We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, clean and friendly”
Review of Peacock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Peacock Hotel
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Unawatuna
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I am baffled by the appalling reviews of this hotel. Peacock is well-run, clean and friendly. I stayed between Christmas and new years and the female manager was always happy to help and chat with two clueless westerners. We paid peak season rates but were still pleased overall.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuJu_Lives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 215 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in peacock guesthouse and we had to pay the full amount in advance, after price has been set up with the hotel, including accomodation and breakfast.
On the 2nd day, the management sent us a waiter to tell us that the price has been reviewed since and that it will be increase of 1000 rps more, as we approach christmas. We told them that the price has been fixed already and that it wasn t very profesionnal to change their mind. Their answer was that we have to check out if we weren t agree. That s what we did before 11am, unless you ve got to pay one more night.
Few times on our way out to the hotel, we have been asked where we were going and. It was obvious that they expected us to have all our meals inside the place.
View was very good from room 17 on the top floor, overlooking the ocean, but not cleaned especially the bathtoom, hot water wasn t working.
We will never recommand this place to anybody with such a unprofesional behaviour and i will boycott it if i go back to unawatuna

Room Tip: Room17for the view, but noisy with the ocean just underneath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank last4road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We have been there two nights and the room was OK, but there is a lot of workers there, sitting all they at the lobby\resturant and it's kind of annoying.

The food in the reaturant is very bad, they have a special menu for pizza so we tought that it's a good pizza, but its not a pizza, it's shame that they called what they brought us pizza. It was uncooked bread with a lot of ketchup and very little cheese. The spaghetti was terrible also.

But the worst part is that the feeling there is not good.

I say - stay away !!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eitanmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

When we arrived the floor was full with sand.when we asked them to clean the room they send a buy to swip the floor a bit. He brought out a small mountain of sand...the bathroom was disguasing,the room was small and not clean. We were backpacking for 2weeks before that in sri lanka but we never been to such unclean and unfriendly place.not worth the money.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pumpkin064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

The staff is friendly. The owner is a jerk and is constantly yelling at his staff as you are sitting in the restaurant trying to relax and enjoy your meal. The location is good. The restaurant is the most affordable on the beach and the food is good. The rooms are dirty and there are bugs biting you as you try to sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Look at my pictures and see for yourself, this place is terrible!

It's a tourist trap!
Bad food, rude owner, bad rooms.
Ther was rain on our bed, whe changed rooms and had to walk 500 meters to an other hotel.
No appologies whatsoever!

Certainly don't go there with kids, unless you wan't to get rid of them and make it look like an accident!

Do not go there, i repaet do not go there!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

My husband and I arrived in the afternoon and sat down to have an overpriced child sized lunch. During lunch, my husband noticed turtles hatching on the hotel propterty behind a fence situated beside the restaurant. My husband is a professional biologist and we took great interest and helped the staff dig out the nests. They instructed us to place the sea turtles in buckets they had filled with water. Around 200 turtles were collected and one of the staff advised us to return that evening st 8:00 pm to help release the turtles to the sea, once it was dark and safe to do so. We returned at 8 pm and were told to sit and order something and that they would be released in a while. We sat and had a couple drinks and waited untul 9 pm. Around that time, one of the staff brought a small round bucket out and placed it on the seafood table in front of the restaurant beside a sign that read, "free sea turtles after eating here," or something to this effect. There were around 30 turtles in the container. We watched as tourists picked out a turtle and put them in the sea and we also put a few in. Then I went into the restaurant and asked them to bring more turtles since the ones they brought had been released. I was told by a number of the staff that all the turtles had already been released earlier. We knew this to be untrue because when we arrived, we asked where the larger buckets we put them into that afternoon were, and we were told they were put inside, so local dogs could not get at them. I challenged them and told them that if they had the turtles hidden somewhere, they had a responsibility to release them. My husband positively identified them as Ridley Olive turtles, a Cites 1 species and they had already been in the containers since 3 pm that afternoon. The owner then came over to us and started shouting at us that they were his turtles because they had dug up the nests on the beach and reburied them on his property and he could do what they wanted with them. I suggested they did not belong to them and that they would possibly die if they weren't released and that what he is doing is just wrong. THEN HE SMACKED ME IN THE MOUTH and threatened us that if we did not leave, he would do something a lot worse to us.
Make your on judgments and continue to support this man if you like. I plan on contacting the authorities and he will be reported for the physical and environmental assault. He to me represents so much that has gone awry with tourism.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Krishna70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel
0.4 mi away
Prime Time Hotel
Prime Time Hotel
#23 of 33 in Unawatuna
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Heaven By O
Heaven By O
#12 of 33 in Unawatuna
37 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rock Fort Hotel & Spa
Rock Fort Hotel & Spa
#25 of 33 in Unawatuna
122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
Nooit Gedacht Holiday Resort
#24 of 33 in Unawatuna
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peacock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peacock Hotel

Address: Peellegoda, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range: $28 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Peacock Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Peacock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peacock Hotel Unawatuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing