We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Private Getaway”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Skinny Beach House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Unawatuna, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Dimitri K
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Private Getaway”
Reviewed March 2, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Had a wonderful holiday at this lovely place... Its everything you wish for and more.. Private but just a hop away from one of the best restaurants in the area.. The place might be names Skinny beach house but its extremely spacious and well equipped and clean... the beach has a natural pool made by a reef... The rooms were specious well equipped... The main bedroom has a great view of the beach and a lovely balcony.. perfect place to getaway for a few days!!!

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 4, 2017
Thank you for your visit to Skinny Beach House
We look forward to a return visit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltinour...
World
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Your home on one of the best places on earth”
Reviewed February 27, 2017 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The location is just outside of the busy town and in surrounded by all the beautiful beaches. I would recommend every single person to stay at this house! Make sure to check the restaurant next to it as well!

Date of stay: September 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 28, 2017
Thank you
Look forward to seeing you back on your return Sri Lanka
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie-La...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location with fabulous ocean views”
Reviewed February 18, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at Skinny Beach in Jan 2017 and absolutely loved it. The master bedroom has fabulous views directly over the ocean with a private veranda to sit and drink tea or cocktails while you watch the beautiful sunset over the ocean. Air-conditioning and ceiling fans keep you cool and there's a cute private plunge pool on the back deck. Stairs lead directly from the deck on to the sandy beach with sun lounges for those who want to lie around working on their tan. Wijaya beach is very protected so it's a great spot for calm ocean swimming which my husband and I did every day we were there. The fairy lights and night time pool lights make for a lovely romantic atmosphere on the back deck and the tropical weather's so warm that swimming in the plunge pool at night is wonderfully refreshing.

Even though the Skinny Beach property is right on the main Galle/Matara road it was surprisingly quiet inside the house. Both bedrooms have ensuite bathrooms with great water pressure. The mattress and linens in the master bedroom were super soft and comfortable, like sleeping in puffy clouds. Heavy curtains in the bedroom help keep out the morning light for those of us who prefer to sleep late.

There's a fully equipped kitchen if you want to prepare your own food (or have the chef do it for you) and It's only a few steps down to Wijaya restaurant which does really delicious food in a casual beach-side atmosphere if you want to go out - the mushroom and bacon risotto I ate there was fantastic.

It's only a short tuk-tuk ride down to Galle if you want to visit the historic Galle Fort area. There's lots of other great restaurants and bars only a short tuk-tuk ride away too. Sudda and CJ and warm, friendly and welcoming hosts who will help you out with anything you need. We had a wonderful time, only wish we could have stayed longer. Very happy to recommend them.

Date of stay: January 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2017
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to have you visit Skinny - come back soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunsetdre...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect little paradise”
Reviewed December 29, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My husband and I were blessed to stay at Skinny Beach, one of the best experiences during our time together in Sri Lanka.
So beautifully designed: stylish and luxurious, private and spacious. Amazing fully equipped kitchen, plunge pool, huge bedrooms.
Great location overlooking my favourite Wijaya beach, also heaps of places surrounding for tourist and local food.
The stay was only made better by hosts CJ and Sudda and their beautiful family. The team is super knowledgable about places to check out.
Perfect for a couple, family or a few friends- I can guarantee you won't want to leave your perfect little paradise :)

Date of stay: June 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 2, 2017
Thank you so much for your visit and beautiful words
Come back soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdiWickz
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A quirky combination of a homely getaway”
Reviewed December 27, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

I stayed at Skinny Beach over a long weekend with my wife and a close friend. As the name suggested the structure of the building is skinny but when you enter the villa and wander around you realize, how craftily designed the living spaces are.

It has a lovely ground floor with a living area, kitchenette and outside mini pool with a sitting area, that is lazily gazing at the beaches of Unawatuna, just a jump and a hop away.

There are two rooms upstairs, which are very spacious and air conditioned.

The Skinny Beach is an example of the owners tasteful approach in creating a home away from home. Thanks CJ and Suddha for an amazing stay.

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 28, 2016
Thank you for your visit, we look forward to welcoming you back soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puki62
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Little paradise”
Reviewed November 30, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We were 4 adults renting the villa for 10 days. Check-in and check-out were fast, breakfast included and prepared to perfection.
Close to walking distances to restaurants on the beach
The main BR upstairs that faces the beach is just simply heaven...
Will recommend without hesitation to future travellers

Date of stay: November 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: right on the beach, little heaven
Liked least: no A/C on the main floor, it can get a bit humid and hot
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 1, 2016
Thank you for your visit. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay
We look forward to welcoming you back
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kystal E
1 review
“awsome grettway spot!!”
Reviewed August 12, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the skinny beach house for my birthday. I was accompanied by some of my friends, 6 women in total. The venue is absolutely amazing! The doors open right to the ocean when you enter and are greeted with drinks. The bedrooms comfortably fit 3 girls. The view from the upstairs bedroom is immaculate and you wake up every morning to the sound of the ocean. Everyday we were catered with a delicious traditional SrinLLankian breakfast. Overall the owners of the house were outstanding!! Booking airport transferrs was made so easy by them. They really helped my tranquil beach birthday come to life! They had awesome recommendations of where to eat, where to party and where to have a spa day. They both really made the trip come to life. I would highly recommend staying at this location whether your a family looking for some rest and relaxation or a group of people looking to party.

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2016
Thanks Krystal
It was our pleasure to meet you all and have you celebrate your birthday at Skinny. We look forward to more celebrations in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing