We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ridee Villa - heavenly”
Review of Ridee Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ridee Villa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We stayed with Sumith and the gang last Christmas time, 26 December for 6 nights,2011 - 12. This was our first stop in Sri Lanka and was by far and away the loveliest hotel we stayed at. Some were larger or grander in scale, but the care taken by Sumith and the boys was marvellous. Little exquisite Sri Lanka sweets and delicacies were offered every morning before breakfast and on a very early start to go and watch the whales (4.00 am) Sumith was up with tea and a packed breakfast for us to take with us! I cannot recommend Ridee Villa enough, for a relaxing and happy stay in Unawatuna. Sheer delight.
Dee & Jim

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ranabanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 146 of 276 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2012

If I will have just one word, it will be just 'excellent'. From initial welcome, comfortable rooms with stylish bathrooms and wonderful breakfast with amazing variaties of local fruits to a great location (one minute walk to Unawatuna beach), everything was perfect. And above that wonderful hotel staff and owner. Highly recommended place.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MedaBeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Had an absoloutely first class stay during the recent England cricket tour. Me and my wife stayed for ten days, and couldn't have felt better looked after. As everyone has said, Sumiths customer service is amazing, with his team of staff being the friendliest bunch of lads you could hope to meet.

Special mention should also be made about Sumiths help with organising tours, he arranged a five day tour of Sri Lanka for us with his driver, and really went the extra mile to ensure we had a great time, including calling us every day of the tour.

Some have mentioned the location, and whilst not right on the beach you are litterally under two minutes walk - and for that two minutes you get what seemed to be a far superior standard of accomodation for your money.

All in, a fantastic stay in a beautiful house ina beautiful resort. Will look forward to returning!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Sumith was a top businessman employing 300 making and selling jewellery until he lost everything in the tsunami. Then he opened Ridee Villa, which means "silver" villa, and he runs it with charm and a 'hands-on' approach, assisted by several young men and the senior assistant Somasiri. Rooms are large, cool and comfortable, without frills. Breakfast is included, consisting of a great buffet of fruits and sweets on a large table followed by eggs, bacon and sausage - with plenty of bread available. Sumith is alwaqys on hand to give advice, for example, on excursions and taxis around the island - our stay during the Galle Test Match was pleasurable and relaxing, with the beach less than 5 minutes away and plenty of buses and taxis to town (20 minutes) on the doorstep. Highly recommended - David and Ed G

Room Tip: E-mail Sumith after you book - he installed an extra bed for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DHGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

I spent one night here last week, and could not agree more with other reviewers! Manager Sumith and his team do an awesome job, and are a lovely bunch.
In terms of negative points, first note that the hotel is not beachside. However many of the beachfront places are quite ramshackle and not very inviting, so this was not an issue for me. The (very new) Ridee Villa is about 2mins walk from the beach, but take care crossing the busy highway. Secondly, regular rooms don't have TV's at present, which they should (a lot of Sri Lanka shuts early and nightlife is thin on the ground).
Other than that, all good and I will definitely stay again. Keep up the amazing work Sumith!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road and ideally with a TV ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TK1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

My husband and I have just spent ten days at Ridee Villa. We don't normally stay for so long in one place, but Sumith and his family made us feel very welcome from our first contact, arriving and throughout our stay. As others have described, the breakfast is stunning - including the extra pots of tea. Although not now a regular offering, we did have one typical Sri Lankan evening meal which was superb and fully enjoyed our mix of Sri Lankan and western style breakfasts! Information and advice was spot on.. whether a local trip, when to use a bus vs tuktuk, a trip out whale watching (and Sumith joined us, so it was extra special) or which route to take to get to a restaurant post monsoon heavy rain! Yes, the road is a bit busy at times, but this will change once the new highway continues to Matara... it quietens at night and you are more likely to be woken by a noisy barbet than the hooting of an overtaking bus. If you choose here, you will not be disappointed by the natural honesty and friendliness of Sumith and family.

Room Tip: We had plenty of room in a deluxe suite.. superb large shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hellij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

My wife and I just spent 7 nights at Ridee Villa and found it to be very enjoyable,Sumith and all his staff are very helpful and could not do enough for us.
Whether we wanted to ask advise on trips to local tourist spots or use the internet nothing was too much trouble.
I would recommend Ridee to anyone but especially couples.
It is on the main road but its easy to cross and then you are 2 minute walk to the beach.
I would certainly stay there again if I go back to Unawatuna.
Too sum up on how friendly a place it is one afternoon we arrived back at the hotel and Sumith was making fresh fruit juice,we collected our key and went to our room,2 minutes later there was a knock on the door and we were presented with two freshly made fresh mixed fruit juices that tasted fantastic.
Thanks to all that work there for making it a memorable week.

Room Tip: Rooms near the rear may not have as much traffic noise but it is not really a issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mattytColchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.4 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
933 reviews
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 33 in Unawatuna
713 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#11 of 33 in Unawatuna
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 33 in Unawatuna
448 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#6 of 33 in Unawatuna
292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Unawatuna
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridee Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridee Villa

Address: 321 Peelllagoda, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Unawatuna
Price Range: $83 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come as a Guest, Leave as a Friend " Ridee Villa is not a Hotel or Holiday Resort But someone who travel down south or willing to spend a few days on the unawatuna beach, This is the ideal place to lodge.Probably this would be the best Specialty lodging of an extraordinary Unique Boutique Guesthouse in Unawatuna.RV offers you unbelievable serenity & freedom that cannot be experienced in a mainstream hotel. Therefore this becomes Your Home away from Home. It is virtually a second home where you can spend and unwind mainly due to the unique "Home Hotel Concept" practiced by the amiable owners who are at hand, personally, to accede to all your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ridee Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ridee Villa Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing