about a mile away. So the beach is quieter and not as touristy as Unawatuna - which we preferred. The hotel owners are very helpful and they can arrange taxis and tuk-tuks. The staff were great. Don't expect a swish 5 star resort as you will be disappointed, but you wont be paying 5 star prices either! My children (aged 10, 8, 7 and 5) loved this place. The food was good, fresh fruit in the morning, toast, eggs, tea/coffee, juices. Dinner was sometimes a buffet, with good curries and some western dishes. The owner of the hotel also has a couple of bungalows / chalets that he rents about a 10 minute walk away (inland), there is a nice pool there that hotel guests can use.

All in all I would recommend Sri Gemunu very highly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Very friendly Front desk with a welcome drink. The whole complex is secluded from through road and in a quiet location so that the peacocks and at night the frogs in the open good to hear.
the bungalows are provided with featuring 4 rooms same style and are inclusive großräuming shower and toilet. Rooms are equipped with AC and ceiling fan. The separate restaurant at the view terrace is also well-developed.
staff friendly and when we had a wish is received.
food was class and versatile fresh.
very recommendable!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Sri Gemunu is well located by the beach, with some spectacular landscape (rocks, sand and waves are impressive). there is a close-by mini-lagoon so there it is safe for kids, but the beach is not very practicable during the summer. The staff is one of the key plus of the hotel, super friendly and efficient.

In the lowlights, I have to mention the rooms (very old, half-refurbished bathrooms, small and old beds, A/C not really tunable), the noise of the railway station (and the waves, but that's OK) and the distance to Galle. There is a really nice pool but it is a 15 min walk from the hotel (a first time in my life...). The wifi/internet did not work most of the time and that was really an issue for us, as we needed to access information.

Room Tip: Don't go to the top floor as it is noisy - there is a train line close to the hotel and the trai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BernieBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
1.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
1.3 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 30 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sri Gemunu Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sri Gemunu Beach Resort

Property: Sri Gemunu Beach Resort
Address: Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
#4 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sri Gemunu Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sri Gemunu Beach Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing