We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A little Gem"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel
Ranked #5 of 147 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
1 review
“"A little Gem"”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

A big Thank you to Helge, Anoma & their staff for making our stay such an enjoyable one. A truly relaxing, great atmosphere, nothing was too much trouble. The whole place was very well kept with clean rooms, plenty of hot water, superb food & always a smiley face to greet you. A short walk to the beach, tuk tuks readily available if you wanted to explore further & Helge helped to organise various trips to see the beautiful country. As a party of 6, we were encouraged to treat the place like home & we did. The only very minor niggle was no hanging space for coat hangers (which were supplied). We highly recommend it and will book again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hills000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    34
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
81
163
33
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We picked this hotel after reading TA reviews. Booked via telephone as a last minute selection for 2 nights but ended up staying 7 nights so impressed was we with the place.
The key to this place is the people - the owners and the staff were to a person fantastic at providing quality service. They made our stay so welcoming and we thank them for that. The food was very good, the hotel and rooms spotless - Highly recommended if you are looking for excellent value accomodation in Unawatuna

Room Tip: Rear facing rooms give you the opportunty to view the monkeys battle it out for territorial advantag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FozzyEnglandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Such an amazing stay in NorLanka!! Thanks SO much Anoma and Helge for everything. Hotel is so relaxing and beautiful, amazing food and superb service! Gardens are beautiful and rooms are very comfortable. Will miss Unawatuna and all it had to offer. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maevedunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed here as the reviews were so good, and when you stay, it's obvious why it's so highly rated. Spotless rooms, hot showers, great food, wifi, nice communal spaces, and friendly atmosphere, all very good value for what you get. Close to the beach, but not on it. Nothing bad to say, although be warned the amazing curries are not available at lunchtime, which I was sad about as they were one of the best I had the whole holiday!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yemisi_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

It was nice to be so accessible to the beach without staying on the beach (some places can be noisy down there in the evenings). The room was spacious, very comfortable bed and lovely hot shower. The rooms were serviced daily which was a really nice touch and the staff were really lovely. Food was good here but there are also loads of great places to eat in Unawatuna so don't limit yourself.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thepirates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed at the Nor Lanka Hotel for two nights at the end of November / start December and was very impressed and happy with our stay.

Starting with the basics - the hotel is a five minute stroll to the beach, has Wifi connection and has both fan and a/c options, we chose the fan option. Responses to my emails enquiring about rooms / rates were also answered very swiftly which is always a good sign.

The room was large and well furnished, the bathroom clean with shower seperate with curtain (not a wet room).

We enjoyed two lovely dinners in the restaurant and also two breakfasts - one of which was a Sri Lankan option with string hoppers, all the meals we had were of a high standard both very well presented and great taste.

It was my wife's birthday on the day we left the hotel and I asked the owner Helge whether it would be possible to arrange a cake after breakfast. He said "sure no, problem" and they provided a lovely cake with candles for us on the day which helped to make her day.

Both Helge and Anoma who run the hotel are very warm and attentive people, all the staff we encountered were very much the same with many smiles and helpful in the extreme.

If I could give Nor Lanka six stars I would - if you are visiting the area see whether they have rooms before you try anywhere else, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PGBMEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at Nor Lanka for two nights and had a wonderful stay. A lovely quiet oasis and just 5 minutes walk to beach. Very friendly staff and so clean and the food was amazing. Highly recommend staying here and very reasonably priced and the rooms are truly lovely-simple but with everything you need and bathroom wonderful after some we experienced in Sri Lanka. Great personal touches added to the experience.

Room Tip: Our room was lovely, quite location so I think that they would all be good. If access is an issue as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holiday_Living
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 31 in Unawatuna
881 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 31 in Unawatuna
810 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 31 in Unawatuna
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bedspace Guesthouse
Bedspace Guesthouse
#1 of 147 in Unawatuna
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thambapanni Retreat
Thambapanni Retreat
#6 of 31 in Unawatuna
467 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#2 of 147 in Unawatuna
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel

Property: Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel
Address: Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing