We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are many better places to stay!”
Review of Hanthi Guest House

Hanthi Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Unawatuna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hanthi Guest House
Ranked #120 of 146 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Doha
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“There are many better places to stay!”
Reviewed May 28, 2011

We stayed here for one night in May when our plans unexpectedly changed and we opted to spend a night near Galle. Our driver recommended this place to us, saying it was in Unawatuna.

We wish we'd stopped at an internet cafe before staying here so that we would have known to avoid it!

The positives were that the room and bathroom were clean and that the staff were friendly and keen to be helpful. There was also a small fridge in the room, which was useful.

The room we had was quite spacious, but very dark, hot and stuffy. The room had an AC, but as the walls didn't always meet the tin roof (there were big gaps) the room was never really cool. The guest house is situated on the main road into Galle and so is VERY noisy- trucks and buses were going by honking their horns all night. There were a lot of mosquitoes and I got bitten a lot, although that wasn't really their fault I suppose.The downstairs dining area spelt inexplicably of petrol, but we ate breakfast outside, so that wasn't too much of a problem. The breakfast was adequate.

The place backs on to the beach, BUT, has been built so far onto the beach that there isn't really any sand, just rocks and sea, which is a big shame. As a previous review pointed out, the rooms may not be that secure, as each one seems to have a front and back entrance, but we were only given a key for the front one.

A big problem is that this place isn't actually in Unawatuna itself, so you'd have to drive to get there. There aren't really any other eating options or anything in the immediate vicinity. We drove in to Unawatuna and had a nice meal there and felt very bitter as we looked around at all the other places we could have stayed!!!

I wouldn't recommend this place, but in an emergency it would do if you really needed a place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SM_AK_DOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

I stayed with my friend in this garbage house. I didnt realize till I reached Colombo that they had stolen my money. There is a big cabana which has a front and back door. You get the keys to the front door only. You can understand what that means.
I didnt have time to lodge a compliant since I had to catch a flight but I had to part with my $250 in this house of crooks.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayEss3341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Unawatuna hotels

UK
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Building Ok , big characterless rooms. Nothing there apart from the hotel which is on a busy road

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JC39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2011

It did not help that we were there during the rainy season. BUT: rooms are depressing and dump -it started raining inside the room, which became half flooded AND the bed was infested with flees!! We had had itchy marks for one week afterwards.
The owner added insult to injury by telling us to "come again"!!
Bear in mind that 10% service tax is added to everything in the final bill so you can find much better guesthouses in Unawatuna for the same price.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srilankatolive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2010

We stayed here for a couple of nights; we had a big room with a fan and it was reasonably cheap. The bathroom was small and stuffy, the shower dripped (and had a precarious looking plug in the wall directly under it) but was OK for the price. Other rooms, including smaller, cheaper ones and some with air con were also available, and they also had some very tatty looking cheap ‘cabanas’ in the garden.

The whole place felt tired and a bit run down. The gardens could do with a complete overhaul, and the rooms a good clean and paint job. But for all this, it’s in a good location with direct access to the beach and safe swimming in the sea in front of the hotel. The stilt fishing posts are right outside (though there were no fishermen there the days we stayed). It also felt good to be away from Unawatuna (the hotel is actually in Dalawella) – there’s a lot less going on, but the village and the beach are that much quieter as a result. There’s a couple of restaurants a short walk away, but if you want more choice it’s barely anything to take a tuktuk the couple of km down to the shops, numerous guest houses and restaurants of Unawatuna. There’s also food available at the guest house – the breakfasts aren’t great, but we had an OK lunch.

The staff are really friendly, always stopping for a chat and offering advice – brilliantly, they managed to get us more information on train times than we’d achieved by going to Galle train station the day before which helped us out no end. And when we stupidly lost our key and braced ourselves for a hefty bill they laughed it off and it cost us a mere fiver. They have – slow – internet access too.

Something to be aware of is that they host weddings there – if you’re staying over a weekend it’d be worth checking whether a party is going on as it’s a pretty big venue and, I suspect, pretty noisy.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acr606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2007

Well, for $26 per night, it's tough to expect a lot. We got:

* great views
* on the beach access to lovely beach
* breakfast included in price
* smiles and a friendly manner
* threadbare towels - just ask and they will give you more : )

We didn't get:

* housekeeping
* AC
* any kind of pushiness or harassment from anyone
* much hot water

If you are looking for a cheap, relaxed place to stay and don't need much more than the beach, a beer and a clean place to sleep, it's hard to go wrong with Shanthi guesthouse.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank desertfogz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.0 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 32 in Unawatuna
888 reviews
0.0 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 32 in Unawatuna
683 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 32 in Unawatuna
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 32 in Unawatuna
812 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 32 in Unawatuna
451 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 32 in Unawatuna
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanthi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanthi Guest House

Property: Hanthi Guest House
Address: Hremachandr | alawella, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka (Formerly Shanthi / Saman Guest House)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing