We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our return to the Nor Lanka”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel
Ranked #5 of 161 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We have recently returned from Sri Lanka, having been there 3 years previous. We stayed at the Nor Lanka on both occasions and did not think it would be possible to make an improvement on our previous stay, however it far exceeded our expectations.
The owner Helge made every aspect of stay as easy as possible, he was very accommodating to our every request.
The staff are extremely friendly and the service is excellent.
The food is also excellent, the menu has many dishes available throughout the day and evening. Any food request not on the menu was fulfilled inlcuding jumbo prawns and lobster, which were cooked to perfection.
The rooms are basic but very clean and comfortable, our room had a four poster bed facing the gardens, the ability to wake in the mornings and watch a family of wild monkeys, then have breakfast in an open dining area surrounded by beautiful gardens is a vision and an experience that is irreplaceable.
We will certainly be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lizallmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 375 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2012

There is no better hotel in Unawatuna if you read the reviews about Nor Lanka. We were looking for something for our last week in Sri Lanka and were therefore very interested in this super stay.

I understand that there are many regular guests, some of them coming back every year. It is wise to book in advance. Especially in high season this hotel is always fully booked.

Before I go all positive, I should mention a small and insignificant downside first: there is no pool. However, at other locations where we were it was essential. But here the beach is so close and I prefer the sea above pool anyway.

Location is very convenient, it's between the beach and the main street. Both are just a few steps away, but neither is a burden. It seems as if this hotel is isolated from all the action and yet everything is within walking distance. Therefore it felt very safe and almost as pleasant and cozy as home.

There are not many rooms, so not too many guests. The atmosphere was because of that very pleasant and reliable. Everyone could just leave their room open or leave their expensive stuff in the lounge area. That's also exactly what the owner conveys to his guests.

Sometimes we found it even more fun to spend the evenings here than anywhere in the city.

There is much to arrange through the hotel and at an affordable price. Massage, tuk tuk to Galle, taxi to airport, you name it. Just tell Helge the owner.

And then the rooms: Clean, spacious and light. Absolutely nothing wrong.

After our traveling, we have found peace here. One week passed quickly. And with a heavy heart we left Sri Lanka, Unawatuna and Nor Lanka too.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexandraHodl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

As you have probably read from all the other reviews about Nor Lanka, this hotel is really a gem of a place!! It is, in fact, one of the few hotels on Trip Advisor that I have read that consistently has sterling reviews about the rooms, service, food, breakfasts, hospitality, location, cleanliness (it is true they are always cleaning!!!), etc.

We stayed for a week with our two daughters - aged 8 and 10. From a family perspective, what we liked were:

- that is near to the beach but not next to it so it is quiet at night and you don't have to worry about safety,
- that they were flexible on eating times so that it was always possible to get a snack/meal for the kids if necessary,
-that there is a garden that the kids can run around in,
- that there is an exclusive rickshaw (operated by Helge's brother-in-law) that is reasonably priced to run about town,
- that apart from the beach there are other things to keep kids occupied. At the hotel's suggestion, we took the kids to a sea turtle protection hatchery, to a cinnamon farm as well as to the historic part of Galle.
- that there is a good selection of kid's friendly meals on the menu - pancakes, pasta, pizza, porridge, eggs, french toast, sausages, etc.
- that there is another beach nearby (with a great restaurant) that has calmer waters for kids to swim in when Unawatuna gets rough,
- that they have family rooms (with two rooms - the second could sleep 3 young kids easily)

In short, a highly recommended place for families to stay.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have better wifi connectivity in the rooms themselves than the downstairs ones wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnAfricanWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Agree that this is very well kept property. The owner told us to keep it "clean" a couple times when we checked in which was kinda strange but I gotta say, the place is clean. And the staff is constantly cleaning the property and maintaining it. The property is set back from the water but that is a good thing because there is hardly any beach anyways and it's grubbier down by the waterfront.

The restaurant is amazing. The breakfast was spectacular. We had all of our meals at the restaurant in the two days we were there. Shrimp curry is a must. The prices were very reasonable and the consensus among the patrons were that the hotel restaurant was the best place to eat in the area.

The room was very clean with a nice mosquito net. Bathroom was very clean as well. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The owner was nice enough to give us a discount as we are going to volunteer up north for a while. We left after two days though because the beach of Unawatuna really isn't that great. There is just a sliver of beach left to relax on. We headed over to Mirissa which has much nicer beaches.

Downside: wifi is only available in public areas (we stayed in a ground room floor so I don't know if it's different for the rooms above). But wifi was fast and reliable in the common area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vancity8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Me and my husband stayed for 1 week. This place is like a little oasis inside Unawatuna. On arrival I thought the room was quite basic and I was disappointed with the view from the balcony. That was until I saw a whole family of monkeys living in the trees which made for amazing viewing. I felt so relaxed staying here and I didn't want to leave.
The staff are so attentive you sometimes wonder if you are in a five star hotel. The food is the best we tasted in the whole of Unawatuna and the only regret was that we didn't find this out until our second to last night
The manager Helge goes out of his way to ensure you have the perfect stay.
All this for a bargain price defo value for money.
Hopefully we will be back and this place thoroughly deserves the no 1 spot on trip advisor

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliLou82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

very ckean guesthouse, Helge and his friendly team are doing a fantastic job, it's not avne 2 minutes from the beach and 5 min by car from Galle, so the ideal place for a couple of days at the beach after touring in the hills!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloandPhille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I have only written one review on tripadvisor before this, but this place is so good, that I just had to write about it :-)

The hotel is so well kept and you just feel so very welcome, the minut you walk in.

The staff is amazing, warm and smiling, and they work hard to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

The rooms are clean with good space, balcony, fridge and A/C and fan.

The food is great and cheap (please try the Rice and Curry).

Helge, the norwegian owner, is a warm, friendly, nice guy with a great sense of humour, and again, he takes pride in keeping his small hotel immaculate and treating his staff with respect and care (as well as his guests).

Dear Helge!
If you read this, please give all our best to you wonderful staff, and thank you for making our stay such a memorable one. We just can't wait to go back.

Best regards

Ole and Ann-Christina

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oloCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 34 in Unawatuna
978 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#13 of 34 in Unawatuna
839 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#7 of 34 in Unawatuna
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 34 in Unawatuna
499 reviews
1.2 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 34 in Unawatuna
750 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 34 in Unawatuna
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel

Address: Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range: $72 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing