We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing!!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Villa Nilaya

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Unawatuna, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Shravan S
Delhi
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed November 6, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Amazing villa and service team. Great for family vacation, fantastic view and most importantly everyone had amazing time over here! For sure we will come back for another holiday again! Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balkrishn...
mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
660 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 445 helpful votes
“Seven Stars ( 5 for property 2 for service) !!”
Reviewed March 29, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
3
people found this review helpful

It's a seven star property. It is right on the beach, about 25 minutes drive from Galle. The ground floor has got a big open drawing room overlooking pool and the beach + kitchen and a toilet. The upper floor has 2 bedrooms with toilets and a big balcony. The view from the house is absolutely amazing. The beach is very clean, safe and almost private since locals don't come to this side. One can spend hours just sitting on sunbeds and listening to the beautiful sound of waves. The property is maintained very well. Chef Prabhat, Ayesh(cleaner) and Wilmat(security) were always at our service with a smile on their faces. The Sri Lankan veg food prepared by Prabhat was just too good. It is an ideal place for families, friends, and couples. Already planning for next year. Wish could have posted some beautiful pictures taken here !!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 30, 2017
Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back again to our little piece of paradise in the isle of Serendib
Team Nilaya
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffwest1...
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Real WOW facctor”
Reviewed January 31, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had great expectations for Villa Nilaya from the website and it did not disappoint !! - From the moment that the taxi pulled into the drive , it had the WOW factor with the view through the open main doors through the villa to the crashing waves of the sea. The ground floor is so well designed that you instantly feel at home - so comfortable with the various spaces flowing into the garden and the beach beyond - magical use of design and space !The furnishings and colour scheme reinforced the WOW factor.
The bedrooms were great in layout and the bathrooms were spacious and well finished - great design with plenty of space for both of us to use at the same time - no hassles. One drawback is the saloon doors which open direct onto the WC so privacy could be an issue, but there is a separate bathroom downstairs .Opening the blinds in the morning and looking out on the ocean was so uplifting and got the day off to a real holiday start.
The staff were excellent - with Prabath showing off his culinary skills in cooking whatever we wanted based on what he could get locally - he was so helpful and resourceful , that we did not try any of the excellent restaurants close by, as it was so relaxing eating in !!
The beach was great for walks and swimming - tho' can be dangerous with the rip tide so caution needed!- but the pool was great for cooling off - great little bar( German name ?) up the beach for mojios/beer and watching the sun set.
There are always some downers -The traffic noise can be disruptive in the night as the heavy lorries /buses use it at speed in the early hours - so ear plugs are wise particularly for bedroom 1 next to the stairs which has an open vent to the bathroom - the website panorama video shows a big building next door which is a villa where the upper balconies do overlook the garden and your sun loungers - so no topless if you are shy !,but it was not a problem for us - otherwise excellent all round and looking forward to the return trip :-)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 1, 2017
Thank you for your kind words Jeff and we are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay at Nilaya.
We shall pass around your words of appreciation to Prabhat and the other staff
We hope to see you back again very soon, to our small piece of paradise....
Team Nilaya
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attorresi...
Jebel Ali, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing stay at Nilaya”
Reviewed November 2, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We had the best family holiday in Sri Lanka at Villa Nilaya. The place is absolutely stunning and right on the beach. The staff has been amazing, all of them are great at what they do and also good with kids. We would recommend this villa to everyone. Great for couples and for families.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 1, 2017
Thank you so much for your kind words and we hope to see you back very soon to our small little piece of paradise
Regards
Team Nilaya
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beattysmi...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The perfect place to chill out in Southern Sri Lanka!”
Reviewed August 15, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We've just returned from 10 wonderful days in Villa Nilaya. We have two children 5 and 7 years old and the villa was perfect for our needs. The pictures don't lie, after a delicious breakfast step into the pool for an early morning swim and then down to the beach for a walk or sandcastle making. We were only 20 min by tuk-tuk to Galle where we took in the cricket and exploring the old Galle Fort, wonderful! The kids did surfing lessons everyday at Ahikava surf school near Galle and thoroughly enjoyed it.
The staff here are what makes this place extra special, nothing is too much trouble for chef Prabath who whipped up tasty meals for us everyday and Ayesh is great with the kids and the villa was always spotless, our washing done and rooms made up beautifully (and the beds are super comfy!). On top of this the boys were friendly, polite and very unobtrusive. It was heaven.
There are also great restaurants nearby (Weiner Dschungel and Wijaya to name a few), Koggala Lake to visit, a weekly fruit and veg market in Habaraduwa that is just buzzing and Unawatuna beach 10 min away. Such a great location!!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, right on the beach, and the downstairs lounge/dining/pool area.
Liked least: Traffic noise at night, although it didn't bother my husband, I'm just a light sleeper! Also the bedrooms are not interconnected so if you have really young kids it may not work. Perfect for 2 couples though.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2016
Hi
Thank you so much for your kind words and we are glad and you and the family had a great trip. It was our pleasure hosting you and we wish you safe travels and hope you see you again in the very near future.
Team Nilaya
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mishkabel...
kuala Lumpur
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This might be the most beautiful place on earth!”
Reviewed April 10, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I'm almost too scared to write this review in case this villa is fully booked when we want to come back! We were two families who stayed for three nights with our young children (5 - 8 years). This place was paradise and I could have stayed all week.

The location was excellent .. maybe 20 minutes from Galle and 20 minutes to Marissa. The kids loved playing on the beach outside our back door .. in April it was too rough to swim but they paddled in the wash of the waves and just beached around. The pool was perfect. The staff were super attentive and knowledgeable of the area .. the chef Prabath was lovely and cooked incredible Sri Lankan and western style breakfasts and dinners. A highlight was buying fresh fish and prawns from the beach fishermen and having them cooked for us one night.

The busy road is just behind the property but it didn't disturb us.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2016
Thank you for your kind words michaela and we are truly humbled. We are glad that you and the family enjoyed our little piece of paradise on the isle of serendib. We look forward to welcoming you in the future
Team Nilaya.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shunalish...
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paradise found”
Reviewed January 19, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Villa Nilaya is heaven. We enjoyed staying here very much. The cleanliness, the hospitality of the staff and the fact that the villa garden opens slap bang into the silver beach....are just some of the things that made all the difference to our stay. The chef made delicious meals for us and adjusted the spice to suit our palette. The neighbourhood too is very charming. A short walk from the villa are a bunch of stunning hotels, Fortress being just one of them. We spent the nights by the poolside counting the stars in the clear skies and by the day we stayed by the sea. The villa itself is stunning and comfortable. Cannot wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty of the villa, the beach.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 19, 2016
Thank you for your kind words and we are glad that you enjoy staying at our little paradise.
Team nilaya
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing