We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace and quiet... and a decent breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel
Ranked #5 of 145 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet... and a decent breakfast!”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

There's more than enough glowing reviews about this place that I wondered whether I should even add to that already impressive number.

But it really is excellent and its hard not to want to say something positive about a stay that was really something outstanding.

Popped down here from New Delhi on a short "Escape from the Indian madness" trip. Could not have chosen a better BnB to recharge the batteries. Secluded and tucked away from the noisy beach road in a patch of jungle that sees a stack of wildlife each morning but still only a two minute walk to the beach. Loved our jungle facing balcony room with a ton of tropical birds to listen to each dawn and dusk. And watching the monkeys [from a safe distance!] gracefully troop between the larger trees at the back of the section was also a treat.

Will stay again.

Room Tip: Ask to face the jungle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarryJohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    34
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
81
162
33
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Lots of great things to say about this hotel! Beautifully designed with clean lined architecture and lovely lounging areas on each floor for communal use. Cleanliness was beyond great, never seen such sparkling white sheets and fresh towels in a relatively cheap hotel. Also as it was off season when we visited the staff made sure to change sheets and towels, and tidy up the room every day as they had time (I think on season it's every 3 days, which is standard). The staff really made this hotel- all were friendly, hard-working, spoke fantastic English and were helpful in terms of transport arrangements etc, without being pushy. Breakfast was gorgeous with an exotic fruit selection which was more than just a banana! Only slight downsides were the food we tried on the one night we ate there was average at best- the least inventive and least flavourful rice and curry we had in Sri Lanka. Overall, a brilliant option though.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBandHannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We spent a week here in late April. The building is very well designed, the environment is peaceful, the staff are ever courteous and helpful. The food was fantastic too. The short walk to the beach was not difficult either. The monkeys in the trees entertained us when we needed to recover from too much sun. The outdoor lounges were wonderful, and we were able to watch English Premier League football. The free wifi was welcome to stay up to date with far flung family too.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. We were in 205, sunshine in the morning is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroldmclaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Spent 2 nights in columbo before going dowm to the Norlanka & what a fantastic welcome back we had.This hotel is worth visting,extremley clean from top to bottom,fresh clean sheets & towels every day room spotless,relaxeation here is fabulous the staff are all friendly & very efficient anything you want they will sort it straight away .The food is so fresh & well presented we had breakfast lunch & dinner at the hotel every day it was to good to go else were the owners made us so welome it was more like home,the hotel is close to all tourist spots & if you need a tuk tuk no beter than to use Lal hes always around when you need him he goes the extra to show you things you would miss,also nice that the security on the gate is there 24/7 even though its safe its still nice for that little extra,can not wait to return again next year A BIG YOU FOR MAKING OUR HOLIDAY SO VERY SPECIAL AGAIN

Room Tip: four poster bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DI2PAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Nor lanka is an excellent choice of hotel for this region. The facilty is very clean , close to beautiful beaches and the staff are very friendly. I felt at home and I would highly recomend this hotel to my friends and family. They are so welcoming and efficient in all aspects of hospitality while creating the feeling of a relaxing Sril Lankan holiday. The facilty is safe , quiet and very close to many tourist spots. I am going back !

Room Tip: The rooms are all equally suitable, very well designed building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Nor Lanka is such a perfect guesthouse. As soon as we arrived for our second stay (Early April 2014) we all immediately relaxed. The location is perfect just behind the beach and only a short walk to the beach road. The house is perfect, very well maintained, very very clean and tidy. Love the new lounges which have been built on each level.

Most of all the owners, staff and Lal the tuk tuk driver make the stay so good. They are so friendly and go out of their way to help out - especially with the kids. It feels more like a home than a hotel.

We're already confirmed our return for 2015. See you next year!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rentonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Our group of 4 stayed here for 3 nights, having previously stayed in far cheaper accommodation for the rest of the trip. Well, we all agreed it was well worth the extra money to stay at Nor Lanka. The Norwegian owners welcomed us from the get-go. The staff were all extremely friendly, the hotel is located in a safe compound with a security guard at the gate 24 hours a day, and there is a general feeling of relaxation throughout. The whole place is decorated immaculately, with plenty of attention to detail. The food may be fairly pricey compared to local restaurants nearby, but again it was definitely worth it. Probably the best rice and curry we had on the trip.

Thanks guys, we love Nor Lanka!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SonderLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.2 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bedspace Guesthouse
Bedspace Guesthouse
#1 of 145 in Unawatuna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thambapanni Retreat
Thambapanni Retreat
#6 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel

Property: Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel
Address: Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing