We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nor Lanka gets everything right!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel
Ranked #5 of 146 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nor Lanka gets everything right!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed here as the reviews were so good, and when you stay, it's obvious why it's so highly rated. Spotless rooms, hot showers, great food, wifi, nice communal spaces, and friendly atmosphere, all very good value for what you get. Close to the beach, but not on it. Nothing bad to say, although be warned the amazing curries are not available at lunchtime, which I was sad about as they were one of the best I had the whole holiday!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yemisi_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    34
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
81
164
33
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

It was nice to be so accessible to the beach without staying on the beach (some places can be noisy down there in the evenings). The room was spacious, very comfortable bed and lovely hot shower. The rooms were serviced daily which was a really nice touch and the staff were really lovely. Food was good here but there are also loads of great places to eat in Unawatuna so don't limit yourself.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thepirates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed at the Nor Lanka Hotel for two nights at the end of November / start December and was very impressed and happy with our stay.

Starting with the basics - the hotel is a five minute stroll to the beach, has Wifi connection and has both fan and a/c options, we chose the fan option. Responses to my emails enquiring about rooms / rates were also answered very swiftly which is always a good sign.

The room was large and well furnished, the bathroom clean with shower seperate with curtain (not a wet room).

We enjoyed two lovely dinners in the restaurant and also two breakfasts - one of which was a Sri Lankan option with string hoppers, all the meals we had were of a high standard both very well presented and great taste.

It was my wife's birthday on the day we left the hotel and I asked the owner Helge whether it would be possible to arrange a cake after breakfast. He said "sure no, problem" and they provided a lovely cake with candles for us on the day which helped to make her day.

Both Helge and Anoma who run the hotel are very warm and attentive people, all the staff we encountered were very much the same with many smiles and helpful in the extreme.

If I could give Nor Lanka six stars I would - if you are visiting the area see whether they have rooms before you try anywhere else, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PGBMEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at Nor Lanka for two nights and had a wonderful stay. A lovely quiet oasis and just 5 minutes walk to beach. Very friendly staff and so clean and the food was amazing. Highly recommend staying here and very reasonably priced and the rooms are truly lovely-simple but with everything you need and bathroom wonderful after some we experienced in Sri Lanka. Great personal touches added to the experience.

Room Tip: Our room was lovely, quite location so I think that they would all be good. If access is an issue as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holiday_Living
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

5TH time visiting.
Friendly staff, excellent food, exceptionally clean
Nothing to much trouble.
Had to go to Colombo for the day on business, could not wait to get back to Nor Lanka,like going home
Will be back again next year.
Helga and Anoma are more like friends.
For small fee take tuk tuk to nearby beach (not Unawantunna ) no worry about tides, ideal for children, also very quiet.

Room Tip: Room overlooking front garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KIM T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Despite this place beeing in constant demand among returning guests the owners have never been tempted to push prices. They are loyal to their guests, and deliver clean rooms, honest and well humoured staff and decent food and drinks. 50 meters away from the beech in one of the hot spots of Sri Lanka gives this place good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stein54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I didn't enjoy the Unawatuna beach as much as we liked Mirissa and Wijaya. So staying at Nor Lanka was the best part for us. Although the Unawatuna beach looked awesome, it didn't feel safe to swim in. The tides were far too rough. And since it was raining a lot, we stuck around happily at the Nor Lanka hotel. The rooms are clean and tastefully decorated. Very friendly, pleasant staff (always smiling). It was also good to see so many women as a part of the staff since this doesn't seem very common in Sri Lanka. Helge and Anoma - who run the place - are lovely, helpful people. When my husband fell ill, they immediately took the trouble to get medicines for him, which was deeply comforting. They also offered to take us with them during their short (hour and a half) hike through the hills and villages. The walk gave us a chance to see a side of Unawatuna that we may not have seen otherwise. Great rooms, tasty food, very friendly staff! The only suggestion we have for them is to provide health faucets in the toilets (along with toilet paper).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yaminivijayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 32 in Unawatuna
888 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 32 in Unawatuna
812 reviews
1.2 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 32 in Unawatuna
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 32 in Unawatuna
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel
0.1 mi away
Bedspace Guesthouse
Bedspace Guesthouse
#1 of 146 in Unawatuna
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel

Property: Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel
Address: Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing