We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with great staff in a beautiful location, on the beach, recommend to all!”
Review of Peacock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Peacock Hotel
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Unawatuna
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I am very surprised that this hotel has the same bad here! This hotel I would recommend to anyone on a family holiday, for a romantic getaway for two! Perfect and very friendly staff and owner, Mr. perfect man, and this was once again thank you very much for everything! Rooms and bathroom very clean. Regular cleaning every day and public areas very clean!
Beautiful beach around the hotel and plenty of attractions for tourists in the area! We visited the nearby turtle farm. Very nice experience with the surrounding temples and a piece of Peacock, walk along the beach to the Jungle Beach, an amazing and romantic place.
Unawatuna is a place you'll never forget and the local staff of Hotel Peacock not. Highly recommended in all respects!! Mary and James, Czech republic, Prague

Room Tip: All rooms we have seen, too clean and tidy! Be sure to choose! Super price for a beautiful bed, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 125 of 239 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

This place is for those people travelling on a budget. One of the cheapest places on the beach to stay and the rooms are very reasonably priced. It is a very 'be-out-the-whole-day-and-come-back-only-to-sleep' sort of a place. The hotel has a very convenient location and it looks out to the clear waters of unawatuna beach. The manager is quite a shrewd fellow who willingly reduced the rates for three young girls who were traveling so that was an added bonus for us! :D
Overall, not luxurious but just right for people who are looking out only to crash somewhere for the night!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank TanuLahoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is a backpackers guesthouse where the balcony is pretty much on top of the sea when the tide is right, and for the cost of a night here you wil not get that anywhere else.
The room itself was actually pretty decent we looked at a few of the very cheapest, which were ultra basic, but settled on a room that was a tiny bit more expensive, but so much value for money.
The price
At first was quite high but the manager said he could do a deal with a/c and breakfast for two for a good price. Being backpackers used to only fan and eating in cheapo places we didn't give it much thought. Until he told us the price he could do it for - it was too good to refuse.
Although we did not eat anything here other than our ( inclusive ) breakfast, what we had was good enough.
We had no problem here with the staff whatsoever and this review would be 4/5 if they didn't make you pay in advance, something that has never been asked of me throughout my time in the country.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JJno41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We booked and paid to stay at The Peacock in February. We had booked a deluxe room at the top but couldn't view the room because someone was still in it but were constantly assured by the staff that is was the best room.
When we did eventually get to our room, the staff were ungrateful for the tip we gave them for carrying our bags, even though we insisted we could do it ourselves (we are backpackers after all!) they did hang around for a tip but scoffed at it!
The room was so basic, hardly a mattress, a grated window that looked out on a building site and the balcony was across the hall and was meant to be our private balcony but there was a man on it!
We were not happy for the money we were paying so we decided to leave and that they could keep the money we had paid. The manager then started having a right go at us in front of everyone and was demanding that we pay for 3 nights as this was the minimum stay. We obviously said no but he was shouting and being so so rude! I felt uncomfortable from the moment we arrived because all they kept asking was how long were we staying,can we pay now etc.
I do not recommend this hotel to anyone, the manager is a bully and is just greedy for money and trying to take the travelers for a ride.
DO NOT GO HERE!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We didn't stay here but we tried the seafood BBQ in the evening and it was one our best meals in SL. The calamari was divine and the jumbo prawns were delish. Highly recommended. Service was quite slow but always with a smile (though to be honest, it was no different to any other place in Unawatuna)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank whoha2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I spent one night at the PH on a two night stopover in Unawatuna. Having spent the first night in a horrible bake-oven-like room on top of an extremely noisy bar further down the beach (ok... admittedly my judgement for choosing a place of accommodtation was evidently not entirely intact at the time), I was craving some air conditioned rest and recreation, and the PH seemed to be the only hotel that day, that were able to offer this.

The staff seemed friendly enough - also the manager, who was very smily and attentive towards all the guests. I ate there the same evevning (had a local spicy devilled dish), and found the food to be average to slightly above average. There is a nice view of the beach from the bar, and the location is pretty good for Unawatuna.

All in all: OK - nothing fancy or extraordinary, but you get what you pay for.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The only good thing about the Peacock Hotel is its location. Being right on the beach you get to hear the sound of the waves crashing and get spectacular sunsets from the balcony. However the owner's management of the hotel is very poor. The rooms are very run down, with no money being spent on the most basic of improvements. For example our bed should have been consigned to the scrap heap 25 years ago and the lighting in the bathroom was like something out of a horror movie.

Also the owner appears to be a bully, getting into confrontations with both his staff and paying guests. It does not appear to be a happy place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Will B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 mi away
Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel
0.3 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
#23 of 34 in Unawatuna
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Villa Baywatch
Villa Baywatch
#30 of 34 in Unawatuna
37 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heaven By O
Heaven By O
#5 of 34 in Unawatuna
69 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
Nooit Gedacht Heritage Hotel
#16 of 34 in Unawatuna
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peacock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peacock Hotel

Address: Peellegoda, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range: $30 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Peacock Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Peacock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peacock Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing