We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place just outside Unawatuna”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sri Gemunu Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous place just outside Unawatuna”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We had planned to stay for two nights, but ended up with five instead. This is a fantastic beach resort just outside Unawatuna. Perfect if you prefer tranquility instead of party noise. On the other hand it is just 5-10 min by tuc-tuc down to Unawatuna beach, or you can walk almost all the way on the beach. Rooms are clean and well kept, with flowers and mosquito nets. Some rooms have A/C, but we did not need it. Nice Sri Lankan food in the kitchen, but also possible to eat Wstern food. The owners are really nice, flexible and friendly. They are happy to arrange alsmost anything you need, safari trips, diving, excursions and so on.

The resort has direct access to the beach and sellers are not allowed in the resort.

Don't miss the pool and spa area up in the jungle. Really beautiful! You can also stay there in a private chalet.

Perfect place to stay. They claim to be "the best on the beach" and I can only confirm!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    99
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
133
239
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We absolutely loved it at Sri Gemunu, I can't think of any faults, it was in a magical spot, just far enough from the centre of Unawatuna so that it's away from the crowds but close enough so that it's only a 1 minute tuk tuk ride, the beach and stilt fishermen behind the hotel give a great insight of tropical Sri Lanka, woke up each morning to eat our free Sri lankan breakfast in the sun with waves crashing on the rocks meters away, monkeys and squirrels playing in the tree's, we will be definitely coming back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bentrewin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2012

skip past galle and unawatuna and stay further down the coast. sri gemunu in particular is in a great location beach-wise (definitely wander over to wijaya beach resort for a passion fruit margarita), and you can still get a tuk tuk for 300 rupees to take you back to the fort and tourist beach as and when.

good hot water and shower. breakfast and dinner were included. dinner much better than breakfast. magnificent seafood, soups, and vegetable curries. good service, and less intrusive than other places we tried on our trip.

overall an excellent value.

Room Tip: can't really go wrong, but second floor on east side were great even though room didn't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed in Sri Gemunu for three weeks and after traveling for a week in Sri Lanka, Sri Gemunu is the nicest place to be. It has very good standards for room, staff are friendly and the owners as well, always willing to help. Good food and good value for money.
The place is 5 minutes away from the busy Unawatuna beach, and if you want to go to unawatuna you can take tuk-tuk for £1.5. So if you are looking for a quiet place to stay then this is the place to be.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lsri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

The location of the hotel is probably the best thing. Reef is protecting part of the beach and thus it is safer for swimming. The room was small but ok. It was weird that when we arrived nobody told us what time is the breakfast or dinner. They did not give any instructions to anything and you could not find that in any brochure either. Also when we were leaving, nobody told us when is the check out and we were planning to leave all our stuff in the room for the day but then I asked about it and they said that we should have been left the room already.

Even though the hotel has 20 rooms they try to have personal contact and service for all the guests. One thing that was a little bit annoying was that from day one they asked how long will you stay and then told me it is too short time to be there and so on. When I come to holiday, I do not like to think the leaving before I have even started it. One of the drivers in this hotel was quite greed and was trying to take us to every tourist shop on our way to destination. They probably have deal with some shops and get a part of the money you are spending in those shops. Some other locals were also quite greed especially in tourist places.

The food was quite good and the cook was probably the nicest person in this hotel. Many of the staff did not speak very well English but most of them were really nice! The swimming pool is quite far away in the ayurveda center.

We were staying part of our holiday in this resort and I am happy that I did not book this hotel for the whole trip as it would have been a bit boring to stay whole time there...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matti P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Sri Gemunu. The food was excellent,the chef and staff clearly are very dedicated to producing varied and extremely high quality dishes and show a personal
pride in their work. New years eve dinner was superb and extremely generous.The staff were all lovely and friendly, and I loved the floral art on the beds at night. There is also a beautiful peaceful Aryuvedic spa nearby which is very good.

The location is fantastic, and the coral reef was the best and safest swimming I had on holiday. It is on the Southwest coast so it is possible to see fantastic sunrises and watch the stilt fisherman waiting for a catch, and see fabulous sunsets as well. Worth waking early for! The atmosphere is relaxed and yet attentive. There is plenty of space on the grounds although people are friendly and shared tips about a lovely and excellent local tailor who will copy or make anything you want, and a terrific woodcarver nearby whose work is better quality and value than the 'factories'. Very accessible to Galle for a day trip. A terrific place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judithwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

In terms of location, this resort is perfect. Beautiful beaches, surf and the stilted fisherman on your doorstep - which makes for great sunset photos. There's a safe area for kids to swim and within a short walk deserted beaches too. As well as the amenties at the resort, there's also a nice little beach cafe next door.

In addition, the resort is set back from the noisy main road - unlike some other accommodation options.

It's located about a five minute drive from Unawatuna - so it's a quiet resort (no hawkers etc)but within easy access of the fun on the beach at Unawatuna (New Year's Eve was great here, by the way).

The downsides to Sri Gemunu are that the rooms are pretty basic (this suited us but maybe not everyone - although we would have liked a better shower!). Room 18, where we were, was also next to the staff accommodation and could get a little noisy, although the sound of the waves usually drowned it out. For 7,200 rupees a night we had breakfast and dinner included. The food was ok - not bad, not good.

But I'd certainly recommend it. Our friends staying at the pricier Unawatuna Beach Resort thought we were in paradise compared to their place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanMcAllister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
1.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 32 in Unawatuna
899 reviews
2.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 32 in Unawatuna
690 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 32 in Unawatuna
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 32 in Unawatuna
423 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#8 of 32 in Unawatuna
263 reviews
1.3 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 32 in Unawatuna
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sri Gemunu Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sri Gemunu Beach Resort

Property: Sri Gemunu Beach Resort
Address: Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
#4 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sri Gemunu Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sri Gemunu Beach Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing