We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Expectations”
Review of Ridee Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ridee Villa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

After an extremely long and hot journey from Kandy we arrived at Ridee Villa to be met both by Sumith and Vasana (the owners) with a delicious fresh pineapple drink and cold, wet flannels - both so refreshing. We were escorted up to our gorgeous room personally by Vasana. Beautiful fresh flowers floating in the filled bath and candles lit, cold beers in the fridge (complimentary in the VIP room) - what a treat! Vasana made us the most glorious Sri Lankan supper the following night (complimentary again, if you stay in a VIP room) which was some of the tastiest we had had during our week on the island. Both Sumith and Vasana were so attentive during our 3 night stay and were a wealth of information. They are a charming couple willing to please at every turn. Vasana directed me where to buy saree's in Galle although I haven't had the courage to wear them yet, but I will! The Villa is situated only a 2 minute walk from the beach, away from the slightly ramshackle accommodation on the beachfront. The beach itself is lovely with a stunning outlook to the Indian Ocean. You are handed a beach towel and chilled water each day before you head out from the Villa. Attention to detail in the Villa was obvious from the tasteful decoration of the rooms to the spacious areas for relaxing with a superb variety of books and magazines to read. Definitely a place to be recommended. We hope to return very soon.

Room Tip: Go for the VIP room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 281 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at Ridee Villas, and I am so happy about that decision, made at my computer one cold night. This was just the best hotel we stayed in, in Sri Lanka, and the others were pretty special. we arrived to fresh juices and towels as we checked in from our standing room only train trip to Galle. We had the VIP room, and the benefits of this room type are so worth it. An absolutely delicious 8-10 dish Sri Lankan meal on our first night, cooked by our hostess, who is super friendly and great for local advice and arranging tours. We did whale watching and it was well organized and we saw 10 whales. The design is great, with lots of colonial feel to this newish build (it was demolished during the tsunami) and the owner a former jeweler, has put a lot of thought into the design and detailing of this place. The room looked like a dream when we arrived, with flowers in the bath, mosquito nets hanging from the four poster bed, fans slowly turning and some lovely tropical fruit. The bathroom is really clean, well designed and inviting. Staff all super pro-active and helpful, always making sure you had a beach towel and some water before you left the hotel, and great with kids. But at the same time not always in your space. We didn't get charged any extras from the fridge to beers and afternoon teas our whole stay. This is a couple wanting to provide you with a great experience. I just wish I had got to ride in their perfectly restored convertible morris minor, they should offer train pick up, it would have been the icing on the cake of an amazing stay. Next time, hopefully. Enjoy, I am jealous you are going!

Room Tip: The rooms by the road are not noisy at night, and you get an end part of the balcony out of a 2nd do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AstraHBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Ridee Villa was the highpoint of our Sri Lanka trip.We stayed here for 3 nights & I wish we could've extended our stay. It was way better than what we had come to expect from Sri Lankan hotels/guest houses.
We reached the place in the evening and were greeted by a friendly & smiling staff. We were also upgraded to a deluxe room & that was a welcome surprise. It is located at a very convenient location on the main Galle-Matara road & about 300 metres away from the beach.
It is well run by a lovely couple Sumith & Vasana. The service was impeccable & cleanliness was top notch (a relief after the Sevana Guest House,Kandy disaster). I have stayed across many 5 star hotels in India & the service levels & attention towards guests was comparable. Every member of the staff played his part to perfection.
Sumith & Vasana both take an active interest in the day to day running of the property and it shows.
My wife developed some skin allergy during our stay & Vasana arranged for the medicines. Thereafter everytime either of them met the first thin they asked was the condition of my wife. It was genuine & such little gestures go a long way to distinguish between a good and an excellent service. Small gestures like giving us a little memento & bottle of water for our journey were very thoughtful of them.
The deluxe rooms are very spacious, very nice & comfortable beds & a huge bathroom. The rooms were tastefully done. We were given a room on the first floor & you have nice artifacts on the floor.
On the beach there are good eateries like surf city, kingfisher etc. If you like buffets there is UBR (unawatuna beach resort) but though the spread was good the food was strictly average.

All in all we loved unawatuna & it was made memorable by Sumith, Vasana & their team.They were simply brilliant and we would love to visit them again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BornFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Our stay at Ridee Villa surpassed all our expectations. We were so well taken care of. Our transportation from the airport with Yohan, a great driver. We were so warmly greeted at the Villa by Sumith (the owner), Vasana (the manager) and all the smiley staff, after a long trip with our children, we instantly felt relaxed and welcomed.
The Villa and the rooms were beautiful, clean and serene. The VIP rooms we stayed in were perfect for couples with kids, they have doors that open to the terrace so we were able to put the kids to sleep and have our fun while being close to them.
Anything we could think of was provided for us by Sumith and Vasana, they are truly amazing and dedicated people.
The only thing I regret was not having stayed longer at Villa Ridee, but we'll definitely be back :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RimaN22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had planned to stay in Ridee and unawatuna for 5 nights then spend the remainder of our vacation touring Sri Lanka. After our first night and the amazing welcome and accommodations we found we canceled all other plans and decided to extend our vacation and stay at Ridee Villa. The owner Sumith and the manager of the facility Vassana were incredibly supportive and helped us plan many excursions and were so helpful in providing all and every requirements we had to make our vacation the best one we have ever had. Besides the service and the comfort and cleanliness of the villa, the location is amazing. You are less then five minutes from the beach and a few minutes away from great restaurants recommended by Sumith and Vassana. All transportation was arranged by them, including our safari experience and many other tours. The breakfast is great with many options and exotic fruits. I would definitely recommend Ridee villa for an exclusive and wonderful stay. We will most definably go back there and would never imagine staying any where else.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilliamF423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Absolutely magnificent, top service.
Highly recomended.
Beach towels and water everyday.
Super staff, very clean, nice rooms.
2 minute to beach.
Owner Mr.Sumith is taking care of his business like a baby.
We had welcome drink and wet towels when arrived, lovely.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pasha_Kerem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had an amazing time staying here. The VIP room we stayed in was beautiful and its really close to unawatuna beach. The food was incredible, we had a meal cooked for us on our first night which was one of the best meals we had on our trip. The staff were so helpful and really friendly, we even got a trip out in sumiths classic car around galle!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.4 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 34 in Unawatuna
959 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 34 in Unawatuna
465 reviews
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 34 in Unawatuna
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#6 of 34 in Unawatuna
310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#12 of 34 in Unawatuna
835 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 34 in Unawatuna
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridee Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridee Villa

Address: 321 Peelllagoda, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 148 Specialty Lodging in Unawatuna
Price Range: $111 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come as a Guest, Leave as a Friend " Ridee Villa is not a Hotel or Holiday Resort But someone who travel down south or willing to spend a few days on the unawatuna beach, This is the ideal place to lodge.Probably this would be the best Specialty lodging of an extraordinary Unique Boutique Guesthouse in Unawatuna.RV offers you unbelievable serenity & freedom that cannot be experienced in a mainstream hotel. Therefore this becomes Your Home away from Home. It is virtually a second home where you can spend and unwind mainly due to the unique "Home Hotel Concept" practiced by the amiable owners who are at hand, personally, to accede to all your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ridee Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ridee Villa Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing