We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont look further - just book it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel
Ranked #6 of 148 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2012

This is not a five star hotel, it is much better. That is if you love the smaller places,clean , great food and nice guests. It is likefinding your home...on the road. The smiling staff, no problem attitude and the fair prices makes you feel good. It does not have a view to the beach, but that also means that we do not get the noice from the bars and pubs.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adventureseeker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 148 of 367 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2012

Great location. A few minutes walk from being dropped off at the bus stop, but also only a few steps from the beach. I would definitely stay there again if I go back. We enjoyed playing cards on the sofa on the outside landing with a cold beer or G & T. The loungers outside some of the room doors are nice. They do get used a lot. It was unpleasant however that people sat outside their rooms and smoked a lot. We found the smoke then went under our room door and made the room smell. This hotel does seem to attract a high number of Europeans due the the nationality of the owners and the hotel name. The owner, waiting staff and cleaners are extremely courteous. The monkeys in the trees are great to watch - if you can drag yourself away from the beach. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sassycat_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

This place is really refreshing compared to alot of SL. It's clean, good value, chilled and friendly. The food was tasty too! The family of purple faced leaf monkeys that lived in a tree next door were great to watch too, not to mention well behaved!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simonocle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We stayed here for a few nights in January with a couple of friends Marte from Norway and Hilary from Negombo. Very friendly and helpful staff and just a few minutes walk away from the beach. Clean spacious rooms, lovely garden - will be heading back here again when we next go to Sri Lanka.

High quality accommodation that doesn't cost the earth

See you all again

Stewart & Christine

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris_zikzak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

NORLANKA.

The best about Nor Lanka is getting back to it!
No matter if you arrive exhausted the from a tedious long -haul flight from Europe or you arrive from a long hard day at the beach, reading the whole day away on a comfortable sunbed.
When you enter the gates of Nor Lanka you enter into a realm of calm, serenity, an abundance of flowers, bougainvillea in deep pink and magenta and lush green.
Albeit long and narrow Nor Lanka has without doubt the most wonderful and wellkept garden in Unawatuna. Plants in pots all over and always fresh flowers swimming in waterbowls lovingly arranged.
I don't have to say anything about the rest of Nor Lanka, because Nor Lanka's attitude to guests, rooms, cleanliness, food....it is all mirrored in the perfection of the garden.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hehoberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We stayed at Norlanka as a family. The rooms were spacious, clean and the place was very charming. The owners as well as staff were very friendly, helpful and attentive. We loved the serene setting, access to the beach and the touristy parts of Galle were a short 15min drive. Particularly, if you have a car, this place is terrific value for the money in the Galle area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kamala R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

The hosts were fantastic, helping us organise day trips, and tips on restaurants/sights to visit. Would return.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CWoodey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
922 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#11 of 33 in Unawatuna
822 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Unawatuna
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
1.2 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#3 of 33 in Unawatuna
701 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#2 of 33 in Unawatuna
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel

Address: Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range: $51 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing