We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect place to chill out in Southern Sri...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Villa Nilaya

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Unawatuna, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Beattysmi...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The perfect place to chill out in Southern Sri Lanka!”
Reviewed August 15, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We've just returned from 10 wonderful days in Villa Nilaya. We have two children 5 and 7 years old and the villa was perfect for our needs. The pictures don't lie, after a delicious breakfast step into the pool for an early morning swim and then down to the beach for a walk or sandcastle making. We were only 20 min by tuk-tuk to Galle where we took in the cricket and exploring the old Galle Fort, wonderful! The kids did surfing lessons everyday at Ahikava surf school near Galle and thoroughly enjoyed it.
The staff here are what makes this place extra special, nothing is too much trouble for chef Prabath who whipped up tasty meals for us everyday and Ayesh is great with the kids and the villa was always spotless, our washing done and rooms made up beautifully (and the beds are super comfy!). On top of this the boys were friendly, polite and very unobtrusive. It was heaven.
There are also great restaurants nearby (Weiner Dschungel and Wijaya to name a few), Koggala Lake to visit, a weekly fruit and veg market in Habaraduwa that is just buzzing and Unawatuna beach 10 min away. Such a great location!!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, right on the beach, and the downstairs lounge/dining/pool area.
Liked least: Traffic noise at night, although it didn't bother my husband, I'm just a light sleeper! Also the bedrooms are not interconnected so if you have really young kids it may not work. Perfect for 2 couples though.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2016
Hi
Thank you so much for your kind words and we are glad and you and the family had a great trip. It was our pleasure hosting you and we wish you safe travels and hope you see you again in the very near future.
Team Nilaya
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mishkabel...
kuala Lumpur
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This might be the most beautiful place on earth!”
Reviewed April 10, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I'm almost too scared to write this review in case this villa is fully booked when we want to come back! We were two families who stayed for three nights with our young children (5 - 8 years). This place was paradise and I could have stayed all week.

The location was excellent .. maybe 20 minutes from Galle and 20 minutes to Marissa. The kids loved playing on the beach outside our back door .. in April it was too rough to swim but they paddled in the wash of the waves and just beached around. The pool was perfect. The staff were super attentive and knowledgeable of the area .. the chef Prabath was lovely and cooked incredible Sri Lankan and western style breakfasts and dinners. A highlight was buying fresh fish and prawns from the beach fishermen and having them cooked for us one night.

The busy road is just behind the property but it didn't disturb us.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2016
Thank you for your kind words michaela and we are truly humbled. We are glad that you and the family enjoyed our little piece of paradise on the isle of serendib. We look forward to welcoming you in the future
Team Nilaya.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shunalish...
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paradise found”
Reviewed January 19, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Villa Nilaya is heaven. We enjoyed staying here very much. The cleanliness, the hospitality of the staff and the fact that the villa garden opens slap bang into the silver beach....are just some of the things that made all the difference to our stay. The chef made delicious meals for us and adjusted the spice to suit our palette. The neighbourhood too is very charming. A short walk from the villa are a bunch of stunning hotels, Fortress being just one of them. We spent the nights by the poolside counting the stars in the clear skies and by the day we stayed by the sea. The villa itself is stunning and comfortable. Cannot wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty of the villa, the beach.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 19, 2016
Thank you for your kind words and we are glad that you enjoy staying at our little paradise.
Team nilaya
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarun K
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Stunning piece of paradise”
Reviewed January 4, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Villa Nilaya, near Gaulle, is nothing short of spectacular. You get there after a 150 minute drive on a gorgeous expressway from Colombo airport. Nilaya is not hard to find on Google Maps and the moment you see those white walls and the blue door, you know this is something special. You walk in to a humungous, open-plan living room and have a freshly prepared made-to-order meal. You then step out of your garden onto the beach. Like, literally. Come back, swim in the pool or just hang around the garden or the living room sipping your favourite drink. All through, the sound of the sea doesn't leave you for even a minute. Later, take a 20 minute drive along the sea to the fort at Galle for some retail therapy & great food at Dutch Hospital. A short drive back, you're welcomed back with fresh coconut water from your garden. After that, you chase the evening into the night at any of the chic bars in the Habaraduwa area. There's lots to do in the area but you probably would just want to get back for dinner laid by the beach, go up to your super luxurious room, sleep to the sound of the ocean and wake up to a view of the jade sea from your balcony. For some serious R&R, Nilaya is nothing short of extraordinary. Time DOES stand still here. And when it's in the lap of such luxury, that stillness is even better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 6, 2016
thank you tarun for the kind words
we are glad that you had a good stay and welcome you back to our piece of paradise on the isle of serendib
team nilaya
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing