We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Designer's Hotel”
Review of Ridee Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ridee Villa
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing, China
1 review
“Designer's Hotel”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

The design, people there, food...All are very very good!
If I go to Sri Lanka next time, I'll live there again.^^

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cai k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    24
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
160
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brno, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stay in this hotel with our friends for five days. Hotel is very clean. The owner and staff are ready to full file all your wishes. Rooms are comfortable and large. We also enjoyed breakfast buffet. Even if the hotel is situated close to main road, rooms are quite. Beach is in 5 min walk. During our stay in the Sri Lanka we used three different hotels. Ridee Vila was best of them.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pau, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We stayed 5 nights at the end of our 30 night Sri Lanka tour. The boss and all the staff are most welcoming and helpful, the rooms excellent, the breakfasts first class.
The only problem for us was we didn't particularly care for Unawatuna itself - but if you are going we heartily recommend staying here!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLAVERIE1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

The hotel is five minutes from the beach (walking distance), but close to the road, which makes it quite noisy sometimes. The rooms however are quiet, nicely decorated and clean. The staff is very polite and always helpful.
We only had breakfast there since you can eat everywhere in Unawatuna; breakfast was typical Sri Lankan-tourist style, meaning lots of fresh fruits, coffee, bread, jam and eggs.

We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manfred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex. England
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Very nice, very clean modern hotel. Very friendly and helpful manager and very polite staff. Two minutes walk to the beach. Superb breakfasts. Excellent value for money. We stayed for five days but we wish that we had stayed longer. No doubt will go back there again in the near future

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Ridee Villa is without doubt the best value guesthouse/hotel in Unawatuna. Ridee oozes characters and style, which have been self designed by the owner-manager who is a delightful gentleman. No request is of too much trouble for the manager; he will happily arrange day trips or transport at very competative prices. Rooms are of high quality and spacious. The breakfast buffet is full of variety and very tasty. The staff are polite and welcoming. The only downside to Ridee Villa is that it is not located directly on the beach; however, it is literally a two minute walk! I wish I had stayed for more days at Ridee Villa.

Room Tip: If you are happy not having an ocean view for tha sake of an excellent guesthouse - this is a no bra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Very friendly and helpful owner and staff. Modern well-maintained and only 2 minutes walk to the beach. Superb breakfast. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.4 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 31 in Unawatuna
882 reviews
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 31 in Unawatuna
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 31 in Unawatuna
810 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 31 in Unawatuna
401 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 31 in Unawatuna
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridee Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridee Villa

Property: Ridee Villa
Address: 321 Peelllagoda, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come as a Guest, Leave as a Friend " Ridee Villa is not a Hotel or Holiday Resort But someone who travel down south or willing to spend a few days on the unawatuna beach, This is the ideal place to lodge.Probably this would be the best Specialty lodging of an extraordinary Unique Boutique Guesthouse in Unawatuna.RV offers you unbelievable serenity & freedom that cannot be experienced in a mainstream hotel. Therefore this becomes Your Home away from Home. It is virtually a second home where you can spend and unwind mainly due to the unique "Home Hotel Concept" practiced by the amiable owners who are at hand, personally, to accede to all your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ridee Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ridee Villa Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing